Good good links #18

With a mere two days left until Christmas it’s time for a confession. Yes, I’ve been talking about the holidays and the beauty of the season quite a bit over the past weeks. But it was only yesterday that I truly felt the Christmas spirit. That I was actually touched deep within. Music. It’s always music playing a key role in how I feel. Tonight [writing this on Saturday] it was a concert by a locally well-known duo playing a mix of both popular songs and some of their own. Especially the latter found their way straight to my heart warming it, making me forget all of my worries for a few hours and brought a lasting smile to my face. It was one of the most amazing evenings in a while and definitely filled me with Christmas cheer.

Christmas 2012 1

But enough of that. Here’s what filled my mind with thoughts, my heart with laughter and got my stomach grumbling. Let me know your favourites from the week, too!

Happy Sunday/4th of Advent!

 

Good good [food for thought]

Intuitive eating – A blessing or a curse? via Olives ‘n’ Wine

There’s too much to say about it [expect a post giving my view soon!] that for now I’ll just say: a must read.

When Your Mother Says She’s Fat by Kasey Edwards

Never underestimate the way your self-perception can influence those around you: “We need to be the best role models we can.”

Photoshop Parody Ads By Anna Hill Show Just How Deceptive Altered Images Can Be via Huffington Post

“No one will ever know – as long as you don’t let anyone see you in person again.” – another Photoshop eye-opener.

Good good [advice and inspiration]

If you’re worried about your family driving you nuts. via Sarah Jenks

As much as we love them it’s normal to be a little stressed out by your folks at times. Here’s how to ensure a [mostly] stress-free holiday.

11 Life Lessons from Albert Einstein via Lifehack

Living in the present, using our imagination and showing appreciation for others help us lead a happy life.

Claire Koch’s Parents Couldn’t Hear Her Kindergarten Concert. So She Performed It In Sign Language. via Huffington Post

One of the cutest and most amazing five-year-olds to date.

20 Things No One Tells You About Exercise via Huffington Post

Great solutions and tips for unpleasant exercise side effects. Who knew tea bags could help with smelly shoes?

Good good [things to make you smile]

The 23 Most Unforgivable Spelling Mistakes Of 2013 via BuzzFeed

Painfully hilarious for any fellow grammar fiend. ‘Not a fence’  but there’s no way to ‘sugar code’ the truth …

More Proof That the “Thigh-Gap Trend” Is Ridiculous via Women’s Health Mag

A thigh gap in an instant – try to beat those tips, women’s magazines ;).

51 Times In 2013 Jennifer Lawrence Proved She Was Master Of The Universe via BuzzFeed

Because I know how many of you have a girl crush on her and I’d happily help you fuel it.

5 Happy Things: Happy Snowpeople Edition via Greatist

Not all snowpeople [wow for the gender equality, Greatist] are alike – take a look at these special winter buddies.

17 Hilariously Tragic Holiday Baking Fails via BuzzFeed

Doesn’t that make you feel better about any kitchen mishaps already?

Good good [food]

Peanut Better Balls via Oh She Glows

These are calling my name. And really: peanut butter, coconut flour, maple syup … how could you go wrong with these ingredients?

Banana Sushi via Fit Foodie Finds

And bananas [in]officially win the prize for most versatile fruit. These look amazing.

S’Mores Almond Butter via edible perspective

No need to say anything as you already clicked on the link [right?].

Dark Chocolate Peppermint & Pretzel Bark via Build Your Bliss

Three ingredients, salty, sweet and quick: yes, please!

Vegan Christmas Cookies & Jar Gifts – 20 Recipes via Vegan Richa

A great round-up of Christmas recipes including some last-minute homemade gift ideas [like the brownie mix I linked to before].

Steel Cut Oat Mushroom Risotto via Peachy Palate

These take the term ‘savoury oats’ to a whole new level. I’m sold.

38 Clever Christmas Food Hacks That Will Make Your Life So Much Easier via BuzzFeed

Don’t ditch the empty cereal boxes and Pringles cans just yet [or discover a reason to start buying them again]! And #23 is for Heather – and all other pancake fiends.

48 Healtier Holiday Cookies via Greatist

Who says it’s [ever, actually] too late to get baking for the holidays?

 

Happiness inducing today: (aside from the above-mentioned concert) My first run in a while.

 

What were some of your favourite posts from the week?

Are you done with your Christmas shopping or plan on doing some last-minute purchases?

 

5 thoughts on “Good good links #18

  1. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I frickin’ LOVE YOU!!! Omg, I wonder if that actually works with the cookie cutters! Because I tried using a biscuit cutter to crack an egg into once to make it perfectly round for a sandwich and it leaked out of the bottom…hmm, maybe my cutters are too cheap! :-/ And I just have to say that I appreciate that the strawberry snowmen were included in that post after being on the kitchen fail post too (which had me dying, by the way…the man-friend came in from the next room because he thought I was crying! Lol).

    On a serious note, that photoshop pic…WOW! I mean, I know they can do crazy things, but geez, I never saw a side by side comparison that was so intense! 😯

    Oh and for the record, I am a firm believer in using music to elevate mood…especially Christmas music! I can never be Bah Humbuggy when “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” comes on! 😀

Leave a Reply

