with sauce

Winner, winner, kale for dinner [Kale Surprise Pastry]

Trust me I’ve spent quite a while pondering what to tell you about this dish only to come to the conclusion that a) nothing will do it justice in anyway [yes, I’m that excited to share it], b) it [hopefully] doesn’t matter in anyway as you’re going to skip right down to the recipe in anyway [why are you still reading??] and c) a glance at the time tells me I should finally get writing :D.

with sauce

Until now my  simply when I couldn’t stop thinking about it resulting in multiple repeats in a short amount of weeks. Take the Hummus Bake for example: I can’t even remember how often I’ve had it the first time after coming up with the recipe let alone in total. The downside of living alone was that I had no additional taste testers. But on the upside I didn’t have to worry about disappointing others when a recipe idea didn’t work out. Now that I’m temporarily back at my parents’ and take over dinner responsibility once a week it’s a new level of difficulty. My parents have no worries voicing their disapproval of any dish I prepare especially regarding its vegan-ness.  Note that my parents are far from big meat eaters but actually eat a lot of accidentially vegan food like vegetable stir-fries or … Conclusion: it only turns into dangerously vegan food once it comes explicitly labeled as such.

Kale Pastry

same would be true for nutritious food coming under the guise of being healthy. Needless to say I’m not advertising my dishes touting the high Vitamin C content of kale, singing the protein praises of chickpeas or proclaiming the anti-inflammatory benefits of onions. For all of you interested in these facts, though, rejoice that this dish isn’t just absolutely tasty but you can feel virtuous eating it if that’s how you roll ;).

Pastry

There wasn’t any need to worry with this dish, though. As soons as they’d had one bite of the flaky pastry, smoky spicy filling and creamy sauce they were won over. The kale was a surprise hit with my parents hence the name of the recipe. As mentioned in my What I ate Wednesday post my parents are only now discovering the versatility of kale through our family dinners. Does that make up for my bad blogger behaviour in terms of neither being fond of snack bars nor salads? I hope Gigi won’t mind me applying as a spokesperson at the National Kale Board ;).

kale_dinner

Kale Surprise Pastry

  • 5 sheets phyllo dough
  • 6 cups kale, chopped
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed, then mashed
  • 2 heaped tablespoons raisins
  • 2 tbsps fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup soy creamer [I used Alpro Soya; might work with any other kind of unsweetened non-dairy creamer or real cream]

For the sauce:

  • coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 medium red bell peppers, chopped
  • 1/2 cup minus 1 tbsp soy creamer [100 ml]
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Sauté the onion in coconut oil until slightly browned. Add the garlic and sauté another 1-2 minutes.
  2. Add the chopped kale and sauté until wilted.
  3. While the kale is cooking arrange the phyllo dough sheets in a greased springform pan so they’re overlapping.
  4. When the kale is wilted, stir in the mashed chickpeas, raisins, lemon juice and spices.
  5. Mix in soy cream and adjust seasonings if needed.
  6. Transfer the filling into the springform pan and enclose the pastry by using the parts of the dough overlapping on the sides of the pan.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven for about 25 minutes at 375 °F/175 °C.

For the sauce: Sauté the bell peppers in  coconut oil in a small pot. Add some water or broth and simmer covered until soft. Blend with the soy creamer and season to taste.

with sauce

I’m not entirely sure how many this would serve. Served with  three of us easily polished it off with no crumb left behind but if we all have pretty big appetites so I guess it’d serve four ‘normal’ people. Or two kale fiends …

If you’re not keen on kale [but also if you are] visit Kierston’s blog for more Recipe Friday deliciousness.

Happy Friday!

Happiness inducing today: A pleasantly busy day at work.

 

Tell me about your favourite kale recipes!

What’s your surefire sign a newly developped recipe has passed the ultimate taste test?

23 thoughts on “Winner, winner, kale for dinner [Kale Surprise Pastry]

  1. dolcem says:

    Oh this looks delish!! As soon as I get my hands on some kale, this will be on my list to make.
    When I cook, I also tend to cook fairly healthy dishes. But, I always hold my tongue so I don’t start blabbering on about how healthy it is and all the benefits of the ingredients..though I would if I had it my way 😉 Like you, I don’t want to turn people away with labeling it as being “healthy”.

  2. Emily says:

    This is absolutely beautiful and sounds delicious! I’m probably biased since I’ve never met a kale recipe I didn’t like…but if your family loved it, then I know I would too! Plus, this would be a fun thing to make when I have friends over- they’re all trying to eat healthier with the new year anyways!

    Yeee! I can’t wait!

  3. Lisa @ The Skinny on Health says:

    hahahaha “it [hopefully] doesn’t matter in anyway as you’re going to skip right down to the recipe in anyway [why are you still reading??” so funny!

    this looks so delicious!! I am in love with cooked kale (but hate raw kale?!) so I can’t wait to try this!!

    xx
    Lisa @ The Skinny on Health

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Woops, so you mean you actually read that part 😉 ?!
      Confession: I’ve yet to try an actual raw kale dish aside from nibbles of it while chopping, too. And as I found out through your blog that the fiber is brought out even more when cooking I’ve been perfectly fine with that fact.

  4. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Ahhh, the phyLOVIN’ starts here, huh? 😉 I love what you said about the vegan/healthy claims when it comes to your parent’s reaction to a dish…my mom will try almost anything, but with my dad? Well, I guess it’s better to just keep quiet and hold your breath until he takes that first bite! Lol! But I can’t get EITHER one of them on the kale train…it’s so sad! They just don’t know how much they’re missing!

Leave a Reply

