Living blissfully

Happy Monday! Time to get back to normalcy with this first full week of work after the holidays. Or maybe you’re like me and would happily hold off getting back to the grind for just a few more days. Either way, for now it’s not about making snap judgements about the week ahead but assuming it’ll hold as much marvelousness as the past days.MiMM_new

It’s hard to deny January brought forth a lot of amazing people [and no, I’m not saying this because my birthday’s coming up later this month, too]. Starting with Amanda’s last week today marks the birthday of another awesome girl dear to my heart: Emily. For any of you who might not have heard of her before: she’s the blogger behind Build Your Bliss inspiring us to create and live our own version of joy in every day. Not only is her blog one of my favourites but she has become a very good friend of mine helping me in many ways during the past year. Happy birthday, Emily <3!

It’s funny how blogging can help you shift your focus from a grumpy mood to thankfulness. When I sat down to write this post I wasn’t feeling too content with my weekend and not inspired to write. Especially not about finding bliss when I felt far from it. My weekend wasn’t bad per se – just mostly uneventful. But thinking about it in its whole again it deemed to me once again: bliss can be found in simplicity, too. A walk with my mum, successfully creating a new recipe for our family dinner [look out for it on here soon, kale fans!], getting absorbed in a great book. Simple bliss.

Flowers

Taking a leaf from Emily’s book [blog?] I reminded myself of some lessons on bliss that help me let go off negativity and outside expectations,  instead focusing on on the good in every day or in this case my weekend.

Find your own bliss.

Bliss. Defined as “perfect happiness; great joy” it can be different for each of us or – as Emily describes it using a popular phrase – isn’t ‘one size fits all’. So there actually isn’t an all-encompassing definition in the end. Which isn’t a bad fact. The only thing that matters is knowing what bliss is for you and making it part of your everyday life.

Happiness and success is all about spending your life in your own way.  Be yourself. [Source]

Maybe my [or your] weekend wasn’t spent in the way somebody else would have preferred. But if it left you feeling relaxed, with a calm mind and recharged for the week ahead it probably was just right for you. It’s not about impressing others or meeting their expectations but living life the way that feels good to ourselves.

Don’t stress about finding bliss – just see it.

Sounds ridiculous? Just as the above situation regarding my ‘too uneventful’ weekend shows I’m at times trying to find the ultimate happiness in huge things. When in reality it’s the small things adding up.

At the end of the day don’t hold onto the flaws but focus on what made you happy.

Writing down happiness inducers – or better yet filling your own memory jar is a great way to practice this. I’ve had days when I felt there was not a lot of ‘new’ happiness to add. But who says you couldn’t write down the same things twice? It just goes to show we have some happiness constants in our life that repeat themselves on the regular.

Count your blessings.

Even on ‘those’ grumpy days there are blessings we are surrounded by every day. A family supporting us. Our health. Friends. Blends. All of these are present regardless of whatever happens in our life. Reminding us of what we have and being thankful of this helps in finding happiness. Looking at it from this perspective I can say that yes, my weekend wasn’t as eventful as other people’s. But it was blissful in its very own way. And that’s what matters.

Happiness inducing today: The gorgeous light of the Winter sun sticking around almost all day long.

What was blissful about YOUR weekend?

When is your birthday? Any other January babies?

 

10 thoughts on “Living blissfully

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    What a beautifully written post, Miss! Love it. And so nice of you to feature Emily! She’s definitely one of my best blogging buddies too!

    This post is just emitting such light and positivity! Way to start off my week on a good note! I appreciate it! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m glad I was able to help you start your week on a bright note. With the thought of Monday meaning a ‘clean slate’ I think it’s great to leave the mess of the past week in behind welcoming the week ahead with open arms.

  2. Emily says:

    Awww! Oh my goodness- I’m in tears. Thank you SO much!
    You’ve been such an inspiration to me over the past year and I’m so proud of everything that you’ve accomplished. You’re beautiful inside and out and I’m honored to call you one of my best blogging friends. ❤

    xoxo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank YOU for constantly inspiring me and helping me focus on the bright sides of life. In case you’re still feeling unwell I hope you’ll get better soon and enjoyed your birthday nonetheless! ❤

  3. Ashley says:

    That’s so sweet of you to feature Emily today–she has an amazing blog that’s always inspiring, so I’m glad you shared it with all your readers! I love the message you have here, too, since a lot of people, myself included, get down on ourselves because we don’t measure up to someone else but in reality, we should only worry about what makes us happy!

  4. Laura says:

    I love the idea of finding your own bliss. I’m typically sort of lame and enjoy relaxing on weekends and really not doing much of anything. This past weekend I went up to Boston to see a bunch of friends from college and went on a barcrawl. In order to balance this and leave me feeling semi-normal, I took Friday and Sunday to basically lay in bed and prepare for/recuperate from the evening. It’s all about balance right??

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, balance is key. Just like knowing your own bliss it’s important to know your personal balance between socializing and me time. Some people can be around others for days needing only a short break to relax in between while you [and me] need a whole day or two to settle down. Both are perfectly okay.

  5. Flake And Cake says:

    Such an uplifting post – especially as today is apparently the most depressing day of the year. I particularly like where you say ‘spending life in your own way’, I think it is all too easy to be worried about not doing enough or being boring at weekends but ultimately, it is your time and you should do what makes you happy

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The most depressing day of the year 8O?! Why’s that? If it was like that for everyone I’ll gladly forgive Monday for being grumpy on my end. It’s true that we often feel pressured to live life a certain way so others won’t judge us for being ‘boring’ when we actually enjoy taking a break from the huzz and buzz on the weekends.

Leave a Reply

