Good good links #9

Sunday. A day for traditions. A day dedicated to spending time with the family or simply yourself, resting and recharging for the busy week ahead. A day you should spend in just the way that makes you feel good at this very point. For me, that is a nice long walk most day. At best with family members or friends but when I’m alone one of my favourites is taking my camera along with me. Following up with my goal of the Photo-a-day challenge I’ll show you some of the pictures I’ve taken so far.

Photo a day[from left on top in clockwise direction: In motion (falling leaves) – What you saw todayLeaves Still]

Continuing with a still rather new tradition of mine: Sharing some of my posts from the week with a little bit of everything from deeper posts to delicious food.

Happy Sunday!

Good good [food for thought]

Nutrition Compromises via Kath Eats Real Food

Great view on which nutrition tips to follow or skip [though obviously a personal choice, too] if you want to be healthy yet still not take all the fun out of life.

Walking is Underrated via Perfection isn’t happy

Because exercising doesn’t mean wearing out your body to the point of achiness. Walking is an awesome and social way of working out casually, getting a fresh breath and lots of benefits.

Masking Issues with Macros via Healthy Helper

A must-read if you’ve been annoyed by and wondering about the whole macro-counting trend. It’s nothing but the sequel to calorie-counting. Yes to changing from #iifmm [if it fits my macros] to #iifma [if it fits my appetite].

Eating unhealthily to prove you’re healthy via The Big Man’s World

Feeling the pressure to ignore your true cravings just to show how ‘normal’ and recovered you are – and by that actually not behaving normal at all. A tricky issue.

Good good [advice]

How to Deal When it’s Just Not Your Day via The Daily Muse

Not just for office workers but really anybody because who doesn’t have a bad day once in a while?

10 Truths You Will Learn Before You Find Happiness via Marc and Angel Hack Life

Beautiful reminder of some life lessons all of us learn at some point. “We are beautifully imperfect beings, operating in a very imperfect world, and that is just the way it is meant to be. “

Better Broccoli by Octoblog! via Kiss my Broccoli

Lots of awesome advice on how to spruce up your blog.

11 Secrets to Taking Better Instagram Pictures via The Daily Muse

Great tips for the day I decide on setting up an IG account.

How To Fix Every Nail Problem In The Book via Beauty High

Let’s face it: polishing nails can get quite frustrating at times. Great tips to avoid some of the most common troubles.

Good good [reasons to laugh]

Are Your Pumpkin Treats Tricking You? via Huffington Post

Here’s to another reason why we’re better off preparing our own pumpkin treats with actual pumpkin content.

20 Things To Do While Waiting For Someone Before We Had Smartphones via Huffington Post

Compulsive watch-checking is one I still do … woops.

36 Things You Never Reaized Everybody Else Does, Too via Buzzfeed

Feels good to know I’m not alone.

Bookshelfies

Simple selfies are so yesterday ;). A whole blog dedicated to the latest trend. Am I the only one wondering if these people actually read all of the books?

 

Good good [food]

Vegan Friendly Twix Bars via Peachy Palate

With healthy date caramel and dark chocolate coating these look simply amazing.

Stuffed Pepper Soup via Skinny Taste

The taste of stuffed peppers without the extra work? I’m in [minus the ground beef and chicken broth, that is – but that’s what subbing was invented for]!

53 Ways To Sneak Pumpkin Into Every Meal via Greatist

Will I ever give up on the desire to add pumpkin to everything?! More great ideas to help my addiction.

Pumpkin-Pistachio Kale Fried Rice Bowl with Maple Tofu Cubes via Healthy.Happy.Life

Another pumpkin dish that involves lots of great fall flavours.

Meat Beany Chili & Corn Muffins via The PPK blog

Hearty vegan chili with lots of beans – just the way I like it.

Happiness inducing today: Chatting with my cousin who recenty moved to another country. Oh the blessings of Facebook and Skype.

What were some of your favourite posts from the week [or ones that are older but you happened upon just now]?

Do you have any Sunday traditions or did you family have any when you grew up?

8 thoughts on “Good good links #9

  1. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    That pumpkin tricks video just goes to further my distaste for all the pumpkin spice crap around here…believe me sweetie, besides the puree, you ain’t missing much at all! Homemade treats are where its AT…hence the reason I just blew up my Pinterest board with that 53 ways to sneak pumpkin! Haha!

    And let me just say, “You get lost in thought while reading, but don’t notice until you’re three pages past where you stopped paying attention.” <- Totally the reason I don't read more! Lol

    Thanks so much for including my post in your roundup!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It definitely made me feel better about not having all of those available over here. Homemade beats store-bought by any means. Canned pumpkin however? I still think I need it in my life :).
      About that reading quote: guilty, too. Why or how does that happen, really? Clearly not a good invention of nature.
      Did I still not convince you to play your magic on my blog, too ;)?

  2. Amy says:

    I also loved Kath’s article about nutrition compromises. She was so spot on about so many, but as you said, to each their own and we all need to figure out what works best for us. “If it fits my appetite” <– amazing! I love that. Thank you for linking to the Pumpkin-Pistachio Kale Fried Rice Bowl with Maple Tofu Cubes (now that's a mouthful!) recipe. Not sure how I missed that! xo

Leave a Reply

