Winter sun

Thinking out loud #5

Coming from me as a confessed planner you won’t be surprised when I say I enjoy having a clear blogging structure: Mondays are marvelous, Wednesdays aren’t meant to be tackled on an empty stomach and Thursdays are great for thinking out loud. It’s nice to know what to expect. That being said you can still never know what exactly has been on everybody else’s minds [or plates] so there’s that element of surprise. All well rounded out in the end again, I’d say? Thanks to Amanda for her help in sorting out my Thursday blogging schedule – and some inspiration you’ll find further below …

Thinking-Out-Loud

5. Not only am I a moon watcher but pretty fond of the sun, too. Don’t you agree Winter sun has a very special light?

Winter sun

2. An embarrassing confession: I can’t read temperatures. Okay, that’s not actually true. But when first reading the current temperatures on some of my US blogging friends I only had a very rough idea of the actual cold you were going through. Imagine my gasp of shock when I heard the ‘translated’ numbers [read: in degree Celsius] on the radio. Any of you poor guys are invited to come over and hibernate in the almost spring-like weather around here.

3. While we’re at it I can just as easily admit I’ll never figure out the time difference in between countries. I’ve gotten used to most comments happening at a time when I’m fast asleep but never ask me what exaxt time it’d translate to. Add in that the US itself is split up in different time zones again and I’m completely puzzled. Luckily, Arman figured out what time each us of in our very country had to post Amanda’s birthday surprise so they’d appear at the same time. Merci, mon ami.

4. Talking about that post: yes, I had every intention of including some spoons in it. However, it’s not the most ingenious idea if you don’t think about taking a picture until the very last minute before posting when the light situtation is far from ideal. Some of my unsuccessful [and impatient] tries:

Spoons

5. This happened. Sue me – but how could I say no to that offer?  Actually, you might want to be proud of me for buying just one clamshell of blueberries leaving the remaining one and a half dozen at the store.

Berries

6. Has work picked up its usual pace for all of you right away? It’s been incredibly slow and uneventful for me these past days. The bane of a newspaper office waiting for the year to get started and offer up new topics. I still really like the job but I get bored pretty easily when there’s hardly anything to do. Something please happen in my neck of the woods!?

7. I did end up finding productive use for those hours of sitting around, though. In case you’re wondering: lots of free time means lots of blogging time. Ssssh, don’t tell. While I can’t access the internet from my laptop I’ve had a good time drafting some posts for the week [like this one] because the office atmosphere is close to perfect for this. Close to meaning: there’s hardly any distraction and I don’t have a few dozen other tabs opened at the same time.

8. If you read yesterday’s post chances are you noticed me mentioned I’d treated myself to something I’d been eyeing for a long time already. Here’s what I was talking about:

Puzzle

I had meant to get a puzzle for ages already – inspired by Amanda’s showing pictures of hers months ago – but it wasn’t until I saw this motive that I splurged. Which is pretty unusual for me as I’m not an impulse buyer. But I figure when it comes to treating ourselves it’s okay to change habits and splurge a little at times?!

9. It’s been a long time since I’ve done a puzzle. Apparently so long my parents were really puzzled [no pun initially intended] and asked if I actually enjoyed them. We’ll see but how could I not with that picture?!

10. After typing #7 I ‘confessed’ to the co-worker sitting opposite of me what I was doing when typing on my laptop. Can you tell I felt guilty for blogging at work?! Luckily, he agreed with me thinking it was just another way of improving my writing skills. And there we have reason #1384590 why blogging is awesome :).

Happy Thursday!

Happiness inducing today: Starting to work on a new article on a topic

When was the last time you treated yourself and what did you do/get?

Are you a fan of puzzles? Do you do them regularly?

28 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #5

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Awwr I love your spoons! But I know what you mean about the lighting — I’ve really been fighting with it myself. I can’t wait for summer to come, and not only because I’d love better light, but because I’d love to be able to go outside without my eyelids sticking together when I blink. Thankfully it’s warming up around here, but it’s only a matter of time before we hit some crazy temps again.

    And that puzzle! I’m absolutely smitten with it. I may have mentioned that I have a -slight- obsession with all things Disney? I’ve never seen a puzzle like that around here, but I would buy it in a heartbeat — it has all my favourite characters ❤

  2. jessielovestorun says:

    You know, since we’re much closer in time compared to those in the States, we really should talk more throughout the day – hello facebook or skype. If only we lived closer we could totally conquer that puzzle in no time!! Ha Ha.

    I just treated myself to an abundance of things last week: new coffee table, new kitchen table, new pillows, new curtains, new end table, new bathroom stuff – hello shopping spree. Ha Ha

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      How did I not know we were that close in time?! A definite yes to talking more! Let me know your Skype name 🙂 and I’ll also add you on Facebook right now! If only I could take up your puzzle help offer, too. I’m a little stuck with it right now …
      Sounds like you had a really successful shopping spree and way to treat yourself :).

  3. Health, Love, and Chocolate says:

    I agree about the planning, I feel better now that my blog has a bit of structure. And I am finally joining up with the Thinking out Loud party! I miss doing puzzles, I used to love them and seriously want to start doing them again.

  4. Laura says:

    I have a puzzle going ALL the time. And I am not exaggerating. My dad and I are puzzle-holics and we have a table dedicated to jigsaw puzzles. We finished one on Sunday and started a new one yesterday.

    I feel like I should include a time and temperature at the end of this post haha. Let’s see…6:15am on Thursday. Current temp= 15 degrees Fahrenheit (-9 Celsius)

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Including your current time and temperature is a great idea! I should have asked for that right away and might steal it for my next thinking out loud post. It was 12:16 PM over here when I received your comment.
      It’s awesome you and your dad share the puzzle obsession. What kind of picture are you working on right now?

  5. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind says:

    I haven’t done a puzzle in like forever. And now that I should be writing on my master thesis I am actually super intrigued to do so! Next question would be: where to get a puzzle in France. Anyone knows how to say puzzle in France? I might postpone it till I am back in Germany… might be a better idea.

    And how awesome is this beautiful picture of the wintersun. It has really some magic to it. Do you think one could make a puzzle out of it? Considering the white parts of the picture it would probably be for Pros, though 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’d say go for a puzzle especially right now! It might be a great way to relax from the whole lot of researching and typing for your thesis. And maybe you can even find a puzzle you wouldn’t be able to get just as easily in Germany?? If I remember correctly from French lessons puzzle should be the same in French. [Edited: I just looked it up and yes, it seems to be true 🙂 .]
      The idea of turning the photo into a puzzle is awesome! Only the white parts would be where I’d give up, haha.

  6. Ms.J says:

    You just basically typed out my mind with #2 and #3. I wasn’t aware of the reailty of the cold spells until… I think yesterday. Then I flipped! And I was always boggled about the times (more so with me being in SA) I’m asleep when most in the blog world is bustling about, I comment in the early morning and damn, it shows up on the page as 11:41 PM over there!?! it’s just crazy. I last worked on a puzzle roughly 6 years ago. I know I’d enjoy it but I’m not sure what I’d do with it afterword

  7. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    This past weekend in Montreal it was so cold that Celsius and fahrenheit were equal! Made the conversion way easier. I try to do it in my head (from C–>F you double it and add 32) but I’m terrible at math so I’m not always right.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I just looked that up and … -40°?! How on earth do you deal with those temperatures? My door’s always open if you feel the need to escape the cold. Oh, and you could cook for me :).
      Thanks for the conversion reminder! Reading it that actually seems like the kind of math even I should be able to do … should ;).

  8. Alex (@alex_kenz) says:

    I guess this wasn’t technically a treat I gave myself, but last week one of my oldest friends took me to a nice lunch over looking a frozen lake (so pretty) and then to a spa for a massage and pedicure as my late birthday gift. It was amazing! Hope you have an awesome day!

  9. katalysthealth says:

    Oh my gosh puzzles were my THING growing up!! My gma had tons of Disney puzzles and its what we would do when it was too hot or rainy to play outside. That being said, my hubby tried to get me to do a 1000 piece puzzle with him last year but it was only scenery. I quit when we got to the sky. So.Much.Blue. I was not down for that!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Now I’m really glad I didn’t buy the scenery puzzle I’d considered before seeing this one. I’m sure I’d have given up pretty soon on that one when even you as a puzzle pro did. It’s so sweet puzzles bring up memories of the days at your grandma’s for you.

  10. Lyric says:

    I would not have had your will power to only buy one container of blueberries mostly because once I start eating them I don’t stop until the entire containers gone 😉 Last time I treated myself was today I was at the store picking up toothpaste and saw that the mouthwash was on sale and decided to pick some up! When I was younger every year in the summer me my mom and my aunty would buy one of those 500 piece puzzles to do unitl school started up again and it was so much fun, that is until one year my sister stole one of the pieces and hid it! Now I have trust issues with them 😉 However your post has inspired me to do one again!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Part of it had to do with knowing my mum might be checking up on the fridge letting me know she did not approve of my blueberry hoarding. Or buying any kind of berry in winter in the first place. One of the few downsides of moving back in with my parents 😉 .
      Not fair of your sister playing that trick on you. I’d still say you should give puzzles another chance – and make sure she has no access to them.

  11. Emily says:

    That teacup and spoon are so gorgeous! They actually remind me of the teacup I’m drinking out of right now which my best friend brought back from China for me. I love unique pieces like that. (:
    And I don’t know how you managed to just buy one container of blueberries! I literally just finished eating an entire container in one sitting…oops!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m all about unique pieces of dishware, too. While not as huge as my mum’s I already have a little collection of special dishes, too, and keep adding to it. Now I’m curious to see a picture of the cup you got from China!
      One container of blueberries is one serving. I actually got two more when I went back to the store several days later and they were on offer again.

  12. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Aww, that is the perfect puzzle! I have to admit though…I’m not much of a fan. It had been YEARS since I’d done one, but tried when I was laid up after my knee surgery…I just couldn’t do it! After I got all the edge pieces put together, I totally lost interest! ha!

    You may not be able to convert temperatures and time zones in your head, but don’t feel bad because I sure as hell have NO IDEA how much those berries cost you! Lol

Leave a Reply

