Thinking out loud #7

What a difference a label makes … Not in terms of diets in case that’s what you were thinking. But if you’ve been reading my blog for a while already you might remember I used to do these ‘random thought’ style posts for a while already. But while they were fun to write I can’t remember I ever got as excited about them as I do now for Thinking out loud. So thank you for the music label, Amanda!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Speaking of labels and now in terms of food after all: Why is it that children [or grown-ups, too, if we’re being honest] enjoy eating one and the same dish or food even more when it comes with a cute label? Going through some of my stuff still stored in my old room at my parents’ I happened upon this gem of a book called “Party recipes for Children”. [Note that even if you don’t speak/read German the Amazon preview has some hilariously old-fashioned pictures to look at.]. Who wouldn’t want to eat Anti-Vampire Soup, Pizza faces or Little Red Riding Hood Salad?! I know you’re curious about the recipes now ;).

2. Why not start a random post with a random picture I took in Berlin? This was too cute to pass.

Street art_Berlin

3. Not looking my age can be a real annoyance when working as a journalist[-to-be]. Sounding young on the telephone doesn’t make things any easier, either. Case in point was one member of a network I was supposed to write an article about deeming it necessary to spell ‘coordinator’ to me. Eh … thank you very much for nothing. And no, I’m not the newspaper’s school intern.

Notizbuch

4. Granted, judging from my current [work] notebook you might doubt my age. In my defense, though, I didn’t buy and choose it myself but just asked my mum if she had a spare one lying around.  Very grown up, no?! It happens to actually be one I got years back, though, and had never used so it went directly into my mum’s stash.

5. When I returned home on Sunday one of the first things my dad asked about my meet-up with Lucie was if she was vegan. Picture his delighted grin when I told him she wasn’t. “So not everyone’s vegan then, huh?” Trust me, I never said anything like that. Oh, sure, just so you know: all bloggers are obviously vegan – even if you didn’t know yet you’d better start chugging soy milk and dousing every meal in nutritional yeast right now to fit the stereotype.

6 . Judging from that graphic I’ve failed at fitting the blogger stereotype all the way. Or wait, let’s see …  Does Journalism count as a form of art? Check. Loves: photography, blogging, family, fashion, obscure [is vegan and organic obscure?] restaurant, … Wow, I’m apparently more stereotypical than I thought. Should I be proud or ashamed?

7. Apparently it has become some kind of trend among the visitors of Berlin’s Museum of Communication to adorn the traffic light in front of the entrance with their bright visitor’s badges.  Note that mine isn’t in the picture …

Berlin January 19th 018

  … because I kept sporting it on my cardigan all day long and didn’t notice until back at home. Woops. Lucie, did you notice? No need to shell out money for brooches or buttons when you can get a bright spark on your clothes for free ;).

Kommunikationsmuseum

8. Sorry I’m not sorry for the constant Disney appearances on the blog. But after Caitlin tweeted her result of this test yesterday I just had to try it and share with you, too. Don’t forget to tell me your result because you know I’m curious!

9. No mention of the puzzle [or better yet its progress] in today’s Thinking out loud. [Note that this doesn’t count.]

10. It’s less than one week until my birthday and I have yet to decide on a cake. It’s about time to make a decision, I guess. If only it wasn’t that hard! [Read on before you judge the childish picture – it all makes sense.]

Source

Happiness inducing today: A kind* stranger at the gym telling me to enjoy my workout and sounding like she meant it. Not something you – or at least I – hear often because far too many people don’t even greet others.

* that’s why I thought the ‘random act of kindness’ graphic was the best fit for the birthday week picture.

What makes you the stereotypical blogger [according to others]?

Do you jaywalk often or are you a goodie-goodie using the cross-walk?

23 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #7

  1. Alex @ therunwithin says:

    oh gosh I do not follow any of those stereotypes either, plus heck no would you ever catch me in that outfit. ha! I kind of love using my old notebooks from the 90s that have random designs on them or just remind me of my childhood. I am a big notebook girl because I have to write things down to remember them.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Notebooks are so underrated these days. I’m glad you’re a fellow fiend because really, what’s not to like? Laptops and smartphones are all nice and well but if I actually want to keep lists or find inspiration when writing pen to paper is still the best.

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Oh goodness can I ever relate to the annoyance of looking so young when it comes to the professional world. I can’t even tell you how many times people have asked me if I’m old enough to be running a business 😆 I keep telling myself that I’ll appreciate it when I’m older… hopefully that’ll be the case. And there’s no such thing as too much Disney. According to the test, I’m Belle… which is lovely since she’s my favourite princess 😀

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Coincidence! Both Caitlin and me got Belle, too. As usual I’m indecisive and can’t pick a favourite princess but Belle fits well in terms of hair colour already.
      There were actually people asking if you were old enough to run a business?! Hearing that I honestly think I shouldn’t rant here.

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    Your dad’s comment had me cracking up. He sounds like such a funny man. & girl, you are not alone being told you look/sound young. I seriously get that I’m 15 all the time. People are amazed to find out I’m 24 and married. Drives me nuts bc you don’t hear me critizing anyones appearance or voice. GR! lol.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, well, I’d say he’s more inadvertent humor 😉 . Most of the time he actually tries to make a joke they’re rather boring. Thinking about all of those unintentional situations, however … Aaah, the memories 😀 .
      15? That’s the youngest people assumed me to be so far, too. I can see how being married and not taken serious would be even more annoying.

  4. Juli says:

    Oh my gosh I can so relate to the annoyence of having a young face and being tiny in the professional world. When I was working for a bank 2 years ago I constantly heard things like: Are you the new intern? Why is the intern in that meeting, too? Aren’t you here a little too long for an internship? Is that really a job for an intern? SO ANNOYING!
    Apparently I am Snow White. I am happy with that result as she’s my favorite 🙂
    That blogger physic picture is just hilarious! I fit no stereotype outfit or job-wise but I am a newlywed and enjoy most things in the LOVE category 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      So true: being small adds to the young look and makes it even more difficult to be taken serious. And you still have to deal with it by now?! That’s really annoying.
      Outfit-wise I’m not a proper blogger either, apparently, but I think it’s much more about the hobbies and interests in anyway 🙂 . It’s the inside that counts after all, right?

  5. Flake And Cake says:

    I need Anti-Vampire Soup in my life!
    Love that Berlin picture. So our plans are to come to Berlin and Hamburg for absolutely sure this year. We’re not sure when, maybe for my birthday in April. Either way, as soon as we have a date I’ll let you know 🙂

  6. Julie says:

    I love when downtowns have art everywhere – San Francisco area and surprisingly Laguna Beach and Long Beach near me do this. Happy almost birthday!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s why I could just spend a day walking around Berlin: you’ll happen upon random bits of art – intended or not – everywhere and they add a lot to the overall atmosphere. Just like searching hidden object àlà ‘I spy’.

  7. katalysthealth says:

    Oh man, Im clearly not a blogger according to that thing!! Im like the awkward turtle of blogging…I really don’t fit anywhere lol redneck, athlete,stubborn, total tomboy yet married to a man who treats me like a princess. Yep…don’t see that on the list anywhere..
    My bday is coming up soon too!! I’m planning on making myself a giant cookie cake and decorating it with plenty of frosting! My hubby is taking me to The Cheesecake Factory so that I can get cheesecake for my bday so I figured I would make something less traditional for a bday cake 🙂 As long as it has frosting though. Im not going THAT un-traditional!!
    HAPPY ALMOST BIRTHDAY!!!

  8. lovenataliemarie says:

    Haha those names did get my interested in reading that book now!
    What an adorable notebook, haha. 🙂
    Haha no shame, we all have similar interests.
    I love Disney, so it’s quite alright with me. 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Intriguing, no 😉 ? I’m trying to remember how many of those recipes I actually prepared and if they looked just as good. Probably not.
      Watch out for many more Disney mentions now that nobody told me to stop 🙂 .

  9. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Seriously?! I got SNOW WHITE! So I took it again…because obviously that thing is all kinds of wrong and I got TIANA! What the WHAT?! 😯

    Your blogger stereotype comment made me giggle! Yeah, I do sprinkle just about everything with nutritional yeast! haha! And I can’t tell you HOW many people I work with think I’m vegan or vegetarian!

Leave a Reply

