10 Things I Love About Spoons

Let’s talk about a very special lady today that I’m sure all of you have heard of [and love] by now. Tomorrow marks the 29th birthday of Amanda. She’s the sweet blogger behind Running with Spoons sharing wisdom, delicious recipes and sometimes just wonderful randomness. Her blog is one of those I can visit anytime – no matter which mood I’m in – knowing a great post will wait for me. She’s also one of the bloggers I’ve been following for ages already since her first steps into blogging then still via seek myself. Can we talk about a major blogger girl crush here :)?!

10 Things

If somebody just asked “what do you like about Spoons?” I’d give the inquirer a skeptical look and think “what’s not to like about Spoon?!”. Luckily, the idea for this birthday surprise post was a little more precise hence keeping me from just saying that Amanda and her blog are simply awesome.

1. She’s an inspiration. By far not only in terms of recovery but so much more. Keeping up a happy mood even if life decides to throw you a curveball. Letting us know we’re not alone with our insecurities and worries. And yes, encouraging those of us in recovery from an ED to fight, face our fears and step out of our comfort zone. I’m not exaggerating when I say that there where many steps in my own journey back to a ‘normal’ life I wouldn’t have taken without her constant reminders, kind and supportive mails.

2. Read any of her posts and you’ll agree Amanda truly has an authentic and awesome blogging voice. Not only is her content great but she has a beautiful way of wording her posts – a born writer.

3. We share an obsession with almond butter. Whether as an oatmeal topping, mixed into baked goods, savoury dishes or – obviously the best – eaten by the spoonful. Preferably not while running, though …

Almond butter

4. Even if it means going against the common belief Amanda doesn’t shy away from speaking her mind. Usually hitting the spot and saying out loud what many others actually thought, too, or at least offering thought-provoking content.

5. Her honesty. Amanda doesn’t pretend to live a perfect life. She’s down-to-earth, real, honest and relatable when admitting that she gets irritated if life doesn’t go as planned, she has rough days and – you know I’m a fan of this – still keeps seeing the upsides.

6. Actually, that deserves an extra point. After reading Running with Spoons I always feel a little more okay with just being me. Nothing will ever take away all worries and insecurities I have – but simply getting this [almost] daily reminder of not needing to change to fit in is awesome. Giving just one of many examples: For me as someone who still feels guilty for taking rest days at times it’s nice to see Amanda make it a point that exercise should be enjoyable and not something to stress over. And that nothing bad will happen if you stop exercising.

6. She has a great taste in books. Okay, she might have passed on the Harry Potter series 😯 but aside from that I got some awesome recommendations from her and I like people who appreciate a good read.

7. Disney movies! It’s no secret that Amanda is a huge Disney fan and makes anybody who has long left his childhood in behind feel better about still watching them, too. I secretly hope we’ll be able to have a Disney movie night complete with fuzzy socks, scented candles and one of her tasty creations one day :). Wishful thinking?!

8. From healthy breakfast [the Cinnamon Raisin Bran Muffins are delicious!] to quick and healthy lunch ideas and intruiging desserts [trust me when I say those Rice Krispie Energy Bites are addictive]: Amanda’s quite the creative chef in the kitchen.

9.  Don’t judge a book by its over? But it has to be said: she’s adorable :).

10. Like already hinted at in #1 Amanda – while one of the ‘big’ bloggers already – is still approachable and offering support to anybody who gets in touch with her.

If I haven’t been able to convince you that Amanda’s blog should be a daily or at least weekly read for you, find out what others love about her and Running with Spoons:

And if you read this, Amanda: Thank you so much for everything! I hope you’ll stick around the blogosphere for a lot longer still. Happy [early] Birthday!

Happiness inducing today: Having found Amanda’s blog years ago and getting to read her wonderful posts.

No real questions today: Just let me know what you like about Amanda and Running with Spoons!

24 thoughts on “10 Things I Love About Spoons

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Awwwr girl! Thanks SO much for your sweet words! And for making me seriously hungry with that amazingly drippy almond butter shot 😯 😯 A night of Disney movies in fuzzy socks sounds absolutely perfect, and you never know! It -might- happen! I have family in Poland and go there for a few weeks every couple of summers, so a little road trip a couple countries over wouldn’t be too far out of an idea 😀

    PS – I can’t even believe you’ve been reading me as far back as Seek! Holy.smokes. Talk about a trip down memory lane ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t give me false hope saying you might come over here one day. You know I’ll be bothering you about your next visit to Poland from now on until it happens. Oh, by the way … do you have any plans to visit your relatives this summer 😉 ??? [See, I told you.]
      And yes, I’ve been reading your blog since your first day over at Seek. Or maybe I started later but caught up on all posts. It’s been amazing to follow along on your journey and I hope you’ll keep blogging forever.
      Since I can finally say it on the right day: Happy Birthday ❤ !

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I LOVE ME SOME SPOONS!! 😀 Man, I want to grab a fork and spoon, LMFAO! But for real: I love Amanda because she tells it like it is, much like myself. I love people who don’t sugar coat and just speak their mind!! 😀 — Tis why I also love you!

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    What a nice post and a picture perfect Almond Butter shot; perfect for Amanda. I think you said it best: her writing voice is so simple and genuine. She’s a refreshing read, even when she’s being thought provoking or controversial.

Leave a Reply

