Chocolate Gingerbread Mug Cake

Hi everybody! Did you have a good weekend and – most importantly – stay warm? Moving to the countryside for me also meant moving to an even colder climate [sorry but it’s true]. I guess you can’t [always] have a beautiful surrounding and warm temperatures but that’s okay – for now [ask me again once it gets really cold ;)]. Bringing on the marvelous again for a great start into the week with our lovely host Katie.

MiMM_new

Our Sunday included a family walk that – unlike that previous one – was cut short because in the end even my dad [ha!] had to admit the wind was damn cold. Hence why I’m sorry to admit I didn’t take too many pictures because I was more concered with braving the wind and debating the right choice of topic for such a cold weather walk with my dad. Kidding. We weren’t talking just about that, but yes, I had to make it a point that the wind feels even colder if you keep saying it does. Don’t you agree?! [Yes, you do, in case you were seriously pondering ;).]

Mug

What could be more marvelous than returning to your place after a walk in the cold and enjoying a cup of tea and a piece of cake. Though … a piece of cake? How about a mug of cake? Waste not want not it’s a great single-serving way to have your cake and eat it, too. I figure I could have offered some to my parents yesterday, too. When my father was rummaging the pantry when he no

Gingerbread Chocolate Mug

You’ll notice that it’s a small serving size and that’s because a) I like to make small batches of anything when trying it for the first time and b) I never eat just a mug cake as a snack. Always topped with almond butter and a side of whatever else I feel like [fruit, chocolate, …].

Chocolate Gingerbread Mug Cake

  • 1/4 scoop (5 g) vanilla protein powder*
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp granulated sweetener (I used a German brand of vanilla stevia that comes in sticks equal to 1 tsp of sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp of Gingerbread spice [Germans: I higly recommend this one!]
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsps of applesauce
  • 5 tbsps of non-dairy milk
  1. Mix dry ingredients in a mug.
  2. Add in applesauce and water. Stir to form a batter. It shouldn’t be too ‘dry’ but neither runny. Using SunWarrior protein powder I’ve found five to six tablespoons of milk to work best.
  3. Microwave on high for 1.5 minutes.
  4. Enjoy!

Notes:

* I know 1/4 scoop is a tiny measurement but I’ve found I don’t tolerate larger amounts of protein powder well. You could always play around with the rations in the recipe but I like to go the save-for-me route.

Rumor has it that chocolate chips are a great addition to this. Not like I knew from experience …

Spoonful mug cake

Now go and bake microwave yourself a cake to celebrate … Monday?! Or yourself because you’re worth it no matter which day.

Happy Monday!

 

What is your favourite mug cake recipe? Please share it in the comments – I’m all up for trying new creations!

Favourite way to stay warm on cold days?

24 thoughts on “Chocolate Gingerbread Mug Cake

  1. Sue says:

    This mug cake looks so good! I’m sure it tastes great with that gingerbread spice. Sadly, I’ve run out of protein powder, could I use flour instead?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m admittedly no expert in mug cake baking so I’m not sure in this case. However, despite its small amount I feel the protein powder adds to the texture and determines the amount of liquid needed so I wouldn’t sub it. If you do, though, let me know :). It’s always worth trying.

  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    My newly discovered talent for late night mug cakes has kind of turned into a hobby haha. Going to have to try this one out!

    P.s. Sorry I’ve been MIA. I owe you a letter and an email! Life is kind of crazy and amidst everything I decided to redo the blog so that’s been a serious source of anxiety but things are okay now. Time to see what else you’ve been up to lately!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Mug cake baking as a hobby?! Doesn’t sound half bad to me :D.
      Hey, it’s okay, Take your time with the letter and don’t let it become another stressor in your busy life. I’m looking forward to it whichever day it arrives. And congrats on the blog redesign!

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    LOVE the combo of ginger and chocolate! I’ve definitely got to try this! Since making Amanda’s recipe last week, I’ve kinda been on a bit of a mug cake kick! Hmm, that has a little ring to it, doesn’t it? šŸ˜‰ I may be a little biased, but so far, I’ve not tried a recipe better than my peanut butter pumpkin cake (http://www.kissmybroccoliblog.com/2012/09/25/what-ive-been-craving-wednesday/)…the consistency is perfect! And while I know you don’t have access to pumpkin, you can always use any sort of pureed squash! Even works with spaghetti squash (http://www.kissmybroccoliblog.com/2013/05/03/ah-cook-it/)! šŸ˜€

    Favorite way to stay warm? Wrapped up in an electric blanket with a mug of tea the size of my face!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Biased or not your peanut butter pumpkin cake looks aaaawesome. Any egg substituion ideas for that one, too? Seriously, one day I’ll convince you to go egg-free with all of your [or at least the baking] recipes just so I can actually ponder trying them :D. Thinking of what you said in your letter here …

      • Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

        Well thank you, lovely! šŸ˜€ Hmm, microwave cakes can be really tricky…I’ve had more fails than I care to admit, but now you’ve got me a little curious. The egg is the main ingredient that helps it puff up, but I wonder what sort of combination I could come up with for an egg-free version? I’ll put my thinking cap on and get back to ya on that one! Just don’t let me forget! (read: harass me in our letters if you must!) Lol

  4. swissfitchick says:

    I LOVE mugcakes!! Something about them is so comforting. I need to make one tonight.
    I love to add pumpkin and quark to the mixture. And a ton of cinnamon. Cause, cinnamon makes everything better, right?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes! Cinnamon addicts anonymus ;). Which reminds me I need to get some again because I’m somehow cinnamon-less after my move – and we know that’s not a good condition in the long run.

  5. Flake And Cake says:

    I do agree, as soon as you mention the cold it becomes more obvious!
    I’ve never tried a mug cake as we don’t have a microwave! Yours looks particularly yummy and festive though šŸ™‚

  6. Emily says:

    Ahhh YAY! I’m so excited to try this. Gingerbread flavors are my favorite during the winter (my obsession with Starbuck’s gingerbread latte makes that very clear) so I’m sure I’d love this! I don’t have any applesauce right now so I might try a variation with greek yogurt or a banana! I’ll let you know how it turns out (:

  7. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. says:

    Yum! I know what I’m having for my mid-day snack! I may go crazy and add a little PB2 drizzle on top too šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

