Golden_angel

Christmas, actually

Talk about a late Christmas recap. What can I say? Does spending an all-around family weekend with nerve-wracking yahtzee thrillers [we’re addicted] and the equally fraught task of preparing a Strudel for dinner count as an excuse πŸ˜‰ ? If not you’ll have to trust me I intentionally waited until today [truth!] because what could be a more amazing topic to talk about on this wonderful Marvelous in my Monday than Christmas? See, you can’t argue with that. Thanks to Katie for hosting us all throughout the year!

MiMM_new

The post title? That’s because, well, this post is all about our Christmas celebration and it’s hard to believe it is actually over again already. Way too early once more. Additionally, this year’s Christmas was unusual in a way. If I’d filled in the survey afterΒ  this year’s celebration my answers might have been slightly different. More on that in a second. And the title may or may not also show my fondness of a certain Christmas movie once more.

Advent wreath_grandma

We’re going backwards in this post saving the gifts for last [not judging you if you’re too curious scrolling right down to the end – or at least not much]. Because while our main celebration always is on Christmas Eve most family activites happen on the 25th when all relatives on my mum’s side come over to my grandparents’ house.

Golden_angel

By far one of my favourite parts of Christmas and every of our family gatherings at my grandparents’, actually, is our family walk along the beach. Yes, we’re those folks who bundle up and brave the weather for a walk under any circumstances. It’s been a tradition for as long as I can think and no visit at my relatives’ would be complete without the whole family bonding and chatting on those walks. The calmth of the sea. Unplugged and also elsewise distraction-free catch-up time with cousins, aunts, uncles.

Christm._walk

While we get to see and talk to each other all day long it’s during those walks that conversations really spark and get deeper. I hadn’t seen one of my cousins who moved to Austria for her studies in months so we were in dire need of catching up on each other’s lives. No better way to do so than while trudging through the sand, wind dishevelling our hair and watching the steady lively motion of the waves [can you tell I’m pretty fond of nature?]. Does anybody else feel conversations to be much more inspired when moving outside while talking? Maybe it’s the fresh breeze enlivening ourselves in the whole and sparking

Christmas beach walk

Next up on our regular schedule: cookies. And, oh well, let’s not forget about Torte [yes, I know it’s just called cake, too, but the German word implies so much more for me πŸ™‚ ], Stollen and more cake. My grandma is going all out to make sure everyone’s experiencing a sugar coma ;).

Cookies_at_grandmas

Also one of the marvelous parts of Christmas? Many hugs by my grandpa. They’ve become even more precious to me after a health scare on his side several years ago. One moment can change the meaning of something as simple as a hug altogether. Maybe it’s sappy to say but family truly is the biggest blessing we get in life and while my Christmas had its annoyances and little flaws, too, I’m thankful for every moment I got to spend with my grandpa – and all other relatives. He’s the world’s best hugger – or at least the best known to me and that’s kind of the same thing, right ;)?!

Two of the changes I mentioned above was that my sister and I didn’t get to decorate the Christmas tree this year and – major break with the family traditions! – we didn’t throw the dice to determine who was allowed to unwrap a gift next. Here’s to hoping we’ll get back to it next year.

Christmas Tree 2013

Weihnachtsgeschenke

Does anybody else marvel at the fact that the older we get the less important the gifts under the tree become? Just thinking of how excited I was writing my wish lists weeks in advance and hardly being able to sleep the night before Christmas Eve makes me smile. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy receiving and especially giving gifts – but the additional sleep is much appreciated :). This year I hadn’t asked for any specific gifts which happened to be marvelous because I was even more surprised by every present I received. Not playing favourites but one of the most amazing presents this year would be …

PJ pants

PJ pants! And not just any: My mum knew I’d been unsuccessfully looking for new ones for a while and decided to sew me a pair shortly before Christmas Eve. Can you tell she knows me so well [colour and dots]? Just like her and my sister are quite the talented seamstresses meaning both of them bestowed not only me but every family member with their own handiwork. When transferring the pictures from my camera to my laptop I noticed I actually hadn’t taken any pictures of my presents on Christmas Eve 😯 – and hardly any pictures at all. We were clearly too busy fooling around and wearing hilarious santa hats ;). That’s why I hope you won’t mind a few quickly snapped pictures from today once more featuring the PJ pants in all their glory [thanks, mum]. All I can say is I felt spoiled – and happy my presents were well received, too. Especially since my dad truly approved of his gift, too – a huge relief.

Presents

Unsual also due to the fact it was just seven of us celebrating on Christmas Eve it was a special Christmas nonetheless. Borrowing a term by Kierston I can honestly say my heart was full. Filled with gratitude and love for all the memories made and family bonding time.

Happy last Monday of 2013!

Happiness inducing today: Watching my family’s delight and excitement when playing Yatzhzee – I love that crazy bunch of people.

What was one of your favourite gifts to give and receive this year?

Did you gift any homemade presents? I had the best intentions but ended up going the store-bought route once more. Just wait for it once the next birthday comes up, though :). I’m still taking recommendations for any occasion!

Who’s the best hugger in your family?

17 thoughts on “Christmas, actually

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      From your recap it looks like you had an amazing Christmas, too, which makes me happy to see!
      It had been ages since I last got PJ pants for Christmas and I really didn’t expect them this year. A sweet and cozy surprise.

  1. jessielovestorun says:

    My dear, you are a beautiful person. If anyone were to read this post, they’d understand just how much you care and love your family. Your holiday sounds wonderful. We’re big yahtzee players over here as well πŸ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Jessie! Your comment really made me blush. I was worried about gushing a little too much about my family. But then again: is there ever such a thing as too much love?!
      How about meeting up for a yahtzee game one day πŸ™‚ ? Even though I might have to ‘practice’ a little more before because I’m sure you’re pretty good at it already.

  2. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. says:

    Cute PJ’s! That’s so sweet that your mom made them for you. Makes them even more cozy, I’m sure!

    My favorite gift was probably my new Vitamix! I can’t wait to make some tasty recipes with it.

    And the best hugger in my family is my Dad. He’s so big he can make anyone feel safe and comforted πŸ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Definitely cozier than store-bought ones. Now if only it was acceptable to wear PJs all day long ;).
      Eeee! I’m curious of the recipes you’ll come up with now that you’re a proud Vitamix owner, too.
      Awwr, sounds like dad hugs were a favourite of yours. Safe and comfortable – that’s just the way my grandpa’s feel like.

  3. Emily says:

    I didn’t remember to take very many pictures on Christmas either- that just means you were enjoying the moment!
    I’m glad you were able to spend time with your family and those pi’s are absolutely adorable!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Totally agreed on less pictures meaning you were really enjoying the joy of the moment. It’s something I’ve noticed happening a lot of the time. While it’d be nice to keep pictures as memories I guess the best ones will be in our minds forever in anyway.

Leave a Reply

