Outfit_Jan

Currently … January

Happy Monday!

Starting into the second week of January I thought it’d be a nice idea to chat about current favourites and happenings. Seeing as there’s a lot of marvelousness it fits perfectly with Katie’s motto in focusing on the good things in life. Here’s to a great new week!

MiMM_new

Current Book: The Book of Fate by Parinoush Saniee.

Was mir zusteht_verändert

I hadn’t heard about this before when my mum gave it to me as a Christmas gift so I didn’t know what to expect. After a somewhat slow beginning this book set in Iran several years before revolution tells the story of a girl who’s married against her will. When her husband gets involved in the revolution she suddenly has to stand on her own feet sooner than she’d hoped for. It’s a story of growth, strength and clinging onto hope even when life seems to fall apart. I’m in the last third of the book and liked it so far though I wish there was more detailed information on the political background.

Current Music: Pharrell Williams – Happy

How could you not what to listen to a song that screams happiness all day long? It’s been my go-to morning song for the past week and I don’t see that changing soon.

Current Guilty Pleasure: Long hot showers. It might not be [nearly] as cold around here as elsewhere in the world but it’s still winter. And that totally justifies them [or at least I hope it does].

Current Nail Color: Au natural. Even though I don’t really like the ‘naked’ look most of the time I’m giving my nails a bit of a break at the moment. Does anybody know if there’s a recommendation on how often to take those for healthy happy nails?

Current Drink:

Holiday tea

Sugar cookies, sweet pumpkins and candy canes. Mailed to me by my American pen pal [note: for once not a blend :)] – she  knows me so well. I already knew I liked the Sugar Cookie flavour but was excited to see she included two new-to-me flavours, too. Have you try any of those before?

Current Food:

Alnatura_Erdbeere

Strawberry jam. By the spoonful, mixed into oat bran, yogurt bowls … you name it. Why is it that jam tastes so ridiculously good? It’s one of those foods I’d ditched for the longest time due to thinking it was to high in calories. Waste of lifetime to go without something so good but I’m making up for it now. On the savoury side I can’t get enough of pastry creations. I have another recipe to share later this week.

Current Wish List: Given that my birthday’s coming up on the 29th I should probably think of some wishes. Granted, I’ve pondered getting a tripod because I feel I could make good use of it. On the non-monetary side it’s a little ridiculous to admit after my anxities when first moving here but: lengthening my stay at my parents’. It’s not possible due to another internship lined up but I’ll try to make the most of the weeks left here. It’s a wonderful surprise to see worries vanish into thin air.

Current Needs: Sleep. Will I ever improve in this point? Six hours are far from enough … Oh, and another need would be the perfect birthday cake – and the ability to decide on one :D.

Current Bane of My Existence: No internet access at work [read: not being able to read blogs during my break] and severely cut down access at home. First world problems, I know, but also: blogger problems and I miss being able to catch up on your lives any time I want. I promise I’ll be back to reading and commenting regularly soon! [Sorry if this sounds whiney.]

Current Indulgence: Shopping. I may or may not have gotten the biggest haul in the shortest amount of time ever on a semi-spontaneous trip to Hamburg with my mum on Saturday. Six pairs of tights, a pair of bootees, a cardigan and some other odds and ends. I’ll blame Birthday Month for the splurges ;).

Booties

Let’s hope these are really made for walking [all day long] :).

Current Triumphs: In terms of food: Feeling more relaxed and not overanalyzing every bite. Having pasta for lunch while out and about shopping – and not making it a big deal. Stopping to constantly label foods as ‘healthy’ or ‘unhealthy’. Another non-food related triumph is the story I’m currently working on for the newspaper seeming to work out really well. I’m not sure how interesting details would be so I’ll leave it at that to avoid boring you :).

Current Blessing: Repeat offender but yes, my parents. It bears repeating when thinking back to how long I took their support for granted years ago when I was deep in the throws of my ED.

Current Outfit: 

Outfit_Jan

Did I mention I hardly ever wear pants? Dresses and tights are my outfit of choice any season. Right now I’m pretty fond of florals prints and these tights with some golden sparkliness. Too bad it’s gotten colder and they’re more of an ‘around the house outfit’. And does anybody else sit on their window sills reading? Overlooking the garden it’s the best place to read on a sunny day.

Current Excitement(s): Meeting this fit chick soon!!!

Current Mood: See current music. Okay, to be honest I’ve let you know about my constant over-worrying before and it’s still there. But if I look at the simple facts I should really be happy. Still working on the ‘Live in the moment’ mindset.

Happiness inducing today: Treating myself to a special deep conditioner [will get a funny little mention on Thursday].

It’s your turn! Tell me your current:

1) … book.
2) … guilty pleasure.
3) … excitement.
4) … food/drink.
5) … excitment.

29 thoughts on “Currently … January

  1. Lyric Andersen says:

    First of all those boots are amazing! Second of all the candy cane lane is a life changer. Im not usually a green tea kind of gal but that tea converted me. Sadly I’ve never been able to find the other two flavours! My current book is Sarah’s Key, but Im almost done that one, food is mixed frozen veggies (Weird but convenient) and current drink is flavoured water!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Please don’t hate me for saying it but I tried the Candy Cane flavour and … was not impressed. I’m not a green tea drinker, either, and it tasted a lot like plain peppermint. But maybe I just have to give it another go [I will!]? Do you usually add any sweetener or milk?
      I started ‘Sarah’s Key’ a while ago but had to return it to the library before finishing.

      • Lyric Andersen says:

        Its ok I forgive you 😀 I typically don’t add anything because I love peppermint tea. Sarahs key hasn’t been the best book I’ve ever read and it definitely took some time to actually get into it so I can see why you’d return it!

      • Miss Polkadot says:

        Whew, I’m so glad you’re forgiving me 😉 . I like peppermint tea – or any tea I drink, really – plain, too. I’d just expected a sweeter taste when hearing the name ‘Candy Cane’ and knowing that some other teas by Celestial Seasonings are naturally sweeter.
        It was both having to return it to the library because I couldn’t renew it any longer and yes, I’ll admit it took some time to get into it. But seeing as you and many others enjoyed it so much I should probably give it another try.

  2. lovenataliemarie says:

    First off, HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY! 😀
    Second, those are such cute booties!
    Third, I’m so proud your relationship with food is getting better.
    Fourth, I am loving your tights and dress combo! So cute! ^.^

    Currents..
    Book: The Jungle by Upton Sinclair
    Guilty Pleasure: Lounging around in leggings and yoga pants. No jeans for me!
    Excitement: Waking up each day.
    Food: Apple Pie Oatmeal. Yum. ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks for the very early wishes 🙂 !
      Spending the day in leggings is well-deserved relaxation from the usual need to be ‘properly’ dressed when around people.
      It’s awesome your excitement is getting up each day. Way to approach every new day ❤ ! I've seen so many different spins on Apple Pie Oatmeal. How do you prepare yours?

      • lovenataliemarie says:

        You’ve got to make a great approach to each day in order to have a good day! (My philosophy at least :))

        I take 2/3 cup oats and top with 4/3 cup (that’s how I measure it out) water and cook in the microwave for 3 and a half minutes. I sprinkle on some cinnamon and a tbsp of almond milk and mix that together. As of recently, I have been adding a 1/4 cup of fat free cottage cheese which has been giving off an AMAZING texture and taste lately. Then I chop up an apple and mix that all in. To top it all off, I add in a tbsp of peanut butter. Mix it all together and enjoy. 🙂

  3. Ms.J says:

    Loving the tights! Ok now I want a window-sill I can sit on :p . Shopping/Birthday indulgences should never need to be justified right!? Yes aren’t parents the greatest blessing ever.. my ED also made me appreciate mine all the more.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Birthdays should really be about treating ourselves without additional excuses. It’s just my bad conscience in terms of already straining from my goal of saving this year.
      I really need to make good use of the window sill reading nook while I’m still at my parents’. The window sills in my apartment are ridiculously small.

  4. jessielovestorun says:

    Happy Early Birthday, darling!!!!!! I am in love w/ those boots and um can your tights be any cuter. I totally wish I could pull such a look off… however, I’d be laughed at. Ha Ha!! Oh & you poor thing not being able to read blogs throughout the day – what a bummer 😦

    xoxo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Try that kind of outfit – I’m sure it’d look awesome on you! Those who’d laugh simply don’t understand a single thing about fashion 🙂 .
      There unexpectedly was no free workplace for me at the office today so I got sent home. Means I can at least catch up on some blogs today – not that I wouldn’t also need to work on some articles. Still nice!

  5. Christy@SweetandSavoring says:

    I love those tights! And that Happy song is so great- have you been to 24hoursofhappy.com? It’s people dancing to that song, nonstop, on the street 🙂
    The book I just finished reading is called ‘An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth’, by Chris Hadfield, and it’s so fascinating hearing about the space program and what it’s like up on the International Space Station!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, I’ve been to the site before and think the idea is awesome. 24 hours of happiness? Yes!!
      That book sounds really intriguing! Not something I’d have usually picked but now I might just look into it a little more. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. Laura says:

    You should get a tripod! Mine is pretty cheap but it does it’s job and I love it!
    Also, your outfit is too cute. I need to revamp my wardrobe…

    Current:
    1) … book. I’m in between books at the moment and not sure which direction to go. Fiction? Non-fiction? Biography? GAHHHH
    2) … guilty pleasure. Does laying in bed watching reruns of New Girl count as a guilty pleasure?
    3) … excitement. I’m seeing two of my best friends that I met studying abroad next Friday!
    4) … food/drink. I’m CURRENTLY drinking coffee. But in terms of current obsession? Milk (I know it’s weird) and cheese. Any kind.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Which tripod do you own?
      The time in between books is annoying. Especially if the one you just finished was awesome and you have high expectations making it even more difficult to pick a new one.
      Meeting friends again after a long time is really exciting and awesome. I hope you’ll have great time catching up!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Same here. I didn’t remember the hot water running out that quickly in my parents’ house from back when I was still living here. Plus it takes rather long to get warm. But hot showers – no matter how long actually – are awesome 🙂 .
      I wish I knew what kind of cake I want. If only I wasn’t that indecisive!

  7. Emily says:

    YAY for shopping! I think that’s always one of my guilty pleasures. Those boots and the tights you’re wearing are both absolutely adorable!
    And happy [almost] birthday! I love that we share the same birthday month. January babies. (:

  8. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Happy Birthday Month. I’m digging those blue suede booties. I can’t wait to see them paired with more fun and funky tights. Your book sounds good, and I have a window seat, along with a fluffy window seat pillow, in the master bedroom. It’s perfect for curling up with a book, although it’s way too cold this time of year to sit by the window. It’s great in the summer though.

  9. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh you lucky little ducky, you!! I’ve never even seen that pumpkin tea before! Those booties are so cute (even though I think ankle boots look ridiculous on my little chicken legs! Haha!). And I SO wish I had a bay window with a seat! It’s one of the things on the list of my dream house…that I WILL own someday! 😉

    Your current triumph makes me TRIUMPHANTLY HAPPY!!! Oh my gosh sweetie! I’m so so proud of you! This is amazing! You’ve come so far! Oh if I could just HUG you right now!! 😀

Leave a Reply

