Thinking out loud #8

You really know how to make a girl feel special on her birthday. Thank you so much for all the mails, texts and Tweets yesterday. Every single one was a little happy spark in my day and made me feel loved. Back to the regular scheduled program now … It’s Thursday after all and time for some Thinking out loud hosted by Amanda who’s currently enjoying the sunshine and Disney (!!!) in California and I don’t which of the two things I’m more jealous of …

Thinking-Out-Loud

[Note that I drafted this post pre-birthday knowing I wouldn’t have the time and internet permission on my birthday. Hence the lack of birthday detail mentions :).]

1. Were you confused by the years celebrated on a certain birthday as a child, too? I remember explaining to a friend in 7th grade that your – just taking this as an example as it fits – 23rd birthday actually meant  celebrating the end of your 23rd year and start of the 24th. Meaning that wishing somebody a happy 23rd year of life on their 23rd birthday was a little late. She was confused ;).

2.  The birthday wishes made me think that a blogger birthday calendar might be a good idea. As much as I wish I did I don’t know every single blends or other blogger’s birthdays and would be glad to find out so I can return the well wishes.

… and yes, I could totally see myself use that very printable to write them down :). So cute!

3. No matter how much I love my family some of their habits get annoying after a while. Call it OCD but doesn’t everybody know how to load a dishwasher the right way? There clearly is one best and most effective way ensuring all dishes get clean and reducing the time needed for unloading. Why, yes, I do have a system.

Spülmaschine

4. Long legs, a huge chest and barely weighing a gram too much: no, that’s not the description of a model. Far from it. What is is: spiders. That’s the downside of living in a countryside house: those ‘Weberknechte’ are everywhere.. The worst is when they decide to join you in the shower cabin allured by the steamy hot water. The horror. Forget the scary movies – this is enough for me already.

5. Finally word is spread of the amazingness of phyllo dough – obviously just because I started it ;). And can I just say how perfect the title of this post is? If you’re still not convinced you need some buttery hugs in your life then I’m at a loss.

6. Judging from the looks of my poor fingers I can’t be trusted around knives anymore. Just during the last few days I’ve cut myself three times. Actually, we’re not just talking knives but sharp paper edges, too. It’s a dangerous world we live in …

Cutting bell peppers

7. Dear winter, I’d call you beautiful – okay, I do – if only you weren’t so damn cold. But yes, still beautiful with the thick snow blanket covering the surroundings.

Snow_2014

8. Speaking of the cold: Can we talk about a current blessing and downfall of mine? Built-in seat heating. A blessing because – let’s face it – some mornings nothing else will get me out of my warm bed than the promise of at least staying semi-warm during my commute to work. The downfall? Confusing the car with said bed. Does anybody else get all dozy when cranking the heat up all the way in the car? I need to really focus and let down the car windows for the freezing 5 °F wind chill to wake me up again. Woops.

9. Another blessing – and this time without any downsides: my new thermos. You’ve heard me talk about my need for warm lunches before and this one’s absolutely perfect to ensure those at the office. Best investment recently.

Thermosbehälter

10. Tomorrow’s the last day of my internship at the newspaper and I wish it never ended. Cheer me up, please?!

Happiness inducing today: Finishing the post on my birthday I’ll obviously go with the birthday wishes again <3!

Blogger birthday calendar: Good idea? Bad idea? Unless you want to keep it a secret: Tell me your birth date and expect congrats coming your way on your special day :)!

Do you agree there’s a certain way to load dishwashers? Possible answers are: yes or heck, yes!

Any favourite chick lit books?

36 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #8

  1. Ms.J says:

    A blogger birthday calendar sounds genius! I actually had never thought so deeply on what age was being celebrated, but now that you’ve put it in my head I have a feeling it’ll feature in many discussions to come 😉
    Uhh dratted papercuts! Forever getting them. Who knew a tiny little slit could hurt so bloomin’ much!? Careful with the knife cuts girl..keep those digits safe. Wow that snow pic <3…never experienced a winter like that

  2. jessielovestorun says:

    I’m loving the idea of a blogger birthday calendar. If you end up putting one together, youll have to let me know.

    Instead of looking at your internship ending, look at it as a fresh beginning. Not only have you had the chance to work for a wonderful company, but you’ve grown as a person & became more knowledgeable. It’s only a stepping stone my dear ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ooh the leaky lid stories I – or better yet: my lunch bag – can tell … This one’s pretty awesome, though. It’s totally leak-proof and actually kept my food warm – previous ones slacked.
      I added your birthday to the calendar.

  3. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Ms. Polkadot!
    That blogger birthday calender is a wonderful idea!
    And, OMGEEEE- my cousin and I used to have debates about the birthday age thing ALL the time when we were younger.
    Have you read any Jane Green Books? or Jennifer Weiner ones? I don’t think I’ve read a chic lit book of their’s that I didn’t like.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Shashi!
      I’m curious: which stance did you have in those birthday age debates?? And I’m glad you like the birthday calendar idea. How about telling me yours for a start 🙂 ?
      I’ll have to look out for books from either of those authors!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Which stance did you take on the birthday age debate? Good to know we weren’t the only ones pondering it.
      I’ll have to look up the authors you mentioned because I don’t think I’ve heard of them before.
      Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Oh goodness… don’t even get me started on my family’s annoying habits — I just spent a week with them and there’s nothing I want more than to get back home so that I can go back to living alone 😆 I love them tonnes, but there were definitely moments where we all had to go our separate directions because we were starting to drive each other nuts. But family is family… and family is wonderful 🙂

    Muah to you!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      A whole week sharing an apartment with my family? I’d rather avoid that for the sake of each of us – or at least get a good ‘recovery’/alone time period afterwards 😉 . But yes, family is wonderful.
      Thank you, gorgeous ❤ !

  5. Ashley @MilesonOats says:

    Haha I died over the dishwasher rant! I feel the SAME way about my families lack of coordination. I mean, who puts mugs in the bottom half and bowl in the top half?! Drives me absolutely mad. I totally agree there are rules to loading dishwashers! so HECK, YES!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      When exactly in March? You’ll obviously celebrate Birthday Month 😉 but for the congrats it’d be awesome to know a date.
      How I wish we’d had a dishwasher at work! Don’t even ask me about the dirty dishes situation …

  6. livliveslife says:

    So sorry I missed it – happy happy (belated) birthday!

    #4 from above: totally scary. I hate spiders soooo much. While I’ve never had one in the shower, I have plenty in my room…yikes.

    I love the idea of a blogger birthday calendar! Mine’s October 20. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Never mind – belated birthday wishes just lengthen the celebration 🙂 .
      That’s the downside of old countryside houses: I swear the spiders are everywhere! Let’s not even get into seeing one in your room shortly before going to bed …
      Just added you to my calendar draft sheet!

Leave a Reply

