Keeps getting better

Okay, fine, I know we’re all a little rushed at times – but in what kind of an exreme hurry is 2014?! Are we actually three days into February already? I’m in denial. Especially since my birthday approached way too quickly and it seems like it had been days since though the month itself still was so short. Time is confusing.

It’s been five days since my birthday already and I still haven’t done a recap of any kind. In fact, I haven’t even considered doing one though I’d planned to before the day itself. Knowing I didn’t have any special plans I’d meant to keep it short hopefully triumphantly accouncing my defeat over my parents in board games :).  My decision not to follow up on the day, however, was because some things did happen. Only these weren’t the happy and joyful memories I’d hoped for. But I didn’t come to whine today.

Good things

A year ago this would have gotten me down. A year ago I might not have been able to take a step back and re-evaluate the situation. A year ago – yes, a year ago. Things have changed. Ever since I started focusing on the positives and counting sparks of happiness, though, I haven’t allowed a single day to pass on a negative note. Just looking at the day a little more closely – or actually, it didn’t take long at all – I remember all of your sweet comments and mails that truly made my day. How could I consider a day a fail when I’d been the recipient of so much love and positivity after all? [And when there was snow and I didn’t have to shovel – win!]

snow

There still were a number of issues that really got to me and will require further working on them [note: not related to food]. Nothing that’s easily wiped away or brushed off like an annoying fly but such is life. Repeating it in my head like a mantra I started to believe this: If my birthday was the lowest point I’d been in a while it might have been destiny’s plan.  Meaning that from now on it could only keep getting better. And guess what? It did. I still won’t say things have made a  lasting 180° turn-around but I’ve seen and experienced a profound change and encouragement already. So no, maybe my birthday wasn’t the most amazing in what happened but it once more offered a learning experience and opportunity of growth for me. And isn’t that what birthdays actually are supposed to be?

Birthday and more 016

If we trust in the good it will come to our lives. Maybe not the very moment we feel we need it the most. But persistence and believing in good times to follow the less stellar ones will pay off. Bad days happen no matter if on our birthdays on any other day. That’s life and it’s okay. Like a good friend reminded me: we shouldn’t overvalue a specific date like our birthday or a certain holiday. When we don’t it’s easier to accept that bad days are simply part of being. We will go on. Things will work out. And that’s marvelous.

Happy Monday to all of you!

MiMM_new

Happiness inducing today: Talking to a blend via Skype. Oh, the blessings of technology [though I’m still not perfect at using it.]

 

Feel free to share your thoughts.

What did you do on the weekend?

Is there still any snow where you are? If so I hope you don’t have to shovel yourself, either :).

 

 

15 thoughts on “Keeps getting better

  1. lovenataliemarie says:

    I love how positive this post is. Seriously. it’s amazing how much positivity radiates through this post. I’m happy to hear that your birthday was a learning experience. You’ve grown so much, and I am so proud of you. Always sending you good vibes lovely. ❤

    Have an amazing week!

  2. Beth @ Mangoes and Miles says:

    I don’t know how it’s February already. I swear it was just like summer of last year. And before you know it, we’ll be 80 and in rocking chairs drinking green smoothies because all our teeth have fallen out. Also, HOW DID I MISS YOUR BIRTHDAY?!?! Happy belated, lady! ❤ I'm sorry things kind of sucked, but you've got the right attitude. You're allowed to be down and torn up about it, but at the end of the day, the world is always moving forwards and you can choose to move with it or stay where you are, and I think you have that figured out. 🙂 I hope you had a fantastic weekend and an even better week!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Soon enough we’ll be spotting the first grey hairs … But I think that – unless a small miracle happens – you’ll have to sip your green smoothies without me 😉 .
      Thanks for the birthday wishes – belated or not. Dwelling on what happened wouldn’t give me a chance to relive my birthday once more, either, and at least for some of what happened I can see it did for a reason. So yes, the world did move on and it will continue.
      Happy Monday!

  3. Ms.J says:

    I’m sorry your birthday didn’t go perfectly..but as you stated so brilliantly, there are always other things in a day to be happy about. I think any time than I’ve had what I would consider a ‘bad’ day I need to read this 🙂 . Can you believe I have never used Skype!?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      There really is a lot of pressure to both turn birthdays into a big deal and be happy all day. Not that I was opposed to either but it should be okay to have a normal or – hopefully not but it happens – wonky day, too. A good friend reminded me: Why not see every day as a reason to celebrate life 🙂 ?

  4. Sarah says:

    Aw, so sorry your birthday wasn’t the joyous occasion you’d hoped. But major props for continuing to look for the positive and not letting the situation get you down. Such an admirable quality.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Sarah! It got me down at first but the moment I reminded myself that every day can be happy or sad and that it’s okay and normal – regardless of whether it’s a special occasion or not – I started seeing things more clearly.

  5. Emily says:

    Your positivity in this post is absolutely beautiful. It brought tears to my eyes.
    Life is a series of ups and downs and it feels like there are either a million ups in a row, or a million downs in a row. It’s exhausting to make sense of. But it’s life and trying to control it only creates unnecessary stress.
    Creating mantras and repeatedly doing things that make you smile is the key to finding happiness, I think. Positivity shines light on dark situations and makes them much easier to handle. (:

    SO proud of you.

Leave a Reply

