Bar I

Sweet sweet October [Chocolate Almond Caramel Bars]

Monday fans: raise your hand. Nobody? Hm … Maybe I can convince you by saying that this post is not just going to be marvelous but mmmm[hhh]arvelous? Happy Monday!

MiMM_new

Do anybody else’s  cravings for anything sweet become even more intense as soon as it gets colder outside? I’m longing chocolate no matter of the season but it’s definitely exponentially increasing with the decreasing temperatures.

But I digress. Sweet is the name of the game because is there any better way to start into the week? [This is a rhethorical question, by the way ;).] In my post on Wednesday I asked for your favourite chocolatey snacks – for a reason. Let’s say my consumption of the ‘real’ deal has gone up noticably in the past weeks. While I’m never going to give up on it [ha, not even considering it] I figured queasing my sweet chocolate tooth with a slightly healthier or actually just a homemade alternative. Michelle’s recipe for vegan Twix hugely inspired these.

Bar I

Not only was I missing key ingredients [read: almond flour] called for in the recipe but reading it I just couldn’t help coming up with my own spin on it in my head already. What sounds good in theory, though, doesn’t always turn out once put to practice. I’m happy to say it did for these little bars of deliciousness, though. For those of you concered with this: my changes also add a protein boost – treats with a nutritional bonus? Why not.

Caramel bars

You’ll notice I once more put an emphasis on using white almond butter in the caramel. While I’ve just recently discovered the amazingness of roasted almond butter it doesn’t lend the sweet and creamy flavour the unroasted one does in this recipe. I dare you to manage not eating the whole batch of sticky caramel all at once … I somehow did but I can’t tell you how. Next time I may or may not need to prepare a litte more …

Date caramel (2)

But trust me: self-control is rewarded. Rich dark chocolate that crisps upon first bite. Creamy sweet caramel. Slight salty peanutty base. Good thing I don’t have to share …

Treat

Chocolate-covered Almond Caramel Bars [makes five to six bars]

For the base:

  • 25 g pitted dates
  • 1/3 cup (40 g) peanut flour
  • a pinch of salt

For the caramel:

  • 45 g of dates
  • 1 1/2 tbsps of white (!) almond butter
  • 1 tbsp of water (you might need to add more later)
  • pinch of real vanilla [optional]

For the chocolate coating:

  • 1.5 – 2 oz chocolate (I used 85 % dark chocolate)

Blend the dates in a food processor [or the ice crush attachment of your handheld blender] until a paste forms.

Add the date paste to the peanut flour and salt and knead to get a thick doughy texture. You might need to mix in water little by little depending on how sticky your dates are.

Shape into bars and place into the fridge for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile prepare the caramel by combining the dates, almond butter and water in the food processor. Blend to reach a smooth but not drippy consistency.

Once the bars have chiled for the time required to firm the up spread a thick layer of caramel onto each of them. Place them in the freezer [not fridge this time] until the caramel has hardened a bit.

Melt the chocolate. Cover the top of each bar with chocolate. The coating should harden right away. If not return to the fridge until set.

in hand

In case you’re wondering: yes, this post’s title was inspired by the movie Sweet November. So romantic, so sad. Perfect for the season. If you haven’t watched it yet: do it! Maybe with a Chocolate [Caramel] Bar to sweeten things up?!

Happiness inducing today: Lots. For one a nice long telephone chat with one of my cousins, Exciting blog news [more to come]. Oh, and Chocolate Caramel Bars – sorry ;).

Have you ever made your own candy bars or found any great recipes online? Please share the links! Amanda had an awesome collection in her Sunday link love post already.

What are your favourite romantic movies? It’s the season so I’m looking for recommendations. Preferably ones that have been released a few months or better yet years back so chances are my library will have them.

26 thoughts on “Sweet sweet October [Chocolate Almond Caramel Bars]

  1. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Ahhh these look awesome! I’m not usually a chocolate person but lately I’ve been craving it like mad. The only downside is my skin is not doing so great as a result…must find a balance! Have you ever played with carob? I love the taste and find it doesn’t affect my skin as much.

    Will respond to your email soon lovely 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t hate me for saying it but I actually picked up some carob [powder] just shortly ago and thought it tasted … gross. Maybe I simply didn’t use it the right way? Any tips on how to turn it into a tasty treat?
      Looking forward to your mail.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Why in the world did they do that?! Changing their recipe just so allergics have to miss out – not fair. You should totally make your own and show the company how to do it right :).

  2. swissfitchick says:

    Oh I looove the White Almond Butter!! And combined with dates – yumm. Sounds heavenly! I made a recipe in ‘balls’ form, also with dates and they turned out delicious, though I have a hard time not eating them all at once 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Believe me when I’m saying every last bit of self-control is needed to control myself around these, too :D. And isn’t white almond butter awesome? I go back and forth between the roasted and white but right now the latter’s my favourite again. Which brand do you buy?

  3. Kim @ BusyBod says:

    These look sooooo delicious! I’ve never tried making my own candy bars, but my dad makes truffles and other delicious treats around the holidays, so I love having those when I’m home 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    These sound/look delicious but I have never seen white almond butter?! Must be on the lookout! Hm romantic movies? I have to say the Notebook hands down but you have probably seen that already.

  5. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh girl, these look FANTASTIC! I was just drooling over that candy bar link from Amanda’s Sunday post! I’ve never made my own candy bars before, but I keep meaning to try whipping up some chocolate peanut butter cups! It’s near the top of the never-ending to-make list…you know, under all the pumpkin! 😯

    I’m intrigued by this white almond butter of which you speak….must find blanched almonds and make…must, must, must!

    Favorite romantic movies: The Notebook and Sweet Home Alabama and 10 Things I Hate About You is my favorite movie ever!

    Can’t wait to hear this exciting blog news!!!

  6. Kierston @candyfit says:

    These look absolutely delish! Love how simple it is to make too!

    Favourite romantic movie: The Notebook and Serendipity for sure. Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I watched a romantic movie. I might do that this weekend. Thanks for the idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

