Autumn

Moving back[wards] to move on

Yes, that title will make sense in a minute [or two or three], I promise.

But first off: Happy Monday! I hope you either spent the weekend in a warm place [I wish!] or well bundled up on the couch. More the latter in my case but who’d complain about an excuse to cozy up inside when it’s freezing outside. Not like I hadn’t gone on a wonderful run to warm up, though – I’d intended to go for a walk but that was just not happening with a look at the thermometer. Hard to believe that meteorological winter is still weeks away and it’s already sooo cold. Okay, enough of the cold wimp whining 😉 and onto the marvelousness of the past days. Thanks to Katie for inspiring us to overlook the cold celebrate all the blessings and good happenings in our lives every Monday!

MiMM_newIf you’ve been reading for a bit longer already you’ll know that I’ve been in what I’ve called the Waiting Game for quite a while already. Searching for jobs and internships is no fun long-time occupation so I can now finally let you know I’ve found something. It’s just temporary and nothing fancy but my December will be spent as a working girl again! Where? As I said: nothing fancy. Prior to starting my Journalism studies I’d interned at our local newspaper for about one and a half months. I’d been considering to apply there for a while already but not taken the step because I was hoping to find something closer to where I live. Long story short: I’ll be back at their editorial office and writing articles come November 25th.

Getting the news was truly marvelous after months of sending out applications, waiting and my self-confidence dropping with every denied or simply not responded to application. Happy girl alert. Only … as mentioned above it’s at the local newspaper in the area I grew up in. Which means I won’t be able to stay at my place but have to move [temporarily only for now]. Move back in with my parents again, to be more specific. And that’s something I’m ambivalent about. What can I say? I’m not calling myself Little Miss Worry-too-much for no reason.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my parents and miss them. But moving back home again after years of living in my own apartment [with a roommate but that’s basically the same, right?!] is … weird. I’m used to my independent ways, organising my life the way I want it and – admittedly – city life. Yes, I’ve gushed about the countryside in all its beauty and being a nature girl. Yet at least at my age it’s nice to be back in the hustling bustling city after a weekend stay down there. Just in case you’re a number fiend [I’m so not :)] we live in a village and the town closest by has little more than 8,000 inhabitants. True countryside.

Autumn

Working will obviously keep me busy during the week and I’d be lying if I told you I wasn’t excited. Laugh at me but I’m even fond of revising other editors’ articles. Yes, grammar nerdiness at its best. Don’t you enjoy telling others how to write their texts ;)?? What? Just me …?! I may or may not force offer my revising services to family members whenever they’re working on some kind of text that’s going to be published. Yes, I like it that much. Words are my world.

Letter

What I’m worried about, however, are workouts and weekends. Weekends because all of my friends from school have moved just like I did and there’s not much to do over there. Workouts because I can’t see a way of fitting in runs during the week when working from 9 to 6 with an hour-long commute. Sorry if I sound whiney but I rely on my workouts to destress. Calm my mind. Get those awesome and addictive endorphin rushes. I’m still somehow hoping to find a way to join the local gym for a month only without paying an arm and a leg. Or better yet asking my parents to do it – oh the wonders of unpaid internships …

Shoes

But this post wouldn’t fit into the marvelous category if I didn’t see the upsides, too. Moving backwards to live at my parents and interning with an editorial staff I already know might be a door opening up for positive change and thereby moving on. I haven’t even mentioned all of it but there will be a lot of changes and challenges coming up for me. One of them being family meals. I’ve never mentioned it before but despite my visits at home these are still a struggle. Partly because of my fears, partly because of my mum’s unwillingness to plan and cook meals with me. Chelsea recently wrote a great post on the benefits of family dinners so I’m hoping to make these at least a Sunday tradition. Along with a movie night every now and then? Would be perfect.

Another marvelous part of living with my parents? Cookie baking! There’s little else I can get this excited about in terms of holiday foods. Living at my parents I’ll hopefully be able to engage in a lot more of this than past years when I had a hard time going through what I baked. My mum will probably even be happy for me to take over some of the baking duties – or so I hope.

Cookies

All of these changes will challenge me. For now I know I need to stop worrying and let things happen. Trusting in them to work out. Because they will … or so I hope. Here’s to moving back and moving on.

I hope you’re having a great start to the week! Make it marvelous!

Happiness inducing today: Some fun kitchen shenanigans.

Did you [have to] move back in with your parents after graduation? How did that work out for you?

Any advice on the workout situation?

Random: Favourite Christmas cookie recipe? I know it’s technically too early but the temperatures don’t make it feel that way.

31 thoughts on “Moving back[wards] to move on

  1. Angela says:

    I can totally understand your appreciation of good grammar – do you ever get annoyed when you read other bloggers make grammatical errors in their posts?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      In a way it annoys me. But then again: I’m no mother tongue speaker myself so who am I to blame others for their mistakes? I’m sure I make many in my own posts. That’s why I try not to re-read them after posting because it’d upset me too much :).

  2. Chelsea @ Chelsea's Healthy Kitchen says:

    You know I can totally relate about the weirdness of moving back home after graduating! It’s tough, but it has its benefits too. I’m glad you’ve been able to recognize the positives! 🙂

    Also, congrats on the internship!!! That’s so awesome!

    Have you ever tried workout DVDs? I sometimes do my Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD when I’m pressed for time. It’s perfect because it’s less than half an hour and I can do it from home, which saves me the time from going to the gym. And even though it’s short, it’s a killer workout!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Chelsea!
      Actually, I have yet to try any DVDs [a least this year] despite my goal of switching up my workout routine. Woops. Good to know you consider Jilian Michaels’ Shred a challenging workout. Part of the reason why I’ve stuck to running for now is that I tend to think DVDs weren’t “enough” of a workout. Ridiculous, I know …

  3. Amy says:

    Amazing attitude. You know how I feel about this and will reply to your mail as soon as I can 🙂 I am very excited for all the opportunities that are awaiting you — you are going to be great!

  4. jessielovestorun says:

    Sure you have to adjust to certain areas in your life, but you’ll figure it all out with time hunnie. I’m just beyond excited that you were presented with such a wonderful opportunity. You’re going to be fabulous. ❤

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    YAY!!! Congrats on the job!!! That is so awesome girl!! Great to hear. As for your workouts…try not to fret and just do what you can and what feels right. They don’t have to be an everyday thing and your new job is what’s most important right now! Exercise will always be there and you’ll settle into a routine that’ll work for you!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Kaila! It’s a huge change to imagine switching from working out whenever I feel like to whenever it’s possible but I guess it’ll become normal soon. Or at least I hope it will …

  6. Ashley says:

    Congrats on the job, girl! I actually had no idea you were in journalism as well–I can definitely relate to liking to revise others’ articles for errors haha!

    As for the workout situation, it’s something I’m starting to stress out about as I start the job hunting process for my first big girl job. I’m worried that I’ll be working crazy hours/days at first and I won’t be able to fit in my usual workouts like I do now, where I exercise a few times per day in shorter bursts to fit with my school schedule. I think maybe finding some really good, intense shorter workouts or workout DVDs where you can squeeze it in before or after work would be ideal for you, until you can find more time for the gym and more structured exercise!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, fellow journalist [to be] here! I think I mentioned it in a comment on your blog waaaay back but then again that might be my memory making things up ;).
      Looks like we’re also sharing the workout worries. With the added commute I don’t see a way to work out before work but here’s to hoping I’ll be able to squeeze it in after work every now and then.

  7. swissfitchick says:

    So excited about the new job girl!!! You will have so much energy with working again you won’t even notice your fears!
    But I feel you – it is a challenge to go back into an old surroundment when you were used to be independent. I think the most important thing is that you don’t forget that you can ALWAYS make your own choices. Be that food, workouts, whatever – you are a grown up woman and have the right and ability to take over all the responsibility for yourself.
    As for workouts – I am not sure if you have the option to workout at home? If so, there are a lot of great online programs for free with quick and intense workouts and with no or very little equipment needed. Other than that, I would call the gym now and explain them your situation, that you are only there temporary and if they could give you a special price. The worst thing that can happen is that they say no 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      What you’re saying makes a lot of sense so thank you, Lucie! Fingers crossed my parents will accept my independence despite living at home again for a while, too. That’s been a bit of a struggle in the past.
      Definitely looking into the online workouts you recommended, too. And I guess I should really just call the gym and hope for the best. They should be interested in another person eager to work out, right ;)?!

  8. emskiruns says:

    I am back living with my parents after living with my best friend for two years and I do struggle and it is hard losing your independence, plus that family meal thing is a problem I suffer from. I do find that if I offer suggestions on how to healthy thiungs up a bit or offer to cook every now and again it helps.
    Congrats on the job 🙂
    Things will work out and it will be a challenge but challenge is good for us helps us grow and in the case of living back with parents helps up learn patience!
    x

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “Challenge is good for us helps us grow and in the case of living back with parents helps up learn patience” – So true! Especially about the patience because I have a lot to learn in that area …
      Sorry to hear family meals area struggle for you still, too. While my parents don’t necessarily eat unhealthy food my mum isn’t a fan of me taking over the kitchen. I figure it’ll take some work on both sides.

  9. Emily says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! This made my day. I’m so, so excited for you.
    I know how it feels to not have time for the exercise you’ve become accustomed to…I’ve dealt with that over the past 6 months. But, you’ll find ways to squeeze in exercise (promise), it just might be a little different than before. Quick, high-intensity workouts have been my go-to lately and I’m actually loving it. I don’t miss spending long amounts of time running/at the gym AT ALL. Having a job and a life is so much more fun. (:

    I can’t wait to hear more about this when you start! And PS: you’re definitely not the only one who has a love affair with grammar. Guilty!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Grammar fiends unite :)!
      I hope you’re right about the exercise but then again it’s something I can’t change and I’d better just let it happen the way it does. Adjustment is necessary, adjustment will happen – I’ll make that my mantra ;).

  10. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Well I can’t pretend it isn’t going to be a bit of an adjustment. Moving back with my parents certainly was. Truth be told I think I was a bit selfish at first. I was so used to caring only for myself that I wasn’t the best at contributing to the family and the house. I’m definitely adjusted now and have established which chores I’m expected to do and have gotten used to them eating my food and contributing to family meals. In fact I think I might miss it a bit when I move out.

    But yay for keeping busy! Funemployment can be well fun for a bit but then the unemployment part starts to creep in and then the boredom and then the desperation to do ANYTHING! I remember that feeling so well. And don’t stress too much about the workouts. Working out is something that’s supposed to fit into your life when it can. I totally got used to working out everyday when I wasn’t working and then tried to keep that up while I was working but ultimately burnt myself out. I’ve cut way back now and try to fit in a workout when I can but some days it just isn’t going to happen. For a while I felt like a slave to endorphins, as though I needed working out to be happy but I’ve been working on finding other ways to fulfill my happiness and so far so good. Don’t overthink it, this is going to be great!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      In a way I think it might be good to learn that working out simply isn’t possible every day and cut back. But then again it’s become my coping mechanism and I figure there will be quite a bit to cope with … I need to learn to stress less and just let go of expectations – whether good or bad ones.
      Desperation to do anything? Absolutely! I might have enjoyed funemployment for the first few days but I get bored easily and not having a daily structure is the worst for me.
      Thanks for the encouragement <3!

  11. Maria @ Little Miss Cornucopia says:

    when i was eighteen years old, i moved away from home and never looked back. two and a half years ago, i moved back in with my parents for six months. i didn’t like it much but i tried to make the best of it. my mom and i became the closest of friends and my dad understand each other better than ever before.

    congrats on the new job! i bet you’re going to be great! embrace this very important time in your life…and enjoy every minute of it! x

  12. Brittany says:

    Sooo….I’ve never moved out yet..AH I KNOW!! Please don’t unfriend me hahaha. I don’t see anything wrong with moving back home, a lot of people are doing it these days and financially it can be really smart!! Congratulations on the new job, and I am loving all your photos!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We’re still friends, don’t worry :). I don’t think there’s anything wrong with living with one’s parents at all. My reluctancy stems from knowing that both my parents and I can be pretty pigheaded aaand that makes for some conflict potential. Here’s to seeing how this works …
      Thanks for complimenting my pictures! Still working on my skills.

  13. cottercrunch says:

    it will be a good time to learn more about you now. yes, it’s hard moving backwards but i think in the end it will move your relationship with yourself forwards, if that makes sense? haha

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It totally makes sense. Knowing that I still have to work on that relationship myself I can already see some points just in what I’ve written in this post. Namely exercise, patience, …

  14. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I’m sorry, but I think you have every right to be a little whiney here…9-6 with an HOUR commute?! Holy CRAP! And I would definitely be a ball of nerves if I had to move back in with my parents…not sure I could do it…ESPECIALLY after having lived on my own for so long. BUT this is a marvelous Monday (disregard the fact that I’m reading this on a Wednesday) so we are going to look for some positives…

    *crickets* <- Ha! Just kidding! 😉

    1. This job is a great opportunity because a.) it gives you more to put on your resume and b.) it's a place you've been before so you should feel more comfortable…so it's kinda like a dress rehearsal for the "real thing"
    2. The time with your family will give you more time to work on your relationship with your parents. Maybe after some time, you're mom will start to open up more to the idea of sharing more when it comes to cooking…especially if you bribe her with lentil kabocha stew! 😉 And it's also time that I'm sure you will be even more grateful for in the future. My mom was just telling me the other day how she wants to make a point to visit with my grandfather more often. He's in his seventies now and his health has started to decline over the last few years and she (and I) wants to make the most out of the time we have.
    3. Country side pictures and walk/hikes!!! You may not be able to workout during the week, but you can still take some time to destress in other ways (with stretching/yoga/deep breathing and hello BAKING COOKIES!) and then on the weekends, make the most of it!! 😀

Leave a Reply

