Thinking out loud #9

Short and sweet [you’ll notice my trouble here in #1] all I’ll say right now is: Let’s get celebrating the randomness with some Thinking out loud. Thanks to Amanda for hosting!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Thinking about myself sitting here and coming up with this post the first thing I can think of is that I have an unusual way of writing. Not only when it comes to blog posts but it’s something that surprised my colleagues at the newspaper, too: I start by writing whatever I’m working on at some random point, just letting my thoughts flow and write the introduction last. Coming up with a headline or post title is usually the very last step for me.

2. Can we just agree that frozen blueberries are a fantastic snack? When I was mentioning them yesterday I wasn’t talking about store-bought frozen blueberries [meh!] but those you buy fresh and freeze yourself. Granted, not a cheap option in winter and requiring that bit more of effort and patience. But so worth it.

Birthday and more 078

3. It’s the 10th birthday of Facebook this week. I’m not sure if that’s reason to celebrate or the time to join in with certain people’s mourning of a rising loss of privacy. Seeing how pretty handy it is, however [or would you remember everybody else’s birthdays without it?], I think I’d go with neither but just keep up my account. Sue me.

4. Slowly but surely I’m starting to get worried by my current klutz status. First the dangers of vegetable chopping, now hurting my toes while cutting my toe nails. Not so happy feet.

5. Oh, and did I mention dropping a glass two days ago? Luckily not one of my favourites but I still wasn’t too happy about the . Keeping my fingers crossed the old saying’s true and luck is headed my way. Definitely not found on the way to the bathroom, though, because I’ve still seen bits and pieces of broken glass ever since.

6. While I was driving back home “Walking on Sunshine” came on the radio and of all things the first thought that popped up in my head was: SingStar! Was anybody else crazy about this game back in the day? I [unsuccessfully] tried to find a throwback picture of one of my birthdays circa 2007 when all we did was sing more or less successful the whole night. For some reason we didn’t have school the next day but my parents had to get up for work and weren’t that enthusiastic about our lovely little concert. Oh, the good old times …

7. Sometimes I feel like the time I save by not cooking legumes from scratch is lost again when fighting with the can opener. Okay, I’m obviously exaggerating but am I the only one who has a hard time opening those lids? Or am I just missing the secret to using the can opener right??

Can opener

8. If you need some distraction of just want to heart to melt right now: These!

9. And speaking of cuteness I probably wasn’t quite altruistic when choosing to write two articles [with different foci] on midwives that included some work shadowing. Just today I got the chance to meet one the most adorable little men – awwwr. I didn’t even dare touching his tiny hands at first because he looked so tiny and fragile in his crib. Only nine days old …

10. Ending this super random post with a recent random purchase. Aren’t you jealous of my fancy ink erasers?!

ink erasers

… which will hopefully inspire me to get some more letters on their way again after I’ve been slacking a little lately.

Happiness inducing today: Some successful sweet and savoury recipe testing.

Happy Thursday!

 

Tell me something random!

Do you remember playing Singstar? What were your favourite songs?

How do you usually write posts? Does anybody else start randomly and finish with the introduction?

 

 

Keep in touch:
Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

12 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #9

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Intros are always the hardest for me to write as well… which is actually why I love my ToL posts — no intros required 😀 And post titles probably take me just as long to come up with as the actual post 😆 I just title them “SOMETHING” until I figure out what I’m supposed to call them.

    Frozen blueberries (and fruit in general) are seriously the best thing ever. The only downside is that I can’t control myself around them at ALL. I can eat pounds and pounds of fruit without even realizing it. Oops?

  2. lovenataliemarie says:

    I always have a hard time with introductions. I always want to start with something creative and not sound so repetitive. Gotta get those creative juices flowing! 😀

    Frozen blueberries are a pure bliss. I love snacking on them and adding them to my oatmeal in the morning. So sweet. So delicious.

    Those pictures did warm my heart! Oh my goodness. SO MUCH CUTENESS. ❤

  3. Health, Love, and Chocolate says:

    I always prefer to freeze my own berries, no mushy berry messes! I am such a klutz that the kitchen has literally become a danger zone. I usually have a vague plan with posts, but random thought posts are the exception, I just sit down and go!

  4. Beth @ Mangoes and Miles says:

    I write the same way too–for anything I do, whether it be an essay, a post, or anything else, I always save the intro and title for last. (Well, on some posts I just write a rambling, crappy intro, but we’re not counting those…) I feel it’s always so much easier to encapsulate your writing if you know exactly what your writing is about, and sometimes that can only be achieved by actually writing it.

    I CANNOT open cans without completely mutilating them. I blame it on my left-handedness because the world was created for right-handed people (seriously, think about it the next time you’re opening a door or using scissors), but I don’t really know if that’s the cause. I always just end up half-shredding the top, though. It’s mildly inconvenient when shredded parts fall in…

  5. jessielovestorun says:

    You think your one glass break is bad – I’ve broken 3… yes THREE glasses (not including my recent measuring cup) within the last month and half. It’s quite a tradegy over here 😦 Ha Ha!

  6. Ms.J says:

    Ohhh now I’m worried..first the digits..now the tootsies!? I hate handling the tin opener – it doesn’t help that I’m certain our one is 50 years old! – so I get the bean tins with a pull-off top.
    Hmm that is an unusual way of writing 🙂

  7. Laura says:

    I’ve never heard of Singstar! As for my posts….a lot of times I actually write a post BECAUSE I think of an introduction and then I’m lost for the transition from the intro to the actual post!

  8. Taryn says:

    The introduction was almost always the last thing I wrote for my college papers. The conclusion usually came pretty naturally as I finished writing the bulk of the paper.. and then I’d just reword that for the intro. So much easier than stressing about the intro and making sure the real content works with it.

    I have three can openers because sometimes I just can’t get one of them to work with the can I need opened. They’ve always given me a hard time hahahah.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Three and none that cooperates properly? Boo. Next time I should post a picture of my mum’s ancient one that I feel is at least a dozen years old. And that I have yet to open a single (!) can with though she swears it worked a charm.

  9. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I always start with my intros but titles usually come last since most of the time I have no idea what direction I’m going in! Ha! And how about today’s post? Umm, I started writing it Tuesday night and thought I was pretty much done with only a need to “tidy it up” last night but somehow I swear I ended up changing the whole thing save for ONE paragraph! Haha!

    I cannot and WILL NOT eat frozen fruit! Ouch! HOW do you people DO that?! Hurts my teeth just thinking about it…and I have goosebumps! 😯 But I have been dipping into my freezer stash and warming my fruit over the last week or so…can’t believe I went this long into the winter without any berries! I forgot about them!

  10. ranchcookie says:

    I always pick a title after I write the post too! I honestly feel like I am about the only blogger that doesn’t spend any time on the intro of my posts haha I have been dealing with teachers talking about them for the past 4 years and I just feel like this is my space and there are no rules so I never worry about how good the intro is I just write what comes to mind!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m right there with you. As long as we’re not talking grammatical errors I’d say your blog is really your space. No requirements to be met in terms of length of introductions or else.

Leave a Reply

