It’s beginning to look [and scent] a lot like Christmas

Only 15 more days until Christmas!!! Can anybody else relate to the rushed feeling I get when reminding myself I have gotten exactly zero presents for my family so far?!

Talking about traditions yesterday already my parents and I went for another one of our family’s on Saturday night. It’s been some kind of a ‘must’ for my family to visit a local theatre group’s Christmas play every year since I was a child. Though not necessarily Christmas-themed all of the time seeing their performances is a necessity for us. Admittedly, we weren’t too impressed with this year’s story but it was still nice to spend time as a family and meet friends. For more family marvelousness don’t forget to stop by our awesome host Katie’s for pictures of her sister’s beautiful wedding!

MiMM_new

If you noticed my happiness inducing note yesterday my dad helped me get the box of Christmas decorations from the attic. Not just because it’s huge and heavy but also because – despite being a ‘big girl’ now – I still don’t like rumbling through the dark and dusty top flour of our house myself. Maybe because I’m still scared of my brother’s stories of rats living up there? Thanks for nothing ;).

Pettersson und Findus

And that would be my second Advent calendar – two are always better than one and this one’s been in my family for ages. We got it when me and my siblings were a lot younger and have been reusing it ever since. Petterson and Findus are a classic for us and we’ve been enjoying to [re]disover the hidden surprises every year anew. Actually, I like this one even better than my chocolate calendar because it holds a plethora of memories for me.

AdventYes to not fighting over who’s allowed to open the doors on which day! All mine this year.

Something else that I’d been planning to do for weeks already yet never felt like when coming home from work was cookie baking. Turning up the Christmas tunes and getting my hands covered in flour and frosting? Heavenly.

One kind of cookies my family – especially my dad – insists on having every year are my paternal grandma’s Kakaoplätzchen. The name would directly translate to ‘cocoa cookies’ but that hardly describes how special they are. While she still could my grandma would bake a huge batch mailing us a box of these – among many other homemade cookies – every year.

Grandma's recipe

During the past few years, though, it has become our job to create these using the secret family recipe passed down from my grandma to my mum. These have several steps and take some time to prepare. While I’m not a fan of rolling out dough and cutting cookies my mum isn’t too keen on filling and frosting. Hence why we turned these cookies into teamwork. And I somehow feel I got the better deal,  don’t you agree?

frosting

Cookies baking in the oven filling the whole kitchen with the scent of Christmas make even cleaning up the mess left behind more enjoyable. Learn from my [unavoidable] mistake and don’t try to assemble sandwich cookies with your dad in the same room. Lesson learned: you’ll end up with an uneven number of cookies due to a certain someone not being too impatient to wait until for the finished cookies. Note that I said unavoidable because a) my parents’ kitchen and living room merge into one another and my dad was working in the living room randomly grabbing cookies to snack on. Confession: It’s a reoccuring happening that’s almost a Christmas time tradition in itself ;).

Kakaoplätzchen

These cookies aren’t vegan and while I’m not one to call defeat early I honestly think veganizing them wouldn’t work a charm. Knowing how much these cookies mean to my dad I know he wouldn’t be content with a version that doesn’t quite live up the original. I’m aware some vegans wouldn’t prepare non-vegan foods for others. But this is where I see things differently and value seeing my family happy more than adhering to my own food preferences. Even if my dad feels compelled to discuss my reasons for eschewing eggs – still love him :).

Did I mention the first snow of the season gracing Germany?

first snow

Whether snowy or not, filled with Christmas music, cookie baking or whichever other activities: I hope you had a great weekend.

Happy Monday!

Happiness inducing today: Rediscovering our old Advent calendar.

Which Christmas-y activities made your weekend marvelous?

Does your family have any special traditions related to the holidays?

Did you purchase or make any Christmas gifts so far or are you a last-minute person, too? A bad habit I find incredibly hard to break though I’m not a fan of the added stress.

22 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look [and scent] a lot like Christmas

  1. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. says:

    I have a bad habit of waiting till the last minute to get gifts. I at least have some in mind though. I’ve been begging my dad to eat healthy for years now and he finally said this Christmas when I come home he wants me to teach him how to make my protein shakes. I’m so excited he’s finally taking an interest in nutrition and I am getting him a magic bullet to make his shakes in…soon 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Homemade gifts have been on my list of things to try for quite some time. However, I’m not sure how appreciative my family would be so might put the idea off once more. What exactly are you making or have you made in the past?

  2. jessielovestorun says:

    So wonderful how close you and your family are. Those cookies look delicious – and by the shape, I wouldn’t want to do the cookie cutting either Ha Ha!

    It’s not much of a tradition since many families do it, but we always open one gift on Christmas Eve.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good call on you mentioning your tradition. Over here, we actually open all presents on Christmas Eve as it’s our main celebration. Sweet you’ve partly adopted that in your family, too. Or at least are allowed to open one present on 24th already.
      Happy Monday!

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Such a nice christmas post! I can literally smell the christmas scents and feel the cosy atmosphere in your house.
    I love Petterson and Findus, so cute!!
    The man and me went to shoot christmas lights yesterday night. I love that, the lights everywhere are so beautiful!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Christmas time isn’t complete for me without Pettersson and Findus. In addition to the calendar we also have the book Morgen, Findus, wird’s was geben and I can’t wait to start reading it again.
      Looking at the Christmas lights is another great way to get into the spirit – awesome idea and I’m sure you and Sandro had a wonderful time!

  4. Sue says:

    Not sure if I’ll bake any cookies this year. My mother sent me a big box of her homemade cookies two weeks ago, and we already finished them. That was enough sugar, actually.
    Saturday we went to our village’s tiny Christmas market, had some roasted chestnuts (Maroni) and Glühwein, and bought a few presents. So about half of our Christmas shopping is done. Now onto the other half …

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Even if my grandma had mailed cookies I wouldn’t have missed out on baking several batches myself – I just enjoy it too much :). Luckily, we’re pretty good and eating all of them, too.
      Half of the shopping done already? I’m impressed.
      Chestnuts may actually beat cookies for me in terms of favourite seasonal foods. We don’t have any proper Christmas markets around here so I have yet to get my ‘fix’ this year.

  5. Emily says:

    I’ve never seen an advent calendar like that! I love it. So unique.
    And those cookies sound phenomenal. I’m glad you didn’t try to veganize them actually. Sometimes it’s just better to stick with the tried-and-true recipe. (:

  6. Ashley says:

    Your advent calendar is so unique! I’ve actually never had a chocolate advent calendar, my family’s always had ones with little ornaments for each day, which I love even more because I still feel the anticipation and excitement over opening each one.

    I still haven’t bought any presents either, but it also snowed here last week, so that’s been making it feel more like Christmas. I generally don’t like snow, but it’s nice around Christmas and we almost never get any on the actual day, so I’ll take it when I can!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Whew, I’m glad I’m not the only one still without any presents for others. I do have an idea for my mum already, though, and it looks like my dad [hard to buy for!] was thinking of something he’d like to get, too.
      Snow immediately evokes a Christmas-y feeling for me, too. The little bit we got melted away at the beginning of the week already, though.

  7. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I THINK I have most of my XMAS gifts taken care of… But I do have a few ODDS and ENDS – aka, gifts for my friends!!!!!! I need to get those by next Wednesday LATEST because then I will be going home for 3 weeks! GAH! I don’t make gifts though, however, I am very creative with what I buy and I only get people things they NEEEDDD!!! I hate the stupid gift that you look at thinking, UHHHHHH okay, well thanks, and put on a fake smile and put it aside like it never happened. LOL!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oooh yes, I hear you on those gifts. Do I need to mention how much I ‘liked’ the chintzy crochet scarves a certain relative bestowed my mum, sister and me with several years ago. To top it off she was generous enough to mail a huge package filled with them. My mum did a good job at, err, getting rid of them …

Leave a Reply

