Thinking out loud #6

Looking at the word count of this post I figure it’s best to keep the intro short. It’s Thursday which means only one wonderful thing: It’s time to think out loud again!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. With only crumbs left in my current tin it was high time to get new rouge. A situation I simultaneously like and don’t. Like because who doesn’t enjoy the experience of something new [?!] but don’t because I dislike breaking the little flower imprint into dust. First world problems.

2. High time indeed because I’d never voluntarily leave the house without applying at least some rouge. The simple reason being that I’m as pale as can be. ‘Milk foam’ as Arman might remember me describing it. We’re not just talking winter months here but no real sight of tan during summer, either. Maybe I was born in the wrong century? I’d have been quite fashionable around 1800 if I remember correctly :D.

Rouge

3. Does anybody still have lucky numbers?  Six used to be mine for many years throughtout my childhood so that’s why today’s sixth time of Thinking out loud got me thinking [ha!] of it. I can’t even remember which impact – if any – having one had for me but I know it was the six. For no particular reason or none I can’t think of right now but it was.

4. Random question:  Do you ever turn off your phone?  Until a mere few months ago I hadn’t regularly switched it off. I’ve been making a conscious effort to turn it off for at least a short time every few days since a major scare. Just imagine your phone turning itself off all of the sudden on a day out and about, not accepting your PIN and not working again until a call to the service center the next morning. Nerve-wrecking – and further proof how dependent I’m on technology.

5.  Further proof of taste function beating appearance:

Henna

Do you remember me mentioning the special hair treatment on Monday? That’s the lovely greenish-brown paste right there. Organic deep conditioner might not be the prettiest but smooth and shiny hair for days?  I’ll take the ugliness for that any time.

6. Promise me not to laugh, okay? Good. So … The puzzle  isn’t finished yet. [Didn’t you promise not to laugh??] Granted, I didn’t expect it to me given that a) I haven’t been working consistently on it and b) it had really been ages since my last time. I know it doesn’t look like much [or any] progress at all but there is.  Maybe 1,000 pieces are a little too much to get started again after years without puzzles? Either way, I’ve been trying to think about strategies [that would be my inner planner shining through again] to tackle it. One of those was setting aside all pieces that are part of the sky right away. Because it’ll take a while until I get there when starting at the bottom, right?

Puzzle

7.  One of those strategies was getting my mum to join the puzzle fun, too. Actually, she got curious and suggested helping me herself. I’d say we’re a good team – however, we don’t agree on the strategy I explained above. Don’t mess with my organization!

8. If you’ve seen my post yesterday you’ll know I baked Amanda’s oatmeal bars. One advantage of living on my own is not having to fight for the best piece. So yes, I obviously had one of the middle pieces first. Wouldn’t everybody do that?

Oatmeal bars_glass pan

9. What I didn’t mention, either, was that by baking the bars I put one of my grandma’s Christmas gifts to good use for the first time. These are glass storage containers that double as baking pans. Awesome, right? I’m probably the last person in the world to discover these and I guess you might be thinking: Why didn’t she use them any earlier? Technically I could have used them for storage purposes multiple times already. But same as with my special produce anxiety I always want to wait for just the right occasion to break into new dishes/boxes/you name it.   Just call me special around special items :D.

10. Now that all is said and done for this week – and I should get back to work: Happy Thursday!

Happiness inducing today: Catching up with an old friend I hadn’t seen in years.

Puzzle fiends: Do you follow any strategies when doing a puzzle? Where do you start: left, right, top, bottom?

Random and inspired by Laura after last week’s Thinking out loud post: What time and temperature is it for you right now and where in the world are you? Shed some light on my time and temperature confusion :).

How dependent are you on your phone? Mine’s pretty much attached to me [but not to the degree that I’ll leave it one the table at meal times or during conversations] and I know that level of dependency might not be that good …

23 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #6

  1. lovenataliemarie says:

    I’m with you on being so pale! It’s so hard to get some color. I burn, not tan. -.-
    My lucky number happens to be 7. I don’t know why. It just is. 😉
    I never turn off my phone, but it turns off on me. That’s what I get for having it for 4+ years..
    I can’t wait for the deep conditioner recipe!
    I love your Disney puzzle. I love love love Disney!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s the same for me. Choosing between risking a sunburn or not getting any tan at all. Given that choice I’d rather go pale 🙂 .
      Technology … always a pleasure to work with. Or not.
      The deep conditioner was a store-bought organic brand. Sorry if I was confusing there!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Way to go already when switching off your phone on the regular on certain occasions. I usually just keep mine on in silent mode when at the gym or elsewhere. But I agree our society is way too dependent on phones. It makes me sad to see people sitting opposite or next to each other at a table while looking at their respective phones. Not cool.

  2. Flake And Cake says:

    I never turn my phone off. Never. It is always fully charged and on silent if needed. The understanding is that if you’re given a work phone, you leave it on! I hate breaking into pretty rouge patterns too!

  3. Ms.J says:

    I hadn’t even considered the fact that I never switch my phone off! Poor overworked bugger :-/ . Looking at your puzzle is tempting me to get one.. preferably Disney too! It’s 11:45 am in my end of the world and around 29 degrees celsius 🙂

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m pretty much as pale as can be as well, and while it used to bother me a lot, I actually kind of like it. I’d spend a tonne of time tanning and applying all sorts of creams to get rid of my ‘Casperness,’ as I called it, but it got a little old. I say rock what you’ve got — pale is a lot more rare these days 😀

    As for puzzles, what I do is always finish off the outside first and then work my way in from there. But yeah… 1000 is pretty hefty. If I’m doing something more for fun, the highest I’ll usually go is 500 because otherwise it just takes way too long.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Casperness?! That’s a cute way of describing it and even makes it sound less like a flaw. I’ll still keep up the rouge because it gets annoying when people actually ask if I was sick when not using it. As I said: pale as can be 🙂 .
      Wait … why didn’t you warn me in advance then?? Because yes, 1000 is hefty. Granted, I’d probably still have chosen this puzzle against better advice because, well, it’s Disney!

  5. Julie says:

    I’ve been turning off my phone on weekends and in the late evenings on weekdays. Otherwise, I have to have it on for emergencies.

  6. chasingchels says:

    Ugh I would be screwed without my phone. Seriously, I know no one’s numbers, I have tons of notes and reminders on my calendar…and I officially sound like a first world brat haha. When do you turn your phone off? Mm I made Amanda’s bars this weekend and absolutely fell in love. I finished my batch today, though, and am very sad I have none for tomorrow 😦

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one completely dependent on my phone in terms of phone numbers! Granted, I know my mum’s and a few other numbers but that’s about it. I usually turn my phone off for 15 minutes or so every night during dinner time as I like to eat without distraction in anyway.
      Time to prepare a second batch of bars, I’d say 🙂 .

  7. Irina says:

    Ooo that looks like henna for your hair! Please do share this interesting hair treatment as my hair is in much need of some lovin’ during these cold wintery months. Onto the subject of lucky numbers – mine is 2! I have absolutely no idea why apart from the fact that it’s an even number and I loathe odd numbers.

    Thanks for the email! I’ll get to it as soon as possible, likely right after my sister leaves after her visit this weekend 🙂 Looking forward to catching up via the wonderful world of email!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      All lucky numbers I’ve had so far – though they changed only once or twice so far – have been even: first 6, then 4, then 2. I have a not so secret dislike for uneven numbers, too.
      It was a store-bought Henna treatment so I sadly can’t share a recipe. I bought a colourless one by a German brand at a health food store. Though I’ve heard it’s possible to mix your own but I’m a little scared of messing it up 😉 .
      I hope you had a great weekend with your sister! Looking forward to your mail.

  8. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    You ate the middle bar first. Gasp…what were you thinking? I’m twitching just imaging it. 🙂
    Puzzle tip: always complete the entire frame first, then start to fill in the inside working section by section. Start with the easy to identify stuff first and then the rest will come after. Now I really want to do a puzzle.

  9. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh my gosh, so scary about the phone! I can’t even remember the last time I turned mine off! Definitely something I should probably consider doing though. That is the perfect puzzle strategy to me…and please, with a THOUSAND pieces, I would never expect you to be done with it by now! And when I say by now, I mean RIGHT NOW as I’m writing this…almost a WEEK after you wrote this post! Ha! And for the record, right “now” is 12:35am January 22 and according to my phone that I never turn off, it is a warm and breezy SEVENTEEN degrees! Umm, that would be negative EIGHT in Celsius! 😦

Leave a Reply

