Thinking out loud #3

Merry Christmas once more! I think it’s still apt to say on second Christmas day, right?

We just returned from my grandparents’ place hence why I had part of this post pre-written before we left in case you’re wondering about the mix of pre- and post-Christmas ponderings. Expect more detailed Christmas posts during the next days. Now here’s for some Thinking out loud thanks to Amanda!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Does anybody else fall into the ‘post-Christmas blues’ or – to say it less dramatical – feel like there should be at least a third or fourth day of celebration added? The anticipation of a whole month of festive atmosphere – and then all of it is over in the blink of an eye. It’s obviously the same every year but I just can’t get used to it. “Finish on a high note.” – I never liked that idea. Especially not when it meant leaving people I love too early again ๐Ÿ˜ฆ .

2. Just to rebel a little I won’t be taking down my decorations all that soon. It’s nice to show Santa some respect for all the hard work he’s done the past days for a bit longer, don’t you think ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย Christmas_decorat.

3. When unpacking some gifts that I’d ordered shortly before leaving for our relatives’ place I spotted this little guy. If there’s any better sign of way too warm weather on Christmas Eve I don’t know it.

Ladybug

4. Almost as worse as a gift that doesn’t arrive in time is noticing just shortly before the celebration that a well-meant one doesn’t fit. Case in point: After Amanda reminding me of the Smartphone gloves in one of her previous Thinking out loud posts I’d ordered a pair each for my dad and sister as gifts. Only to try one on after opening said box above and … well … above scenario happening. Fits perfectly for my dad – whew! – but obviously not for my sister or me with our smaller hands. One size fits all? Definitely not, dear manufacturer!

5. Talking about the weather I’ll risk getting the stank eye but I was actually glad it was neither cold nor snowy. That’d have turned my favourite part of our family get-togethers a little rough. Want to know my favourite part? Our traditional beach walk. A necessity for every family get-together at my grandparents and an awesome time for long conversations and just an overall fun time with the whole family. Pictures to come for some Monday marvelousness.

Christm. Elks

6. Searching for last-minute Christmas dessert ideas I somehow came across this gem. Can we just take a short moment to talk about how unreal #11 [Biscoff, Nutella, whipped cream] and #29 are? I think I need a snack …

7. It’s no secret that Love, actually is my favourite Christmas movie [or maybe even generally favourite romantic movie]. Hence why I was really surprised – dare I say: shocked – when my mum who’d picked it up at the rental store told me she had to request the employee at the latter to dig it out of the back room. Yes, they’d in fact semi-‘retired’ the movie saying it was a bit older already after all. Seriously? The same store that has age old worn out video [not DVD!] cases sitting on their shelves?!

8. I didn’t mention starting yet another sticker book as part of a supermarket’s campaign. Too late, though, as the offer ends at the end of the year but still. Not to play favourites but I may or may not like this one [a lot] better than the last. Just one word: Disney.

Stickers

9. My sister and her husband are staying at my parents until New Years’ Day so I’m hoping fore family game nights to come. And at least one movie night with me finally watching The Holiday – yes, I still haven’t gotten around to it.

10. Proof #129375940 that my grandma is the best …

Grandma's cookies

Happiness inducing today: Christmas, obviously. But also my grandma sending me home with both a generous serving of her Rotkohl (!!!) and a jar of her homemade cherry jam [so so good].

Tell me about your Christmas celebrations!

How long are you usually keeping up the decorations after the holidays?

18 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #3

  1. Christine says:

    Hope you had an amazing Christmas! I definitely am feeling the post-Christmas blues hahaha. That’s a great way to describe it! And ohhh man! Nothing beats baking by Grandma ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Nothing does, nothing ever will. I’m not even much of a cookie fan to begin with – more of a chocolate person – but these are too good to pass up.
      I hope your Christmas was nothing short of amazing, too!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Ohh the post-Christmas funk — I’m definitely feeling it. It’s actually how I opened my post today too ๐Ÿ˜† I’ve still got a family dinner to look forward to tonight, though, so that’s helpingโ€ฆ And then there’s New Year’s and my birthdayโ€ฆ so I guess it’s not all bad. But you better believe I’ll be rocking the decorations until at LEAST the middle of January.

    Merry Christmas once more ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Merry Christmas, Amanda!
      Our birthdays being in January definitely help brighten the time post-Christmas. If only those first few days afterwards weren’t so hard to get through …
      Now it’s a sealed deal: my decorations will stay in place until at least that time, too. Getting the approval of just one other person was enough already :D.

  3. swissfitchick says:

    The Holiday!! Love that movie! I’ve seen it at least 3 times so far and I’m thinking of watching it another time this weekend.
    The cookies of your grandma look perfect – hand some over please? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Merr Christmas!!
    PS. Thank you SO much for your email! Reply in progress ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Three times and counting? Well, I’d better rent that movie soon now :).
      I’d happily have mailed you some cookie but will you believe the whole large (!) Tupper box she sent home with us is already empty?
      Exciting news: looks like Berlin on January 18th should work out!

  4. Emily says:

    Aw, it sounds like you’ve had an amazing Christmas! I’m so glad.
    I’ve never heard of one-size-fits-all gloves. That just seems silly! Obviously our hand-sizes vary greatly! At least the gloves fit your dad.
    And I love that little ladybug! Definitely a sign of good luck to come (:

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The uni-size gloves seem semi-logical when distinguishing between men and women. But one for both genders?!
      I hadn’t thought of the ladybug in that way but now that you’re saying it: fingers crossed it was a lucky charm for the new year!

  5. Laura says:

    WordPress likes to delete my comments…. take two!

    I get so sad when Christmas is over! There is so much magic in the season leading up to the holiday that it seems unfair that it ends so quickly.
    And don’t even get me started on New Years. Everybody is celebrating the new year and I’m always trying to mask my mourning of the year that has past. Oyyy I’m such a drama queen.

    Merry (belated) Christmas though!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Not a drama queen at all there. We already agree on stretching out Christmas time over two months and New Year’s Eve seems to be another point we agree on. I’m not a fan of saying goodbye to another year that passed by too fast. Now who’s ranting here ๐Ÿ™‚ ?
      Merry belated Christmas to you, too! And not fair of WordPress to eat your comments.

  6. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Well, I didn’t decorate this year, but last year, I left my decorations up until FEBRUARY! Haha! And umm, can I have your grandmother? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Christmas was fantastic, but I agree, over entirely too quickly…especially since we had to cram all our celebrating in between noon (when I woke up) and 2pm (when dad had to go to work), but the important part was that we got to spend some time together at least! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sure, I’ll dial telling her she needs to hop on a plane to Tennessee for a major cookie baking session! Trust me, you’ll love her.
      Family time – however short – truly is what makes Christmas awesome. Glad you had a great one!

Leave a Reply

