Culinary confessions of an overbuyer

Hi there, fellow foodies!

First off: thank you so much for all of the encouraging and supportive comments on my last post! I appreciated every single one of them. Change still isn’t easy for me but I’m trying to just let it happen and see where life leads me.

Before we head straight into the more illustrated part of this post I feel like I need to explain its background a little. all it a confession of an overbuyer if you will … Picture this: you’re visiting the Farmers’ Market knowing that you’re well stocked in the vegetable department already. Clearly, your only intention is to get some of your favourite apples only available at a certain stall and then head home again. No other purchases or even side glances at the full array of beautiful produce allowed … Can you guess the end of the story? Yes, I somehow ended up buying the most humungous head of cauliflower you’ve seen so far for a fantastic price and a bag of awesome pears as well. Typical foodie problems?! Which leads me to today’s What I ate Wednesday.

wiaw fall into good habits buttonUsing up what’s on hand and not buying new produce anymore sounds like a good habit to fall into, don’t you think so?! Once more I’m also linking up for Vegan Wednesday so to all German readers: take a look at a collection of delicious vegan food over at Julia’s.

Finding myself with an overload of produce – more specifically: cauliflower, bell pepper and carrots as well as slightly more “normal” amounts of random others – I had to modify my Pinterest challenge. It’s almost the usual for me to overbuy produce. But with my move coming closer I need to hurry up on eating my way through the produce party. Hence challenge “Make a dent” – not to be confused with any current appointments at the dentist’s …

Cream of corn

Have you ever been lured into the “season’s almost over so I have to buy it!” syndrome? With corn season being almost or even already over I noticed I hadn’t had fresh corn at all so far. Yes, shame on me. This recipe for sounded awesome and it didn’t disappoint. While I expected it to be good it turned out even better. So good, in fact, that I could have even done without any add-ins. Why didn’t I realize any earlier just how amazing fresh corn tastes?!

[Actually, I made this months back already but forgot to mention it in previous WIAW posts. Sorry!]

Next up was a freshly pinned recipe that I mentioned in my post on Sunday: Susan’s Spaghetti Squash Pesto Lasagna. Will you believe I actually followed the recipe [almost] to a T??? Okaaay, I subbed grated zucchini for the spinach – all for the sake of using it up – and used additional and also silken tofu though Susan doesn’t recommend it [with added cornstarch to thicken it up]. But other than that I didn’t make a lot of modifications. Verdict: Delicious! Once more I was skeeved by the low lighting but you can’t change the weather.

Squash Lasagna

Carrots first found their way into my Red Lentil Kabocha Chili which you’ll probably notice I modified a little and tried to measure how much water I added. How I forgot to add almond butter on top the first time I tried it is beyond me.

My original intention had been to try a Pumpkin Cauliflower Curry. However, the [red kuri] squash stored in the basement seems less perishable than carrots. And with no canned pumpkin available I had to prepare my own puree in anyway. So why not go for carrot instead of pumpkin?

oat loli

Don’t let the look deceive you. Despite its mediocre appearance I came up with a flavourful and spicy (!) curry that hit the spot once reheated. Does anybody else find that curry – just like chili – tastes better when reheated? On the side I tried another new-to-me recipe: Khusboo’s Oat Lolis. They had been on my Pinterest board/to-make list ever since she posted them and yesterday offered a great opportunity to try them.

scoop

Super easy and fast to prepare but the best part: they’re an great scooping device. In case you’re wondering: I added cumin seeds [obsessed!] and the first loli disappeared before it could even make it into a picture. Hangry blogger at work? Maybe … I’ll share the recipe for the curry later this week for any others desperately in need of using up cauliflower ;). Or just those who enjoy a good curry.

Cauliflower snack

Okay, this one is strange but good. Remember how I mentioned the cauliflower was humungous? I wasn’t kidding and I actually still had half a head sitting in the basement that I’d somehow forgotten about. Enter cauliflower not only for lunch but as a snack, too. Not any old cauliflower, though, but vegan egg-battered amaranth-coated cauliflower. More details on that in my next post :).

Avocado-Törtchen

Ending on a sweet and [semi-]raw note once more: [frozen] Chocolate Avocado Cupcake made by my sister. She’s been asking me for healthy food ideas and started experimenting on her own for quite some time already coming up with some awesome creations. Though they haven’t been eating weird food before it’s funny to see family members jump on the health foodie bandwagon every now and then lately, too. Who knows, maybe I’ll turn them into nut butter addicts and oat bran fiends one day after all?! Wishful thinking – but then again: Sharing my nut butters? I don’t think so ;).

Happy [healthy] Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: Mailing another surprise letter.

Help me out: What are your favourite uses/recipes for cauliflower and bell peppers? Aside from roasting [still not a fan – totally untypical foodie here, sorry!] I appreciate any suggestions.

Are you good at resisting produce offers when you know you’re well stocked already?

Did you interest in [healthy] food rub off on family members yet?

31 thoughts on “Culinary confessions of an overbuyer

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Oh I can TOTALLY relate to this post!!! I am constantly buying more veggies on a whim when I already have a ton! They’re just so fresh and delicious looking! Plus I totally fall into the trap of “they may not be here next time!!”. But I definitely should focus on using up what I have instead of overwhelming myself with waaay to much stuff in the fridge!! All your meals look delicious BTW!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      ‘Real’ lasagna is a bit scary of me still, too. I’m sure you’d enjoy this one though I’ll admit I needed a side dish to feel really satisfied. But maybe I was just extra hungry when eating it.
      I’d seen and tried recipes for mashed cauliflower before but yours looks so much more interesting. Coincidence you posted it on my birthday?! I’ll have to give it a try.

  2. Flake And Cake says:

    I’m a total overbuyer. And overmaker! We don’t have a freezer so I’m currently pushing vats of quinoa and roasted veggies on all we know haha! I love stuffed bell peppers – try with rice and veggie mix and goats cheese. And cauliflower cheese is a classic 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    How funny, I published a similar post about my overflowing pantry today! Not only do I buy too much produce, but also tons of canned and dried foods. I often have at least five different kinds of dried beans and lentils at home.
    Sadly, none of my family members or friends is into ‘healthy’ foods. I’m still the only one who eats things like quinoa or nut butters, while they feast on junk food. My husband eats a big salad with me sometimes, but that’s as far as it goes. :/
    My favorite use for cauliflower is blending it into soups. Have you heard about cauliflower rice or cauliflower pizza crust? And Laura’s tofu-stuffed jalapenos would surely work with bell peppers, too.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I saw your post before you commented and thought just the same. Maybe we’re all bound to make a dent in our staples with the end of the year coming closer? Sort of like an end-of-year goal to avoid starting the new year with a surplus of food :D.
      Cauliflower rice – or couscous as I call it – is a staple for me and such a versatile one. I’ll have to take a look at Laura’s recipe, thanks for the idea!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I actually have and isn’t it awesome? Sadly, I just had to toss my bag of chickpea flour which I used for it and I won’t be buying any new before moving :(.
      About the oat lolis: thanks for the recipe! I’m seeing a lot more of them happening in the future.

  4. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I KNEW those were Khushboo’s flatbread thingies! I’ve still yet to try them, but now that I’ve seen then in scooping action, I’m convinced I need to make them STAT!

    You should try Laura’s recipe for cauliflower crust pizza! http://www.sprint2thetable.com/2012/08/cauliflower-crust-pizza/ OR my cauliflower dessert pizza! http://www.kissmybroccoliblog.com/2013/02/08/sweet-as-pie/ OR this amazing cauliflower soup that Julia posted last week…and she used a blender to make it!! Woo hoo, score for the Vitamix! http://www.theroastedroot.net/roasted-cauliflower-soup/ OR this falafel http://www.thenondairyqueen.com/2011/06/baked-cauliflower-falafel-and-i-need.html <- It's my favorite recipe for falafel! Ok, so I kinda like cauliflower! 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Go and make Khushboo’s flatbread for some major scooping action! And add the cumin seeds – they’re so good.
      Kiss my cauliflower ;)?! Don’t let broccoli hear that! Really, though, why didn’t I ask you right away when noticing my cauliflower overflow [and I really like the double flow here ;)]? These are so many great idea I don’t think the cauliflower experimentation will be as boring as expected. Thank you!

  5. Christine @ Gotta Eat Green says:

    I love to make cauliflower soup/chili! I just roast or steam the cauliflower and add it into any of the soups or chili that I am making. Another favourite is cauliflower steaks, there are a ton of recipes online for them. Basically you just cut them like a steak and slather some sauce on and bake! They are great!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Cauliflower steaks! They sound awesome and I actually pinned a recipe for them just last week – goes to show how good of an overview I have over those … Thanks for the reminder, Christine!

  6. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    I cannot wait for that cauliflower recipe!!! That looks amazing! I’m typically an overbuyer but this week I have nothing in the house! Last night was GF pasta with coconut oil and salt. I just shamed every food blogger there ever was!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sometimes simple meals are the best – and I’m not just saying that. Honestly, if we’re talking about shaming food bloggers don’t ask what I’m eating for lunch on those days that go unpictured.

  7. Emily says:

    I can 100% relate to this! I’m not as bad anymore (because I don’t have much time for grocery shopping) but I still have a horrible compulsive shopping habit when it comes to food. Every few months I try to really crack down and use up the things that I have before I buy more. That’s when my most creative recipes are created!

    And I cannot wait for that cauliflower recipe!

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    WIsh I could help you with the cauliflower, but I can’t even remember the last time I bought any since my stomach isn’t the biggest fan. I do see a lot of cauliflower pizza crusts and ‘rice’ dishes though — maybe something like that?

    And I’ve actually gotten pretty good at resisting produce because I -hate- to waste food. When it comes to things that can sit on the shelf for a little longer, though? I run into problems there…

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Wasting food – it doesn’t happen too often for me but when it does … yes, I hate it.
      Things that can sit on the shelf for a bit longer? Are we talking about a certain [spaghetti] squash here ;)? I’m pretty good about storing quite a stash of squash, too.

Leave a Reply

