Photo a Day_III

Good good links #11

However many posts I might have started this way yet but: Is it really the first weekend of November already?! True, I enjoyed the benfit of getting one more hour of sleep last Sunday when daylight savings went into effect but I haven’t been a fan of the noticably shorter days since. Anybody else feeling me on this?

Anyway, no more ranting about seasons and darker days but looking back at the bright side. I stumbled upon some great post again this week and I hope you’ll enjoy them, too. As always I’m curious to hear about any others you’ve enjoyed so please feel free to share!

Happy Sunday!

[Another collage of my October Photo a Day pictures.]

Photo a Day_III

[clockwise direction] ColourfulHair  Afternoon [another walk] – Just for you [ice cream straight from the serving bowl] –

Good good [food for thought]

Strive for progress, not perfection: The in-between via Olive to run

Awesome reminder of acknowledging how far we’ve come instead of beating ourselves up for struggles or throwbacks. Because yes, we are human and making mistakes is part of our nature.

A lesson in Dreaming Big via Cotter Crunch

Why it’s important to strive for our biggest goals and view others’ dreams and lifes as inspiration. Comparing gets us nowhere but supporting each other helps turn dreams into reality.

Robyn Lawley: Why The Dangerous “Thigh Gap” Trend Makes Me Mad via The Daily Beast

“We have the power to change perceptions about body image” – a model’s opinion on the unhealthy pursuit of a certain shape.

The Truth Behind Photoshop via elephant journal

You might have seen similar videos before: yet more proof of how media messes with our idea of the ‘perfect’ body.

Good good [advice and inspiration]

3 Ways To Keep Going While Resting via Candy Fit

Great ideas on how to make the best of those much needed rest days. Don’t fret about not exercising but honour yourself.

How to show your love via Kris Carr

Simple ways to show others your appreciation every day. An amazing list of ‘love lessons’ to memorize and put into practice.

Pregnant in Paris & learning to live better via Sarah Jenks

Bringing back a little more enjoyment to our daily lives to add some of that ‘vacation feeling’.

9 Fitspiration Poster Corrected via BuzzFeed

Yes! Wanting to be fit is a great goal but never forget to enjoy life.

New York subway signs experiment via A cup of Joe

In case any of your are living in NYC: make a conductor smile!

How To Get Back On Track After A Funk via Mind Body Green

Finding our ingredients for happiness [“core values”] can help us beat the funks we all get hit by every now and then.

20 Ways To Use Your Time If You’re Waiting For A Job via Lifehack

Just what I needed this week. The Waiting Game isn’t much fun but here’s how to use the time best.

 

Good good [laughs]

Can You Get Through This Post Without Having An Anxiety Attack? via BuzzFeed

Can you??? The stove one is so me. Maybe I should go check right now?!

What Your Favourite Apple Says About You via Huffington Post

Further proof of “you are what you eat”?! Too bad they’re missing my favourite(s) so I will never know ;).

Check Out How People Eat Breakfast Differently Around The World via Food Republic

Why in the world [no pun intended] did they not list oatmeal separately in the Top 10?! Nevertheless, I really want to try the Japanese breakfast staple.

17 Annoying Phrases You’re Sick of Hearing, as Told By Hot Guys via BuzzFeed

Sorry I’m not sorry but it totes is what it is ;): Don’t we all use some of those every now and then?!

 

Good good [food]

Banoffi Pie via Peachy Palate

Caramel, banana cream and coconut whip – there is no other word to describe this healthified pie than: epic!

Chocolate Brownie Cake With Pumpkin Spice Icing via Esculent Dreams

Warning: don’t click the link when you’re currently experiencing a chocolate craving. It’s dangerously delicious looking.

Roasted Red Pepper Mac & Cheese via The Post Punk Kitchen

A vegan cashew-based spin on the classic made even more awesome by adding roasted peppers. Creamy dreamy .

9 Ways to Spice Up Your Pumpkin Seeds via serious eats

Why not make good and delicious use of the seeds, too?

Italian Bean Balls and Spaghetti Squash Noodles via oh she glows

Just how good does this look?! And anybody else thinking of Lady and the Tramp?

 

Happiness inducing today: Talking to a very good friend overseas via Skype.

 

What were some great reads you found this week? Feel free to share the links!

Do you roast the pumpkin seeds, too, when preparing squash or discard them? 

Anything you’re looking forward to in the next week?

 

11 thoughts on “Good good links #11

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Seriously, they forgot the best apples. Just because those obviously characterize us favouring those as pretty awesome people 😉 – and facts simply aren’t as funny. Not to discriminate any but yes, Red Delicious … they’re really only good for decoration purposes.

  1. emskiruns says:

    wow that photoshop video was really amazing we all know it goes on but I for one never realised quite the extent of it! That’s amazing x

  2. Madison @ Eating 4 Balance says:

    No offense to Americans…. (<< yes, totally using that just to spite the "annoying phrases post" 😉 ), but our breakfasts are no where near as nutritionally beneficial, healthy, etc. compared to the meals of other countries! All I see when I look at breakfasts here are sugar sugar sugar. Where are the vegetables?

    Wonderful posts on the thigh gap, and from Cotter Crunch as well.

    I have not clicked on the food posts yet… Saving those for later when I'm eating and not tempted to eat to take a bite of my screen.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t worry about it. I mean [can you tell that’s really one of my favourites hilarious posts in a while ;)?!]: so true about some people’s breakfast. Balanced? Maybe in terms of balancing various kinds of sugar in one meal …
      I hear you on avoiding food posts when hungry :).

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Omg, THANK YOU for including that anxiety attack link…I needed that belly laugh tonight! And seriously? I ALMOST called my ex today and was like ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! I think my heart stopped beating for like 5 seconds! Haha! I also really liked the “back on track” article…I going to start making my list now!

    You know, I always feel guilty throwing pumpkin seeds away so I took the time to clean up the ones I scraped out of my kabocha last weekend and roast them up…and I hated them! Haha!

Leave a Reply

