WIAW: The Use-up and Mug Cake Edition

Happy Wednesday!

The title says it all: I actually managed to make a dent into my huge vegetable stash. And – if I dare say so myself – in a not even too boring way. Yes, I was somehow expecting a lot of monotony seeing as I tried to limit if not stop my produce-buying habits and only work with what was on hand. Oh, and about that cake? Well, why not stop the introduction part and jump right into the food? Deal? Deal! Thanks to Jenn for hosting our weekly What I ate Wednesday celebration of all kinds of delicious food – and reminding us to work on our good habits for bountiful gift giving on Christmas Eve. Ssssh, not like I was following any such plans ;).

wiaw fall into good habits buttonOne last dentist blame after Monday’s rant: My lack of chewing ability has to stand in as an excuse for lack of cooking inspiration this past week . Anything not blended was out of imagination from Wednesday evening to Friday afternoon. Fun times. Only not. So I kept meals very simple like this Cauliflower Kabocha Soup. Starting the post out with one of the few good though quickly [because in state of hangryness] taken picture.

Cauliflower Pumpkin Soup

Remember how I asked you for help on how to use my overabundance cauliflower but explicitely factoring out anything roasted? Well, I felt an indefinite inkling when typing it alreadyΒ  and what can I say: I ate my words. Every delicious bit of them. You might have already guessed if you’ve seen my food prep picture in Monday’s post.

Food prep

On Sunday, I roasted up cauliflower, zucchini and chickpeas as well as one of the [also abundant] bell peppers I had on hand. Funny fact about the peppers: I’m lured into buying them almost every time I see them on sale only to be reminded I actually don’t really like them. Okay, to be fair: Unlike some other vegetables I don’t fully despise them. But I don’t enjoy bell peppers raw at all and would pass them up in a stir-fry, too. Roasted, however? Yes, please! With no actual plan in mind on how to turn these into a dish I just started working in the kitchen. Carrots turned into a delicious creamy puree that I topped with the roasted vegetables and an easy roasted red pepper sauce. Just because casseroles are my favourite dishes that’s what I ended up with. Don’t let the pictures fool you: yes it’s good and yes you want to try it :). Recipe to come right in time for Kierston’s Recipe Friday.

Roasted Vegetable Casserole

When Amanda mentioned mug cakes multiple times last week I noticed I hadn’t shown any of them for a while anymore myself. Though they’re still an almost daily happening over here. But to mix things up a little I decided to venture from my stand-by peanut chocolate version to a more seasonal treat: Gingerbread Chocolate Mug Cake.

Gingerbread Chocolate Mug

I’m ambivalent about sharing the recipe for this. Not to say it wasn’t truly delicious but it’s just not perfect. It doesn’t rise evenly or a lot at all and isn’t pretty. Yet I’m fine with taste alone and therefore won’t alter the recipe anymore – call me lazy, I call it favouring taste over appearance. And yes, it is delicious.

Gingerbread Mug Cake

Nothing like ending a post on a sweet note and I may or may not need to bake microwave another one of these as WIAW reading fuel. Because you’d better not click through the endless temptation over at Jenn’s on an empty stomach :).

Happiness inducing today: My sister and I lending each other a hand in a respective project on either side. Class work for her, applications for me.

Are there any foods you only like when prepared a certain way?

What are some of your favourite high-volume non-sandwich [I knoow but I’m really not a fan] office lunches? I’ll be joining the working forces again on Monday – woot, woot!

Mug cake recipe: Share despite imperfection in looks or not? I’m such a perfectionist about appearance though it tastes good already.

wiaw fall into good habits buttonYay me for keeping up with my promise of using up the produce on hand and not even in the most boring way if I dare say so myself.

22 thoughts on “WIAW: The Use-up and Mug Cake Edition

  1. Emily says:

    Roasted veggies are my favorite! I’m planning to roast up brussels, zucchini, and carrots tonight with a baked sweet potato and tempeh. In other words, I’ll let my oven do all the work for me. (:
    I’m super impressed with the dent you made on your stash! I’m trying to be better about not buying more food until I use up what I have.

    Oooh…and I can’t wait for you to perfect that mug-cake recipe! Yum!

  2. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. says:

    I struggle with the same thing: to post or not to post a hideous mess that is amazingly delish. I, like you, usually go with the latter. Taste is the most important thing!

    As for non-sandwich lunches, I love microwave baked sweet potatoes with greek yogurt. So yummy and so filling! Let me know if want directions on baking. A sweet potato in the microwave πŸ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m glad we’re on the same page about that. Nothing like a good old ugly-looking but delicious dish ;).
      Well, I have yet to actually bake a potato properly in the microwave so I’d gladly hear your directions!

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I totally get you on the unphotogenic food…but sometimes (like say in the name of CHOCOLATE GINGERBREAD?!), flavor must be put above looks! You know what they say, it’s the inside that counts! πŸ˜€

    I still can’t believe you’re not a sandwich fan…and that I haven’t at least convinced you over the last few months of their greatness! Hmphfttt! More for me I guess! I’ll also take all of your peppers…cooked OR raw! I’ve been snacking on mini peppers all week and loving them!

    I’d definitely recommend some casseroles and soups that you can make a big batch of and then eat on during the week and I’m also a big fan of snack-plate style lunches (crackers, chips, dip, veggies, and

  4. jessielovestorun says:

    Chocolate gingerbread mug cakes sounds fabulous. However the real star of this post would have to be the fore mentioned carrot puree for your vegetables. YUM! Really looking forward to this recipe.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Personally I’d say the mug cake still wins because, well, it’s sweet ;). But I’m glad you like the idea of the casserole, too, and I hope to find time to post it tomorrow. Moving/packing is stressful … waah.

  5. jeri says:

    Sorry I missed your shout out for cauliflower advice. Whenever there is a good deal on cauliflower (it’s usually really expensive in NYC) I buy as much as I can carry, cut into florets and have a huge blanching session. Then I spread it out on cookie sheets and freeze. Once it’s frozen, you can store in freezer bags and it won’t be all stuck together, so you can just grab as much as you need. This works for lots of veggies and fruits and saves a ton of money.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Interesting to know cauliflower’s expensive for you over there, too. It usually comes with a surprisingly hefty price tag around here hence why I stock up [too much, ahem] when it’s on offer.
      Thanks for the freezing tip. Sadly, my fridge has a shoe box-sized freezer department that I wouldn’t even be able to fit a cookie sheet in for the initial freezing.

Leave a Reply

