Cobbled times two [Tomato Cobbler with Rosemary Biscuits]

Delayed by a week as I said I’d publish this recipe last Friday already – but lack of internet access and not scheduling it advance got in between. Trying to not let it become a full week I decided to actually post it on Thursday already. Once more I’ll be linking up with both Kierston’s Recipe Friday and Laura’s Strange but good shenanigans. Any guesses on the strangeness already?

Why not do things differently once in a while? Usually, I try a recipe, call it a creation if it turns out successful, then post a picture for What I ate Wednesday and … let it rest. Needless to say there are times when I find it a little hard to remember every ingredient used and every step included. So why not write this post right after I ate a great creation of my own?! Okay, not right after as I had it for lunch and now that I’m sitting down to write it dinner time has passed. But you know what I mean …

Tom. Cobbler

Anyway, this dish was still part of my use-up challenge and in fact the best recipe [subjective judgement but it’s my blog so I’m allowed to break journalistic rules every now and then] I came up with while making a dent into my produce stash. Shameful to admit but when taking stock of what I had on hand I somehow overlooked a clamshell of cherry tomatoes. By the time I noticed they were on their last legs begging to be used – and I happily obliged. Coincidentially, I’d come across a delightful looking yet not vegan dish calling for cherry tomatoes just a few days earlier. A dish I couldn’t get out of my mind again: tomato cobbler topped with cheese biscuits.

Cobbler

Are you wondering about the title of this post? Simple as this: the dish itself is a cobbler which is something I’d never had before so I cobbled together a recipe of my own. Loosely based on the pictures I’d looked at but deviating from the recipes because I was too indecisive in which one to follow so I didn’t read any of them. Typical.

Tomato Cobbler

The biscuits are were it gets strange but good. Instead of your average shortening-laden biscuits I used a trick I once read somewhere and subbed some banana. Trust me: if you follow my notes you’ll be surprised at how well it works. Truth, these are nowhere near as fluffy as other biscuits. But they do add that satisfying carb-y element no dish is complete without  – or maybe that’s just me …

Tomato Cobbler with Cheesy Rosemary Biscuits

  • 1 clamshell [250 g] cherry tomatoes
  • 1 medium red onion, sliced into rings
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tbsps balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • salt, pepper
  • fresh basil

For the biscuits

  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal, ground into flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tbsp peanut flour or sub with more oat flour
  • 1/2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • salt, pepper
  • 1 ounce of banana – unripe [see notes]
  1. Sauté the onion until caramlized. Add in garlic and cook for two more minutes.
  2. Add in the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar, stirring to coat. Let cook on medium-high heat for a few minutes. Watch the pot as not to burn and stir frequently, adding in water or vegetable broth if ingredients are starting to stick to the pan.
  3. Mix in as much freshly chopped basil as you like. I prefer a heavy hand on fresh herbs so add a lot.
  4. Add chickpeas.
  5. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  6. While the vegetables are cooking, prepare your biscuits.
  7. Mix all dry ingredients. Mash in the banana with a fork to form a dough.
  8. Divide the dough into four equal pieces, roll into balls and flatten a little.
  9. Transfer the vegetables to a casserole dish and bake in the preheated oven at 350 °F for about 15 minutes.
  10. Place the biscuits on top of the tomatoes and bake for another 15 minutes.
cobbled

Notes:

The banana should ideally be unripe and have as little sweetness as possible. That’s because you’ll want to avoid a distinctive banana flavour in this savoury recipe. Sub for cold coconut oil for a richer taste.

Happy Thursday or – if you’re reading this later – happy [add in day that you’re reading it on]!

Happiness inducing today: Lots of great tunes on the radio while I was driving.

 

What was the last dish you cobbled together?

Tell me the strangest or most unusual way you used bananas before!  Keep it clean, people – we’re talking recipes only😀.

Have you ever had a savoury cobbler before?

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Merken

14 thoughts on “Cobbled times two [Tomato Cobbler with Rosemary Biscuits]

  1. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    And the savory banana strikes again!! You amaze me to now end, girlie!! I don’t think it’s strange at all, but I’ve gotten some comments on my use of bananas in sweet omelets in the past…eh, they just don’t know what they’re missin!

    I’ve never had a savory cobbler before, but I would most definitely make a tomato one my first!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It amazes me how I’m getting looks by others even for some really ‘normal’ foods and meals. I mean, cauliflower curry out of a tupper for lunch is normal, right? As is kabocha for breakfast, by the way😉.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hard to believe I actually used to [think I] despise[d] balsamic vinegar until not just a bit more than a year ago. It adds such a lot to dishes especially if tomatoes are involved.

  2. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    Wow. First, let me say, I LOVE the looks of this recipe, and the ingredients for the biscuits are highly intriguing–peanut flour, nooch, coconut flour, AND banana?!?!?! I have been craving these olive oil rosemary cookies I made a bunch a year or so ago, and maybe this will be another way to get my rosemary ‘fix.’ Secondly, I love reading your tangential thoughts as they are SO like mine.🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      My inner kitchen rebel keeps me from going the ‘normal’ way just using what standard recipes call for. Plain old flour for biscuits? Boring. I just grabbed whatever sounded good and got mixing – luckily it turned out.
      About those tangential thoughts? Well, once I sit down to write my posts I start with a random thought and just letting it flow keeping my fingers crossed others will be able to follow along🙂.

Leave a Reply

