Thinking out loud #4

There we are on the second day of the new year already. I hope you enjoyed the day off yesterday as much as I did. It’s time to think out loud again today and I’m happy to join Amanda’s link-up once more. Are you ready for the first installment of randomness in 2014? There we go!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Did anybody else feel it was Sunday yesterday? That’s what holidays happening to fall into the middle of the week do to me. I swear I was feeling decidedly weekend-y already and still could do with another day off. Despite the short work week dare I say I’m …

2. While I wish I could to share my fun New Year’s Eve happenings with you I’ll have to admit it wasn’t all that exciting. My sister and her husband had invited some of their friends all of which I get along with quite well, too, as well as two of my cousins. It was a nice but – at the risk of sounding like a party pooper – it wasn’t my favourite NYE so far. Mostly sitting around only occasionally dancing  little too uneventful for my liking :). I much preferred my New Year’s Eve the year before. Back then I celebrated at a friend’s house chatting and playing board games, eating chocolate and chips until midnight and then watch an hour-long battle of the fireworks in her neighbourhood.

3. On the upside I was on dessert duty [again] this year and had fun trying some new vegan recipes to share with everybody. Totally breaking the ‘rule’ of not serving guest anything you didn’t prepare before but – crossed fingers might have helped – they were well appreciated. My camera’s battery is currently recharging so I have no pictures to share right now. I promise I’ll post them soon.

4. Do you know if creativity is an inheritable trait? If yes I hope my mum passed it onto me and it just has yet to spark. She never ceases to amaze me with her simple but stunning decorating skills. Okay, I might be biased here but I still think it’s cute.

Deers

5. After we recently got into yahtzee playing when my sister and her husband were around my mum thought out loud about  buying both a yahtzee set and Monopoly for us. That’s huge coming from her as a declared board game-averse person. I’d better offer getting the games before she reverses her decision …

Yahtzee

6. My fondness of scented candles is quite possibly the best I could have had. After above-mentioned NYE party my parents’ guest apartment [where I’m currently living] smelled of burgers and beer. Don’t get me wrong: that’s pretty much to be expected at a party where those foods are served. However, I was not so fond of living with that scent permanently. Solution: the impulse purchase of a gingerbread-scented candle I’d made on Monday. Much better.

7. Money can’t buy happiness but fuzzy socks and that’s a first step. Can you believe I hadn’t owned a single pair prior to seeing them appear all over the blog world and purchasing some on Monday? Quite possibly the best investment during the last week of 2013. I got home all excited showing them to my family – I may or may not have quoted a certain movie 😉 and I’m sure Amanda approves.

Fuzzy socks

8. Could there be a nicer surprise than the kindness of a stranger? Though not a resolution I intend to keep up sending snail mail in 2014. If you want a fast shipping it’s important to add the blue priority stickers – at least here in Germany. Only you don’t always get them when purchasing stamps. Imagine my delight when I bought four international stamps recently, asked for the stickers and got not only four but a whole bunch of them. Thanks to the clerk at the post office!

Priority stickers

9. While at my grandparents’  during the holidays I didn’t bring any non-dairy milk so I prepared my morning oatmeal with water only though I usually use water and almond milk 50:50. Surprisingly enough I found I enjoyed the taste even more and have been keeping it that way since returning home. Even though the almond milk adds a nice creaminess I find the flavor of my add-ins to shine through more not using [too much of] it.

10. A new year means starting a new month in my planner and while I bought it long ago I didn’t have many appointments to add to it last year. Fingers crossed 2014 will provide lots of use for it!

Planner

Happiness inducing today: An overall great first day of the new year.

How did you spend New Year’s Eve?

What are some of your favourite [board] games?

Is anybody else ready for the weekend already, too?

16 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #4

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    That’s seriously one of my favourite quotes from DM — I use it at least once a week and sometimes more. And heck YES fuzzy socks are one of the most amazing things there are. I have a pair of striped pink and white ones that make me feel absolutely fabulous 😉

    My days are so very screwed up. Yesterday definitely felt like a Sunday, and even more so because I went to church and then had dinner at my parents’… which is something that only happens on Sundays. I love the holidays, but my goodness am I ever craving some normalcy again.

    Happy New Year, girl! ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Any day that offers you a reason to quote that movie would have to be a happy one :). In fact, I think fluffy should be synonymous to happy. I wish there’d been cuter colours when I purchased the socks but I’ll keep my eyes open.
      It was all the family time I usually just get on weekends for me, too, that made yesterday feel like Sunday. I can only imagine going to church would add to that feeling. And going to church again on the ‘real’ Sunday – talk about a screwed up week. Fingers crossed normalcy will settle in soon.

  2. Lucie@Fitswisschick says:

    My mind is a mess ehen it comes to weekdays currently. I seriously have no clue what day it is when I wake up. Good thing work starts again coming Monday 🙂
    I celebrated on the 30th (like almost every year) and we danced the night away. Definitely my kind of party!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Believe it or not but I had to double-check it actually wasn’t Monday when my mum came in to say good morning today. I asked how long she’d have to work today as I know she usually gets home later on Mondays. Only it isn’t Monday :D. I’m clearly ready for a regular work week again.
      Dancing the night away with friends – sounds like you had an awesome New Year’s Eve!

  3. Flake And Cake says:

    Yes totally with you on the messed-up days front! I’m excited to be back to work today but then the weekend is the day after tomorrow, which feels so weird! Fuzzy socks are the best 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    My family is obsessed with board games! We played Monopoly on NYE and, surprise surprise, I lost ha! I like just about any board game though. And cards…I LOVE card games!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Confession: I snuck away before my sister announced the results after our last Yathzee game because it looked pretty bad for me. Ignorance is bliss, right?! I may or may not be jealous of your NYE – a family game night would have been the perfect way to celebrate it for me, too.

  5. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com says:

    Fuzzy socks are mood changers for sure! So glad you got a pair 🙂
    We spent Christmas and NYers playing “Heads Up”, “Taboo” and “Smart A$$” – so much fun!
    My first day back at work and yes – I wish it was Friday! Gah – thats not good is it!?!
    Happy New Year!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Happy New Year, Shashi! Trust me you’re not the only one wishing today had been Friday already. No matter how much I like my job I’d still have preferred the weekend to be closer already.
      We’d actually meant to play Taboo on NYE, too, but in the end nobody else was up for it.

  6. Ashley says:

    I never know what day of the week it is during the holidays, for some reason it feels like a never-ending weekend to me!

    My family and I played board games all night on NYE and I wouldn’t have had it any other way–I love board games! We recently bought a new game where you have to guess popular logos and brand names and it’s a lot of fun.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, yes, thank god it’s Friday – because it is already for me over here.
      I could kick myself for not getting a pair of fuzzy socks any earlier. But then again I had my grandma’s hand-knitted wool socks which are pretty awesome, too.

  7. Lyric says:

    The holidays always mess me up, and I woke up this morning thinking I had work; when I infact did not! I love board games and my favourite is the game of Life and Crib (which is really a card game).

Leave a Reply

