Good good links #16

Hi there!

I don’t know about you to me the weeks leading up to Christmas – or the ‘Adventszeit’ [advent] – is all about family and traditions. Baking cookies using recipes handed down from generation to generation. Decorating the house with ornaments that have been around in your childhood already. Reading your favourite Christmas books though you basically know them by heart already. But really: does any of this ever get old? Traditions give us some safety, feel cozy and heighten the anticipation for the ‘big day’. So long story short: I’m hoping to have a little of all of these happen today because I urgently need to really get into the Christmas spirit.

Christmas Collage

… and maybe looking at pictures from last year’s celebration will help, too?! Anyway, here’s to the non-seasonal tradition of sharing some of my favourite reads from the week. Note that I’m using from the week loosely here because not all of these appeared just this week but it’s when I found them. That being said: enjoy and as always share your favourite posts in the comments!

Happy Sunday!

Good good [food for thought]

The Problem With “Real Women Have Curves” [What makes a woman real?] via The Great Fitness Experiment

Reassessing society’s definition of ‘real women’.  “By labeling some “not real” we risk marginalizing all of us and losing the ability to see the real beauty of women.”

You aren’t who you think you are via Jessie loves to Run

It’s sad to see how differently we perceive ourselves from the way others do. A must-watch!

I Questioned This Post via Olive To Run

Blogs never show the whole story which leads some commenters to make untrue assumptions about your life. “People who genuinely care ask, they don’t push.”

Good good [advice and inspiration]

Life lessons with Bailey via Food Pleasure Health

What raising a puppy can teach you. Yes, I’m  a smidgen biased because I’m fond of Bailey – but you have to admit she’s too darn cute.

5 Pieces of Evidence that People are Awesome via Goodnet

There’s more kindness in the world than we might think – and it’s addictive.

Why Letter Writing Still Matters in an Age of Digital Communication via Greatist

A love letter to writing letters. Read – and then grab pen and paper to let somebody know you care about them.

15 Things You Should Stop Being Afraid of Right Now via Lifehack

Time to let go of fears to live life to the fullest.

Good good [things to make you smile]

Why Lizzie And Gordo Were The Most Perfect Couple That Never Actually Existed via BuzzFeed

Any other [former] Lizzie McGuire fans out there?

The Ten Most Bizarre Photos Still Living on My iPhone via Snack Therapy

Because we all have those hidden gems on our phones.

Which ‘Love, Actually’ Character Are You? via BuzzFeed

So: which one are you????

Good good [food]

Black Bean Fudge via Peachy Palate

Who knew black beans weren’t just good in brownies but fudge, too?

Brownie Mix in A Jar via Vegan Richa

A gift so good you want to keep it to yourself.

40 Things You Didn’t Know You Could Make in a Microwave via Greatist

And here’s to why I consider microwaves a kitchen essential. Vegetable chips are next on my list of snacks to try.

Moroccan-Spiced Quinoa with Roasted Broccoli and Chickpeas via Cooking Quinoa

Including chickpeas and many of my favourite spices this sounds like a winner.

Happiness inducing today: My dad getting me the box of Christmas decorations from the attic. It’s high time to start spreading the Christmas cheer around the house!

What are some of your favourite Christmas traditions?

Do you have any plans for today?

 

7 thoughts on “Good good links #16

  1. Flake And Cake says:

    I think Christmas in Germany is always so magical, the country seems to be made for it! We have German Christmas Markets here in the Uk but of course they are nothing like the real thing!
    Thanks for the links, can’t wait to check them out!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’d be curious to know what German Christmas markets are like over there for you. Did you post any pictures on your blog? Just to make you feel a little better: Being in the countryside I won’t visit any Christmas markets this year, either, as the ‘real’ ones are only found in cities. Time to get cookie baking to still get into the Christmas mood 🙂 .

  2. swissfitchick says:

    I love Adventszeit too!! It just feels so cosy, warm and full of joy even though it’s freezing outside. I just put up my decor last Friday and slowly the christmas spirit kicks in.
    Girl, would you mind to send me your address again? I finally got a reply for you!! 🙂

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Awww, I’m Natalie! I’ve been meaning to sit down and watch Love, Actually AND The Holiday for weeks now…I might just have to carve out some time this weekend to do it since they’re both on Netflix right now! Love love LOVE Lizzie McGuire…seriously how cute was little Hilary Duff?! Oh man, now you’ve got me wanting to search the web for old episodes! Lol

Leave a Reply

