Dream a little dream [of life]

Ask a child for its dream job and it will paint you a vivid image of its future life: being a model. An astronaut. An actress. A princess [okay, you caught me off guard here]. A fireman. When we’re young the world seems exciting and infinite. Most importantly: all of these dreams are considered possible – not out of reach. Children don’t set or see any limits of what they might become. They don’t dwell on whether their dreams are realistic, if they’ll make a proper income through them or the likes. The beauty lies in them trusting that life is offering them all opportunities and it’s just about following dreams. The older the get the less hopeful and more realistic we become in where we see ourselves in the future.

While my dream is still to become – or be? – a journalist I’ve gotten a glimpse into different jobs lately that offered me to see what else I might be interested in. Not even seriously considering these, however, as I’m [sadly?] too realistic to actually let my mind wander off and look into other options. However, I stopped being a dreamer early on. Whichever dream job I announced having there were people making me look at the nitty-gritty details  The same was true now: Just very briefly mentioning it others saw the need to give me a healthy [or hurtful?] dose of reality by running down the not so awesome parts of my [possible] job alternatives: requiring skills I didn’t have [yet?], not being financially stable, … Needless to say I got discouraged and have put the idea on the back burner not even researching it further.

Which made me think that maybe at times we’re giving up on our dreams too early.  Even if you don’t feel like turning your life upside down and take up a new job: what would be wrong about [day-]dreaming a little? Just letting your imagination go wild. Sourcing the possibilities. Letting your mind wander. What are we risking by looking  If anything we might get inspired or inspire others, connect with like-minded dream followers, change our views on certain topics, develop a better understanding of different work fields or show more appreciation in what we have.

While I’m not sure of everything I want in life and where it’ll lead me eventually there’s one thing I can say for a fact: At the end of my life I don’t want to look back and regret choices I did or didn’t make. Further encouragement came my way through a conversation with a close relative when I had already started writing this post. She’s been working in the same job for almost her entire life so far and still thoroughly enjoys it. However, now that her work environment is going to change in the not too distant future she’s been pondering to change jobs one last time. Possibly giving up a well-paid position to turn one of her hobbies into a job – even if it’s not making a lot of money but will allow her to follow her passion. Proof that – even if we don’t dare taking a risk now – it will never be too late to try something new. Letting dream become reality.

And think about it this way: Becoming a princess simply requires marrying a prince after all, too. Easy, isn’t it? Being realistic is good but getting lost in reveries every once in a while and possibly even following along with our dreams is a marvelous way of living life.

MiMM_new

 

Happiness inducing today: An amazing day in Berlin with my mum and meeting Lucie! [yes, recap to come once I’m not about to fall asleep while sitting at the laptop.]

Are you a dreamer or realist? Has this changed throughout your life so far?

Do you follow your dreams or hesitate?

11 thoughts on “Dream a little dream [of life]

  1. lovenataliemarie says:

    I absolutely 100% loved this post. You took my breath away. I had so many infinite dreams when I was younger, but as time progressed, reality did set it. Don’t get me wrong, I do have dreams, but they’re more attainable now. As I’ve grown older, my interests have changed and my dreams have altered quite a lot. Right now, I am at a point where I know what I want because I have a passion for it. I learn new things about myself all of the time. These things only attribute further into my dream for my nearby future. Although some people point out the flaws, I look at all the optimistic points of it. I don’t let their opinions get in the way of my happiness, because in the end, it is my life. I am going to take control of it. I am going to do what makes me happy.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I don’t let their opinions get in the way of my happiness, because in the end, it is my life. You have a great attitude here. Like yours my dreams have become more achievable with time but there are still times when my mind wanders just a little further – often to be stopped in the tracks by others. I value certain people’s opinions too much while simultaneously not trusting my own judgement enough [yet]. Time to work on that!

  2. Ms.J says:

    I’m still so young and a through and through realist..it’s sad really. The dreamer in me left too early in my honest opinion. But I can say, that after reading this, it sparked a tiny flicker in me…and I may start thinking about finding a prince 😉 . Thank you for such an incredible post ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If I had to name any other examples of people chasing their dreams you would have clearly been on that list. I’m inspired by you and glad C has been a help awakening the dreamer in you.

  3. spectacuLAUR says:

    I have been thinking about chasing my dreams A LOT lately and often find myself unable to know what I REALLY want in life. It stinks we let other’s views, opinions, and feedback get the best of us and make us second guess our intuitions. Great post!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      As much as I depend on others’ opinions at times I really wish I could just blind them out not second-guessing decisions that feel right to me. Like you, I can hardly ever tell what I really want in life. Here’s to both of us working that out!

  4. Sarah says:

    I couldn’t agree more with you. For years – decades, really – I have denied myself a job I could be happy with because I though I wasn’t qualified, didn’t have the money to get qualifications etc. It was only a few months ago that I thought “F…k it, I deserve to do something that I like instead of wasting away in a job I hate.” So I took action and suddenly, a lot of things fell into place. Things I hadn’t even dared to dream about before. I still have a long way to go and there’s still a lot of doubt involved, but I’m on the path and I will follow, no matter what. Because life is about living, not just existing.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, you deserve to spend life working in a job you enjoy. Even more awesome that taking the plunge into the unknown has turned out to be great so far with things working out the way you’d hoped for. Thanks for sharing your experiences – it’s inspiring and motivating for people like me who are still unsure about pursuing their dreams.

Leave a Reply

