Recounting a week of ups and downs

Hi there and happy Monday! Did you have a marvelous weekend?

For today’s Marvelous in my Monday I’m going to switch things up talking not just about the weekend but last week’s happenings. Anyway, here’s to the ups and downs of the past week. Because seeing the positives in even the worst situations is what keeps things marvelous.

MiMM_new

Confession time: Visits at the dentist scare me like crazy. It’s not serious enough to keep me from going but I’m basically a nervous wreck the moment I’m sitting down on the chair. And I might just be the most sensitive person ever when it gets to my teeth – it’s embarrassing. Cue happiness [irony alert!] when I had two visits scheduled last week and two more to come this week. Sounds like there was a lot to be done? True. Learn from my mistakes: however healthy you might eat today it won’t make up for bad habits in your childhood. [I found this comic at random – still afraid of dentists but it’s cute.]

The upside, though? My new dentist and her team are very kind. The treatment didn’t even hurt much – after anaesthesia, obviously.  The first appointment went by without much pain and I felt good afterwards. After the second appointment, however … no going into too much detail here because: who’d be interested in hearing about that? Let me just say I was running on very little sleep on Thursday and eating was no fun.

Needless to say the cooking session I’d planned with a newly made friend didn’t sound too enticing and wasn’t going to happen with anything other than blended lightly seasoned food being out of consideration [downside]. But sticking with my goals – and also really wanting to socialize more – I still went over to hers. Being alone would have only meant giving in to the toothache, right? No way :)!

Crunchy vegetables were a no-go with my teeth but who says toothaches meant you couldn’t eat chocolate? Vegan white chocolate, to be exact.  A little tea to help it melt and I was good to go :). To be fair I’m still not a fan of white chocolate but then again not picky when it’s what the host has on hand. And about the movie? So sad but still so amazing. Thanks for recommending it to all of you who did! We ended up having a great evening [upside] that helped me get my mind of the lingering toothache [which got a lot worse on Friday making me need emergency treatment.]

First little down on Sunday:  getting up after an [admittedly self-afflicted] too short night of sleep . Upside: amazing misty scenery at the lake on an early morning run before my dad was supposed to arrive at my place. And the upside to him catching a late train? Time for food prep! Roasting some of the still abundant vegetables in my apartment.

Food prep

Now you already know what my Sunday entailed: spending time with my dad who came to visit me for the first time in quite a while. It’s been a few months if not longer and he surprised me by announcing he’d come along. We met up at my place to decide on our plans for the afternoon and after that stopped by at a café close to my apartment.

Tea

Which included my dad’s first foray into vegan cheesecake and rice milk tasting. I was a bit unsure knowing that both of these can be a little aquired in taste if you’re not used to them but: win! The cheesecake was really good and my dad apparently didn’t mind the non-dairy milk, either. No picture of the cake as – opposed to when my mum’s around  – I’m not comfortable taking pictures of food in front of my dad.

Though I feel bad admitting it I won’t lie here. I’m a fan of keeping it real. Being honest. Not sugarcoating. To me, bloggers sharing both the good and bad parts of their life are a lot more relatable and provide a reason for me to keep reading. Long story short: My dad and I have a complicated relationship. Just like the title of this post implies we go through ups and downs. So to be honest we didn’t have a nice chat while at the café but a rather wearisome conversation about my applications, possible jobs, further studies … Not exactly what I’d hoped for.
The upside was our plan for the day – visiting a reading – turning out to be interesting. But afterwards we shortly talked about my move again. And – not going into the nitty gritty details as not to bore you too much but: it looks like regular blogging will become difficult [if not impossible] while living at my parents’.  It’s hard to imagine for me right now but I hope you’ll excuse a lack of commenting, posts and still keep reading.

Despite this I’m not meaning to say my dad was or portray him as a mean person. Simply because it’s not true. His reasoning for this [not blogging only] internet ban is work-related and – as mentioned above – explaining it might bore you and I wouldn’t want to do that :).

Nonetheless I’m trying not to grieve too much. There have been many times when my dad helped me growing up. Many good memories. Just that things have gotten tougher lately and living in the same place again will bring its downsides, too, and maybe more than just a few. It’s not easy to see the upside of possibly not blogging [regularly or at all?] right now as it has become such an integral part of my life. Since I can’t end the post on a negative note I’ll pretend it’ll teach me to be more efficient and work out a blogging schedule making the most of the rare occasions I’ll have. Fake it till you make believe it, right ;)?!

[It’s another one of those posts I’m hesitant about publishing hoping it’s not too personal! The main reason I’m sharing this is because of its future impact on my blog – not to rant about my family because I don’t intend to ever do that.]

Happiness inducing today: My early run – surprising for a non-morning person like me.

What was marvelous about your weekend or the last week in general?

Do you have any dentist horror stories to share ;)? Maybe I shouldn’t ask seeing as I have to go back today but it could help to know I’m not alone …

16 thoughts on “Recounting a week of ups and downs

  1. janettefox says:

    My weekend was bittersweet. My aunt passed away and it was her burial last Saturday. However, I got to see my cousins I haven’t seen in years. And with the dentist horror stories, hmmmm, well, it was painful enough to get a root canal, but it pained me even more to have to go to the dentist several times a week, for weeks on end! Haha

  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Your parents sound a lot like mine. Will discuss in more detail in the letter I am working on! Yes, I’m still working on it. Truth be told I’ve had ZERO free time lately so I have a ways to go but that’s because you keep posting about things I want to talk about!

    I went to the dentist last week but I’ll be honest I had a minor panic attack beforehand. I hate it there, but luckily no cavities!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      See, I told you it was the same for me when writing your letter: every of your posts brought up even more topics to chat about. Take your time – you have my ‘new’ address, too, so no need to hurry.
      Yay for no cavities!

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Oh girl, I feel you on the dentist stuff. I am just going through a ‘Wurzelbehandlung’ and I was almost dead of pain and panic. It’s the WORST!!! Still 2 more appointments to go, so – think of me when you go and I do the same!!
    Regarding your Dad – he sounds a lot like mine, though I have no idea how mine woudl be today, as he passed away a few years ago. Still, I know a LOT about father-daughter-relationships and how difficult they can be – so feel free throw me an email whenever you want/need to!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Aw, bummer. Root canal treatment for me, too. Fingers crossed your future appointments will go well!
      Thanks for offering to listen to my rambles <3! With my move coming up I might just get back to your offer sooner than you'd guess :).

  4. Sue says:

    There are times in our lives when we need to shift our priorities. Last summer I took a long blogging break, because I needed more time to get some projects done and to take care of my family. In my opinion, family always comes first. But I’m so happy that I now have the time to blog again. So even if you need to take a break from blogging, you can return whenever you feel like it. 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Sue! It’s less about me needing or wanting to take a break but likely being forced to reduce my post frequency due to very limited internet access, though. Still, I appreciate your kind words.

  5. Flake And Cake says:

    Ah sorry to hear you’re not a fan of the dentist, hope those two visits sort your teeth out for a while so you don’t have to go back for ages! Those buttons look pretty tasty 🙂
    So funny about your dad being a fan of vegan goodies 🙂
    I don’t have the easiest relationship with my Dad either, it is hard to explain.
    Blogging wise, I hope you do manage to keep posting because you’re good at it. It showcases your English, photography and writing skills – my best advice was ‘read, read, read write, write, write’ and blogging definitely counts!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m not sure if dad actually was a fan of the vegan food or just trying to be polite. Kudos to him in anyway :). Now if only he was more appreciating of the vegan dishes I prepare …
      Thank you for your compliments and advice, Claire! In fact, I’ve seen blogging as a way of practicing my writing skills, too. A very enjoyable way that helps me improve myself along the way while having fun, sharing my thoughts and making friends.

Leave a Reply

