A naturally sweet celebration [Blogiversary giveaway]

Thank you so much for all of your sweet comments and wishes on my first blogiversary! It’s been an amazing time getting to know all of you so here’s to more months and years to come!

So yesterday was all about the most important part of blogging: the community. You! Today is about something else that’s awesome about blogging …

Bread pudding

Food! The second best aspect of blogging was and is broadening my palate with an amazing range of new foods – and talking about them obviously. New foods to me at least. I might have walked past it at the store a million times without noticing [sorry, almond butter]. At other times I had been reading about those foods on blogs forever yet had the hardest time ever finding them. One of those ingredients would be stevia. When I first heard of it I wouldn’t believe people saying it was an all-natural alternative to sugar that tasted just like the real deal. Memories of the artifical sweetener my grandma used for her tea came up … brrrr. Let’s not even get there … thanks, I’ll take my tea unsweetened. Nothing will ever stop my sweet tooth from raging, though, so I was super excited when NuNaturals offered to send me some of their products to try. Only when I picked up the package I was surprised to be spoiled with sweetness.

Stevia

And because a birthday calls for a party that’s what we’re going to have today. Come on, use your imagination. It’s the day between two awesome blogger parties [Marvelous in my Monday and What I ate Wednesday] which I naturally can’t and don’t want to rival. But there are cake and presents nonetheless. Are you in? Great!

Bread pudding

Okay, about that cake … I’m admittedly not the hugest fan of it. Give me ice cream any day but keep the cake – unless we’re talking ice cream cake. But I digress … So no cake but with my previous savoury bread pudding in mind I created a sweet version perfect for dessert, as a snack or even breakfast because – you guesse it! –  there’s no added sugar in it.

Sweet Blueberry Apple Bread Pudding

  • ¼ cup fresh blueberries
  • ½ medium apple, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 3.5 oz silken tofu à blend with three drops each NuNaturals Vanilla and Orange liquid stevia [or use more Vanilla stevia and add 1/2 tsp orange zest]
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp ground ginger
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • ½ seedy whole-wheat roll, stale or toasted [microwave trick]
  1. Blend the silken tofu with the stevia and spices.
  2. Mix blueberries, apples and silken tofu with about half of the toasted bread cubes.
  3. Pour mixture into a single-serving casserole dish and top with the remaining bread cubes.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes at 350 °F until the top looks slighty puffy.
  5. Serve as is or – recommended – with your favourite nut butter.

Sweet

I know you might be thinking “Okay, but where are the presents?!” so there you go. When I told NuNaturals about my blogiversary they offered to let me give four of you one bottle of each of the Lemon, Vanilla Stevia and Peppermint Flavored Stevia Liquids plus a 50pkt. box of their NuStevia White Stevia Powder packets. There are four ways to enter and the giveway will run until next Tuesday. It is open worldwide but NuNaturals can’t ship to PO boxes. Good luck!

Click on the link below to enter! The mandatory entry is to leave a comment telling me your favourite uses for NuNaturals stevia. You need to confirm you commented through the widget.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

But even if you don’t win you can still use the they can receive discounts on all orders placed via NuNaturals’ website by using my discount code. Just enter the DISCOUNT CODE ;  BLG1213  when you get to the checkout page and you’ll receive – 15% DISCOUNT on your entire order. This discount remains effective until  December 31, 2013. So birthday presents for everybody, right :)?!

Disclaimer: While NuNaturals sent me their products free of charge all opinions in this post are my own and I wasn’t compensated by the company in any way.

 

Happiness inducing today: Reading all of your comments on yesterday’s post. I knoow … I’ll stop gushing, promise!

Tell me: Cake or ice cream or …? Which flavour?

Have you ever had sweet bread pudding?

What made you happy today?

22 thoughts on “A naturally sweet celebration [Blogiversary giveaway]

  1. lucie@fitswisschick says:

    THAT sounds like such a YUMMY fall recipe!! I even think I am going to make this for an earliy christmas get together in November!
    And I am a fan of NuNaturals Stevia too. I use it in my bakings a lot, like the Apple Chocolate Muffins I just made on the weekend.

  2. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Sweet bread pudding is where it’s AT!! Actually one of my favorite desserts! I had one once at a restaurant that came drizzled in a syrupy whiskey sauce that seriously made me weak in the knees! And if you’re going to make me chose between cake and ICE CREAM, I’m gonna have to go with cake…but should that ice cream be lactose free? Gimme a friggin’ spoon…and some sprinkles….in the form of multi-colored cereals! 😉

    PS, you just reminded me that I need to get on the ball with my NuNaturals review/giveaway…I’ve had the products for months now! I swear, they are always so generous…I was floored when I opened the box! I don’t think I’ll ever run out of stevia! Haha!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Syrupy sauce-drizzled bread pudding?! Hand me a spoon and that dish, please. Seriously, you should recreate that dish – maybe bread pudding pancakes ;)?!
      As somebody who’d never tried NuNaturals stevia before I was so amazed by they generosity. I’d say I won’t run out of stevia that soon again, either :).

  3. Babsi says:

    I like to use stevia whenever I want to sweeten something: cookies, cake, joghurt etc. Since I’m from Germany, I haven’t used NuNaturals yet. But based on how popular it is in the bloq world, I’m really curious and eager to try it.

  4. Ashley says:

    Can you believe I’ve never tried bread pudding? It always looks so good but I’m just scared it would turn out weird–I don’t have the best of luck with baking most of the time because I live at a high altitude and I usually make a ton of adjustments, but I’d love to try making bread pudding at least once!

    My favorite way to use stevia is in coffee and iced tea–I love the different flavors that can add a fun touch.

Leave a Reply

