Pinterestingly delicious

Hi and happy Wednesday!

Wednesday. The day of the week when I’m giving you a sneak peak into my eats. But how about giving you a short insight into the making of What I ate Wednesday in the polka-dotted household, too? It’s actually pretty easy – and not. Being the planner that I am yet not a meal planner I’m looking through my meals from the past week [or at least those I took pictures of] trying to pick the most interesting ones. Easy. But I’m usually not content with that. Nooo. The real fun is when I see a topic emerging. Which I realize would be easier to assure if I meal-planned hence knowing what I’ll end up with … Back to today’s post, though, which – you guessed it! – [more or less] follows a topic. Hoping that Amy won’t mind me stealing her idea here’s to a Pinterestly delicious What I ate Wednesday. Thanks to our lovely hostess Jenn!

WIAWbutton_1

Unlike you might guess I’m actually still eating non-blended/Vitamix-ed foods. Unbelievable but true. Yes, I’m still thinking the Vitamix is all kinds of awesome but I have yet to find that switch to get it to clean and dry itself ;). Let me know if you find it and I won’t stop blending anymore.

Something that hasn’t changed, though, is my desire to eat ice cream on a daily basis as long as the Vitamix is still on his visit at my place. I make myself laugh eating ice cream when the temperatures outside are dropping by the day. Well, that’s what tea was invented for, right?

Ice cream

And who could say no to a bowl of ice cream topped with sprinkles?! Will you believe I hadn’t had sprinkles in … forever [?] until now? For once because they usually aren’t vegan and maybe also because I considered them sugary non-sense [read: wasted calories] for way too long. Not anymore because – and I know Sam will agree – everything’s better with sprinkles. The basic recipe I use for this is Katie’s using hazelnut milk. I like to add some ‘cookie dough’ crumbles prepared by simpy combining coconut and peanut flour with some sweetener, a pinch of salt and a little bit of soy milk. Some coconut butter added to the ice cream when blending adds a nice touch – just saying ;).

Sprinkles

The first one I tried right after seeing it on Amy’s blog for lunch last Wednesday was Nikki’s Carrot and Red Lentil Soup – in fact before I’d even pinned it – how’s that for overachieving ;)? And unfortunately, I have no picture to show you. Did I mention it was a late lunch on a cloudy day? Needless to say I didn’t even attempt to take a picture but take a look at Nikki’s great ones and give it a try! I can, however, show you a picture of the Red Lentil Kabocha Chili that Nikki’s soup inspired me to create. While I’m a huge legume fiend red lentils are a kind I keep forgetting about though they are so good. Recipe for this simple dish to come on Friday. For once it’s even a mum-approved dish because I prepared it once more when she came for a short visit yesterday.

Chili

An alternative title for this post: The one when the weather didn’t cooperate. Despite my serious dislike for taking pictures with flash on the foods were just to good to not show them. So overlook the qualitly of the pictures and trust my judgement: deeeelicious. First off was another very recent pin: Michelle’s peanut butter drizzle idea. Once more I played around with her recipe with great results.

Peanut drizzle

With my mum coming for a visit yesterday I sensed my chance to try a recipe that had been on my “to try in case I ever get my hands on a Vitamix” list before I even knew I ever would. Weird? Maybe – though I’d rather call it very optimistic thinking ;). Back to the recipe, though: raw cheesecake. Or any nut-based creamy dessert, really, but The Detoxinista’s recipe had caught my eye long ago with its short ingredient list and simplicity. Mine wasn’t actually raw because I prepared a different crust, didn’t search for certified raw ingredients … in short: it was a no-bake cheesecake. The result was an amazingly creamy and maybe not cheesecake-like but still super delicious treat. Seconds were a necessity. Never mind that I didn’t have a small enough pan so it ended up being a very flat cake. Lesson learned: buy more pans. As if I needed an excuse …

Slice

Don’t let the simple look deceive you!

All in all the Mission: Tackle my Pinterest boards has proven to be rewarded with delicious results so far. Fingers crossed for more pinteresting proof of tastiness to come!

My Blogiversary giveaway is over. Don’t forget to check if you’re one of the winners! Please mail me your shipping info until Friday!

Happiness inducing today: Without a doubt my mum’s visit.

What are some ingredients you enjoy but keep forgetting about?

Did you try any awesome new recipes during the last week? Feel free to share the inspiration!

Have you ever tried a nut-based dessert like the cheesecake? Which one?

38 thoughts on “Pinterestingly delicious

  1. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    That cheesecake looks delish! I’ll be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever actually made a recipe from my pinterest…yet I continue to pin things. I’m so weird. That ice cream looks amazing. I’d pin it but then it would likely mean I wouldn’t make it so I’ll just try to keep it in mind next time I’m craving ice cream!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Not weird at all. Even if I commit[ed] myself to this project now I will/would [ha, see who’s already doubtful if she’ll stick with it ;)] still only be able to try a fraction of all recipes I’ve pinned so far. Given the fact that I won’t stop adding new ones …
      But yes, try the ice cream.

  2. Emily says:

    I don’t think I’ve EVER made any of the recipes I pin…it’s kind of silly. haha. I don’t know why I haven’t because most of them are so simple and look amazing. You’re inspiring me!
    That cheesecake looks phenomenal!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Well, I guess it’d be fair if I inspired you in the recipe department after all the life inspiration you gave me :).
      And thanks for being forgiving or even kind about the cheesecake picture. It’s my least favourite from the post taken under the worst conditions. Delicious in anyway, though, and isn’t that what counts?!

  3. Ashley says:

    I LOVE raw cheesecakes! I actually made a coffee-flavored one for my birthday in July and it was incredible. It’s one of those desserts I love because it’s basically foolproof.

    I’ve never made things, whether recipes or crafts, from what I pin. I just like how they look, but then I forget about them and end up making my old favorites, or something I see on a blog.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m usually sticking to favourites, too, and that’s why I decided to start this little challenge. Who knows which delights I might be missing out on ;)? The cheesecake was proof of that.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      … and why didn’t I think of adding sprinkles to that one, too?! Awesome idea, Lucie! Though maybe it’s good I didn’t because I’m not sure what my mum would have thought of that ;).

  4. catfoodisgoodforyou says:

    That’s funny I’ve rediscovered a few forgotten ingredients lately: molasses, peanut flour and good ol’ nooch! Happy to have them back šŸ˜‰ I love the look of the Detoxinistas cheesecake, pinned!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Pinned to be tried eventually?! No judgement if not because I’m just the same with so many recipes. I wasn’t even sure I’d try the cheesecake but then it was a “I deserve a treat after an evening of cleaning up” decision :).
      Molasses! I’ve been meanin get some for aaaages but keep putting it off. Peanut flour – though the improper German gritty variety – and nooch are daily staples for me – so good!

  5. Sue says:

    Just like you, I keep forgetting how awesome lentils are. They are tasty, cook a lot faster than dried beans, etc.
    That soup looks so good! I’d love to try it, hopefully this weekend.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Lentils just get overshadowed by other legumes, I guess. But yes, they need to appear more often around here, too.
      The recipe for the lentil chili will be up tomorrow! I’m happy it’s even mum-approved as she’s not easy to please :).

  6. Chelsea's Healthy Kitchen says:

    I always get so jealous when I see nut based vegan cheesecake recipes because I can never make them. The only nuts I can have are almonds, and I don’t think they have the same properties as cashews that allow them to be blended into a smooth texture. Darn!

    That red lentil kabocha chili looks so good. I always forget about lentils too, but I’m actually on a bit of a lentil kick myself lately. Great minds think alike. šŸ˜€

  7. Health, Love, and Chocolate says:

    That bit about the vitamix made me laugh, I feel the same way about my blender. šŸ˜‰ Those cheesecake bars look amazing, Megan’s recipes always look so good. I completely feel you on the bad lighting, but I think kabocha looks fabulous in any lighting. šŸ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s actually not thaaaat awful to clean but the whole drying the single parts … I could do without that. Especially since I have that habit of not being able to sit down to eat until the clean-up is done.

  8. Life's a Bowl says:

    I’ve never made a raw dessert, but I love all kind of nuts so I don’t think that I could turn down a slice (or square)! I have wayyy too many recipes pinned on my boards that I’ve been meaning to try – key word *meaning* šŸ˜›

  9. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Omg that lentil and kabocha chili looks AMAZING!!! Not that I really forgot about them, but I just recently realized that my stomach can tolerate lentils again so I can’t WAIT to see this recipe! Mmmm! And you know, I think I crave frozen desserts MORE during the winter than in the summer…just gotta be sure I’m bundled up first! Ha!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good to know we can be odd together. Here’s to ice cream in winter. I mean, it makes sense, right: icy outside, ice cream inside the house ;).
      Yay to your stomach tolerating lentils again!

  10. Simone says:

    Everything you posted lokks so deilcious. I love red lentils, they don’t take long to prepare and you can use them in so many ways. And, i want to have a Vitamix, too. I have a quite good mixer, but it’s nothing compared to a vitamix. The cheesecake looks fantastic, perhaps I try it with my simple gadgets šŸ™‚ Some months ago I prepared an Oreo cheesecake with cashews, that was really good. And a friend of mine makes a great “cheesecake” with cashews and millet. Hm. Now I am hungry!
    Have a nice weekend! Simone

Leave a Reply

