My [non-]resolutions for the new year

First and foremost: Happy New Year! I hope you had a great New Year’s Eve with family, friends and fireworks. Oh, and food. Because there’s always food and it’s What I ate Wednesday so let’s talk about it a little more.

wiaw fall into a good new year

Out with the old, in with the new: While I haven’t made any real resolutions [yet?! – who says you can only resolve at the start of a new year?] I noticed some changes in the way I eat that I’d like to keep up in 2014. I haven’t talked about recovery on here in some time as I don’t want to focus on this alone on my blog. However, it’s the first What I ate Wednesday of the year meaning we’ll talk about food in anyway. So why not share some of the progress I’ve made during the last year? Additionally, there’s quite some backload of pictures from last year after taking some time off from blogging during the holidays.

Keep trying new foods and switching it up.

Strudel

Like my first [savoury at least] Strudel as part of a family dinner. Krautstrudel [cabbage strudel] with bell pepper cream sauce to be more specific. Getting my mum a vegan cookbook for Christmas I’d simulatenously gifted her to prepare a meal from it [clearly totally altruistically πŸ˜‰ ]. In case you’ve ever prepared strudel pasty you know the works that goes into it … but totally worth it. Admittedly, the recipe called for store-bought phyllo pastry yet I couldn’t get it so subbed puff pastry and The whole family – this time involving not only my parents but my sister and her husband, too – raved how good it was. My dad’s only ‘complaint’ was that we [or just he?] could have done with a second strudel.

Altwiener Krautstrudel

There are already plans of another strudel appearing on the table soon – and on the blog afterwards, obviously. Overall, trying new dishes is important as I have a tendency to get stuck in ‘safe’ routines eating the same dishes over and over. Not like I didn’t enjoy them anymore. But life is only so long and boredom – be in with food or any other part of life – is just not desirable. Here’s to changing it up more often in 2014!

Enjoy meals with others.

Rotkohl_dinner

Christmas dinner was a meal completely prepared by my grandma and mum so I didn’t have any control over what went into the dishes. And I didn’t care. While I’d have liked to be involved in some kitchen action just for the fun of it and cooking for myself and others it was nice to just sit down to a great meal. Featured alongside my grandma’s Rotkohl which I can’t stop gushing about were potatoes and my mum’s first homemade seitan turned into a hearty hash.

dinner

‘Twas a lovely feast. In contrast to last year’s Christmas Eve dinner I was yet more relaxed and I didn’t fuss about vegetables completely lacking [the Rotkohl is on the sweeter side]. No prepping an extra side of them to fill up on but simply eating what everbody else had.

Just eat.

No labeling foods as ‘healthy’ or ‘unhealthy’.

Flips

[Note: I don’t always plate my snacks but in case you ever did you’ll know that even something as simple as chips tastes even better when making the extra effort. We’re worth it.]

No fretting over indulgences.

Christmas_cookies

Β No fussing about macros. No ‘making up for it’ if I eat a little more just because it tastes good at times. Though I’d been randomly snacking around earlier, too, it’s only been during the last few months [or weeks?] that I relaxed more about them. Not trying to add them up or cut down on my intake at another point. It’s also the first time in years I’m keeping a bag of Erdnussflips [think peanut Cheetos] around – they’re a kind of trigger food for me so I hadn’t trusted myself around them before. Basically, I’m trying to eat more intuitively again. I’ve started re-reading the book sometime ago. Actually, though, it was because I’d already noticed some positive changes in my mindset and simply felt like refreshing the reminder that it’s all okay.* Because it really is: food and eating can be so simple if we don’t give it too much attention and …

most importantly:

Just live.

Just live_2014

No matter how awesome food is I don’t want to let it be something it isn’t. During the past years there were many opportunities I passed because I let food become the focus. My ‘plan’ for 2014 is to easen up, accept that there won’t always be the most incredible food offered at get-togethers or other chances to socialize. It’s truly the people that should matter most and that’s what I want to prioritize. Maybe I’ll still pass on some invitations – here’s to setting realistic goals – but even if I manage to get out a little more and embrace what life has on offer it’s progression.

* [I plan on posting about my thoughts on Intuitive Eating sometime soon.]

Happiness-inducing today: Heading out for the first walk in 2014 with my mum in a minute.

 

Did you set [non-]resolutions or goals for 2014?

What are some of your favourite memories from the past year?

What were your most memorable foodie moments? Just because it’s Wednesday and there has to be a food-related question, right?! [And maybe I’m curious.]

18 thoughts on “My [non-]resolutions for the new year

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Happy New Year to you, too, Laura! While there were many days where I felt I wasn’t making any progress at all last year it’s nice to look back and actually see the changes.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Happy New Year, Christine! Thanks for you sweet comment. All-encompassing – that’s just what I’ve been meaning to strive for when thinking of these resolutions. I’m all about taking small steps contributing to lasting change. Fingers crossed here!

  1. Emily says:

    I’m taking the same route this year. Just living and enjoying every single moment is at the top of my list…actually, it IS my list. Love all of these non-resolutions and I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for you!
    Sending hugs your way!

  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Just eat. Just live. Such great resolutions! I know great things are coming for you in 2014. You are such a beautiful person both inside and out and deserve only the best! I’m so happy we were able to connect in 2013 and I cannot wait to continue getting to know you in 2014! Happy New Year beautiful friend!

  3. Krysta says:

    Hello! I’m Krysta and I found your blog from Peas & Crayons. I really enjoyed your post. My most memorable foodie moment from 2013 was when I completely stopped eating sugar…I learned so many things about my body. Happy New Year!

    ps. I’m vegan too!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hi and thank you for your kind comment, Krysta! Giving up sugar must have been a huge change and certainly a real learning experience. I’ll admit I’m not sure I could stick with it ;).
      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

