Pre-birthday eats and treats

It’s What I ate Wednesday! But not just any old Wednesday  … it’s my birthday! So while you’re reading this I’m either sleeping, cooking my birthday lunch because I get to eat lunch with my family for once today or elsewise just relaxing. We actually don’t have a lot planned but simply plan on having an awesome day. And thinking about it: what better day for a [mid-week] birthday than the [blog] world’s biggest [food] party? Clearly not any old day of the week. Thanks for hosting my birthday party WIAW, Jenn! Seeing as my birthday’s just today this week’s What I ate Wednesday is all about what I ate pre-birthday.

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

We don’t even need to talk temperatures again for me to say it: All I want to eat these days is comfort food. On Saturday when I just couldn’t decide if I wanted to go with a German classic [mashed potatoes] or Indian-style [Masala beans] I just fused the two cuisines. Though potatoes turned into parsnips topping kidney beans in a warmly spiced tomato-based sauce.  Strange but good comfort food. The brussels sprouts? They made a surprise appearance in the dish, too. Any guesses? [Recipe coming soon.]

Bean Bake

Speaking of comfort food I can’t deny the phyllo pastry obsession is still going strong. Rather than considering me stuck in a food rut which I am I’d go with taste-testing the recipe to perfection. Just to make sure that if somebody decides on trying it [which I obviously suggest :)] it’ll turn out a hit. Selfless blogger dedication, don’t you think ;)? And this time I even went with the kidney beans listed in the recipe again. I’d be curious to know if any of you noticed the mismatched pictures in my recipe post showing the chickpea variation … Clearly a lesson learned in paying attention when posting. But it’s delicious either way.

Phyllo pastry_cranb

Did I ever mention how sweet my dad is at times [when I’m not getting frustrated at internet restrictions ;)]? My sister came over for a short stay at my parents’ to work on a project for university with my mum on the weekend. To fuel their hard work my dad bought some fancy chocolates. Because I was involved in the project [as a photographer], too, I figured I should get my share, too. Hard to make a choice here – but not if you know your preferences …

January_chocolates

It might not have been my birthday on the weekend yet but my favourite dessert – ice-cream [or the healthified version of it] – still had to feature.  Our dear Fairy Broccoli Mother came up with this creamy and colourful creation that is simply perfect. While I don’t count macros anymore some of you might be happy to hear that this wicked delicious ice cream packs in a protein punch, too. And either way a little bit of protein won’t hurt anybody.

Blueberry Protein Ice Cream

You might remember my recent confession of non-seasonal berry preys ? Well, I was lucky enough to find another package – okay, it may or may not have been four packages – on offer so who could have resisted? And I know at least Emily will agree when saying that one clamshell of berries is really just one serving after all. Five a day …

blueb

Before ending it here I want to say once more how much your understanding and kind comments on my last post meant to me. It was another one of those I hesitated publishing but it’s good to know I’m not alone. Thank you!

With that I’m off to and wishing you a happy Wednesday! Eat some extra delicious food to celebrate me today ;). Kidding. Sort of.

Happiness inducing today: My progress on the puzzle.

Do you eat differently on weekday birthdays than on normal days?

What’s your favourite birthday dessert? I’m not a fan of [regular] cakes anymore but I do have plans of preparing a special belated birthday dessert on the weekend.

https://letsgetupandlive.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/getting-flaky-with-phyllo-balsamic-butternut-kale-pastry-for-one/

36 thoughts on “Pre-birthday eats and treats

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    IT’S YOUR BIRTHDAY YOU CAN EAT WHAT YOU WANT TO! Eat what you want to! Eat what you want to! You would eat too, if it were… YOUR BIRTHDAY… Ba h ah aha! I am a terrible lyricist! But you get the picture!!!! I hope you have an utterly phenomenal birthday! 🙂

  2. Ms.J says:

    Happy Birthday girl <3!! Wow that is some selfless dedication you got going 😉
    Those chocolates look like a work of art, *almost* too good to eat! Yes ice-cream is best eaten on a cold day so you can take your time without sitting with a melty mess after 3.5 seconds :p
    I always request my Sis to make her peppermint chocolate/caramel fridge tart for my birthday..let us know what you decide on 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Claire! Hugs and presents are going to happen but cake/birthday dessert will wait until the weekend. Oh, and I’m sorry [or not?] to say the chocolates all happily ended their lives already 😉 .

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Happy Birthday once again!!
    The chocolates are so pretty – almost too pretty to eat! But then again, I would DIVE into them if they were standing in front of me.
    Enjoy your day! Going to check out that Ice Cream Recipe! I hope it fits my current diet…..

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t hate me for saying it but these luckily weren’t filled 🙂 . I’m not a fan of filled chocolates but making the decision here was tricky in anyway. Yes, one of the hardest in life 😉 .

  4. Emily says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! xoxo

    I hope you’re enjoying ever second of your day and every ounce of food that you can get your hands on. You deserve it!
    Here’s to a beautiful and successful year ahead for you. xoxo

  5. lovenataliemarie says:

    I know you’ll probably be receiving this late, but HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEAUTIFUL! I hope you had an amazing day! 😀
    All of your eats look absolutely delicious. Mouthwatering..
    I can’t wait for the recipe.
    I love ice cream and i wouldn’t mind snagging a chocolate. 😉

  6. Irina says:

    Happy (belated) birthday!!!! I hope it was an amazing celebration, you deserve it 🙂 Cheers to being another year older, wiser, and more beautiful by the day ❤

  7. Tina Muir says:

    That looks wonderful! I LOVE the idea of using parsnips for the topping!!!! Love parsnips, but never know what to use them for other than roasting with a roast dinner! Will have to give this a try! Glad you had a wonderful day 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m the other way: I’ve never had them roasted yet. Because as soon as I’m getting my hands on some parsnips the very next moment they’re already mashed 😉 . Definitely a great side to try.

  8. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    “Fairy Broccoli Mother” huh? So now I’m not Snow White OR Tiana…I’m a freaking senile old lady?!?! You’re lucky I like you! 😉 xoxox

    And even though I blew up your Twitter on your birthday, I feel it necessary to tell you again in my little fairy broccoli bombing…HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LADY!!!!

Leave a Reply

