Celebrating one marvelous year of blogging

… and yet another Monday. But not only that but an especially marvelous one because I’m celebrating. Celebrating what? One year [and a little over a month, admittedly] of blogging. It’s probably one of the most overused sayings but: what a difference a year makes!

Just a year ago I wouldn’t have guessed I’d still be blogging and celebrating my first blogiversary by now. Why? Starting a blog was a huge leap of faith for me. Writing with the worry of having no readers or experiencing disapproval wasn’t an enticing prospect. But once more I was proven wrong in my ever-worried ways. Yes, it took me some time to get started but I couldn’t be happier I did. Thanks to Katie for hosting another Marvelous in my Monday that allows me to share my thoughts on one year in the blog world.

MiMM_new

One of the best aspect of blogging and the one that changed my life most – as sappy as it sounds – was the wonderful blogging community. Previously I’d shaken my head in disbelief at bloggers talking about their ‘blends’ assuming that it was impossible to build friendships that were any more than skin-deep. I’ve never enjoyed being proven wrong more – because I was totally wrong. Over the past year I’ve gotten in contact with so many amazing people who weren’t just interested in talking about food, fitness and lifestyle but actually offered me a lot of support. Gave great advice and never judged me for being just the way I am. There really are no words to fully express how incredibly blessed I feel to have gotten to know all of you and be part of this community. So …

Thank you

I’d originally intended to list all things that one year of blogging has shown or taught me. Giving it some more pondering, though, I came to a realization that I’m sure all bloggers would agree with: it’s impossible. That’s why now that I’ve mentioned the most important part – the people! – I’ll just share some more and some less serious realizations.

Every story has an untold part: It can be discouraging to read a blog whose author seems to have it all: be an amazing athlete, have a great job and wonderful boyfriend or husband. Whatever we read on a certain blog is what the author wants to show the world or feels comfortable sharing. Maybe even the latter more often than not. Looking back at my first posts I can see I was hiding a lot. There was still a huge fear of judgement and insecurity. It’s only been during the past months that I dared to write more personal posts.

You’re not alone. Publishing said personal posts took me a lot of courage because I didn’t know how others would react. But I was surprised in the very best way by all encouraging comments and mails I got. All of the showed me I wasn’t alone and that I had [and have] an amazing support system out there. Thank you once more!

There’s something to be happy about in every day: Even a bad day has the little bits of marvelousness and it’s up to us to find them and make them the parts we remember most. Here’s to choosing happiness.

Blogging is way more than just one hobby among many: If you consider starting a blog and want to take it serious to a certain extend you’ll have to invest time. I’d never have expected this but by now enjoy blogging so much I happily invest some time. And improve my knowledge in terms of the technology behind this … ahem, yes, still learning …

Don’t compare to anybody but yourself: Trying to measure myself with others in terms of how fast they ran, what and how much they ate or even how far they progressed in recovery was detrimental for me. But throughout the past year I’ve gotten to a point where I stay away from that kind of comparison for the most part. Instead, I’m making an effort to compare myself today to myself a year/a month/… ago. We all have different pasts so we obviously also have different presents and futures.

Flowers at home

Now onto some random fun realizations:

Kabocha squash addiction is legit and there’s no cure for it. Then again: would anybody really want to be healed?!

Essie makes the best nail polish. And I will keep buying it no matter how much I cringe at the price.

No food, recipe or craving is too strange. In fact, the stranger the better. Right, Laura?!

Nobody will ever manage to make every recipes they pinned. So no need to feel bad about not doing it yourself.

Always think twice before using the word ‘balls’. Just sayin’. [and that’s how the blog world messed with my previously innocent mind ;).]

If you want to have any friends don’t dare saying you didn’t like pancakes. Even if you honestly don’t. What?! I didn’t say I disliked them …

[I’m sure I’ve forgotten about half of what I wanted to say but that just goes to show that it’s truly impossible to list all marvelousness of blogging in one post.]

And yes: In celebration of my birthday there will obviously be gifts. Not just for me [read note about Essie above …] but also for you. Thanks to some hurdles this past weekend I didn’t set that post up in time [still learning] so be back tomorrow for a sweet giveaway and the recipe for the sweet deliciousness below.

Sweet

Happiness inducing today: Finishing another letter. It really is addictive …

 

What did you learn from blogging?

Which expectations did you have when you started blogging?

Do you feel like blogging has changed you as a person?

 

 

31 thoughts on “Celebrating one marvelous year of blogging

  1. Alex says:

    Yay yay yay congrats girl!!!! Happy bloggiversary! 🙂 I’m so excited to see what the future holds, but in the mean-time, I’ll be content with soaking up these gorgeous pictures of flowers 🙂 ❤

  2. Emily says:

    Congratulations, gorgeous girl!
    I’m so proud of you and how far you’ve come over the past year. You’ve grown and changed and we’ve been able to experience that journey with you through your posts. Im so glad you’ve opened up and shared yourself despite how scary it is and I feel extremely lucky to call you a friend. (:
    I can’t wait to see what the next year brings for you and your blog!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m feeling very lucky to call you a friend, too. The past year’s journey has been much easier with the support by all of you. And I’ll never forget your words of wisdom <3.

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Happy Blogiversary!! Isn’t there so much great stuff about blogging?? I love that community and I love that I now have AlmondButter and kabocha in my life! Looking forward to read more and more of your great posts!!

  4. Madison @ Eating 4 Balance says:

    I still haven’t become fully comfortable with sharing super personal things on my blog. I do every once in awhile but I’m hesitant. It’s really wonderful to hear that you can see such a progression from your old posts! In some ways I feel like I’ve gotten too comfortable and need to shake things up a bit. Improving in some areas and regressing in others. Just like real life 😉

    Happy blogiversary! Great realizations 🙂

  5. Irina says:

    Happy 1 year blogiversary!!! I’m so glad you stuck around here for that long 🙂 Your blog is one of my favorites and your writing style is one of the best I’ve come across (random but true!). I completely understand your reluctance to over-share on the blog…I’m the same way. Something else that still terrifies me as well is sharing the existence of my blog to my friends. Almost none of my close friends know about it and it makes me blush just thinking about what their thoughts might be if they read it. Yikes!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Awwr, you made me blush with that comment on my writing style. Thank you, Irina!
      Same here. Hardly any of my friends know about the blog. Especially now that I’ve been sharing more personal topics I’m not sure how I’d feel about them reading it. For now it’s nice to keep separating blog and ‘real’ world – though I wouldn’t mind meeting blog friends in real life.

  6. sprint2thetable says:

    Happy 1 year!!! Blogging is one of the best things I’ve gotten into – for all of the reasons you listed! I think it’s actually helped me compare myself to others LESS because of the diversity. And the #strangebutgood. Bonus if it come as balls. 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Laura! I’m so glad I stumbled upon your strange but good link-up because I feel a lot less weird about some of the foods/combinations I eat these days. Nothing is ever strange – it’s just others not understanding the awesomeness ;). And thanks to you I’ll never be able to read or say the word balls again without [at least suppressing] a giggle.

  7. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Woo hoo!! Happy bloggy birthday, sweetie!! I had no idea you’d been writing for a year already…that’s awesome! I couldn’t agree more with what you said about forming meaningful friendships and the sense of community within blog world…I mean, without it, I would have never “met” you! 🙂

    I honestly had no expectations when I first started blogging. Heck, I didn’t even know what I was doing back then! Ha! Luckily, I’ve found my footing and feel like I’m in a good place with my content AND my voice now. I feel the same as you about opening up and publishing more of those personal posts…hard at first, but oh my gosh, the amount of support and encouragement I’ve gotten made me realize that I’m NOT alone and that I really do belong in this community. I’d say that blogging has changed me somewhat…with food/taste preferences/addictions/infatuations and also, on a more personal note, with the amount of vulnerability I now let show. It really is the secret to true connection!

Leave a Reply

