Good good links #25

Whew, it’s been a whirlwind of a day and there are a million thoughts flying around in my head so I’d better keep it short for your sake ;). It’s Sunday and it’s time for some good reading and giving a shout out to some great writers again. One thing I noticed was that – at least for me, does anybody else feel the same? – there was a particular lot of more serious posts in the blog world that really got me thinking this past week. Definitely not a bad thing in my book so if you know of any more or have thoughts on those mentioned here: Let me know your opinion or share the links! There we go!

Enjoy your Sunday!

Good good links

Good good [food for thought]

Paleo: The Latest Diet Trend or Actually Legit? via The Little Honey Bee

With the plethora of different views out there deciding on how we’re ‘supposed’ to eat can be confusing. Go with what feels best for you right now.

How ‘The Biggest Loser’ Sends an Unhealthy Message. via Better with Sprinkles

Will there ever be an end to the insanity of glamorizing weight loss no matter to which unhealthy extends?

Do you tell people in ‘real life’ that you blog? via Sprouts ‘N’ Squats

It’s a tricky question to answer with many factors to keep in mind  [for me]. Yes? No? Some?

Vegan: Dünn, schön und nie mehr krank? via Totally Veg!

A German post among the English ones for once: Debunking the myths and exaggerated expectations surrounding veganism. No diet is the cure-it-all.

When Instagram photos deceive- Food photos via The Big Man’s World

Smaller plates to make meals look bigger?! Comparison never ends – and:  isn’t there more to worry about than how much others eat?

Good good [advice and inspiration]

Can exercise really boost your mood? via Hungry Healthy Girl

Improved well-being, feel-good hormones and reduced anxiety – scientific proof for why we’re enjoying our workouts so much.

Calorie Counting, Fat Fears & Trusting Yourself via The Little Honey Bee

Just like our lives our diets are ever-evolving and we’re doing best when letting our intuition guide us. It can be scary at first but is worth sticking with like Amy’s journey shows. Awesome post!

January Traffic and Income Report via Pinch of Yum

Not just an interesting look at the cost and income of a professional blog but great tips for the right mindset when growing a blog.

Good good [things to make you smile]

National Flags Made From Each Country’s Traditional Foods via Marvelous

Don’t play with your food – but make exception like this one.  I’ll have breakfast in Vietnam, lunch in Italy and dinner in Lebanon, stopping for a snack in the United Kingdom . What’s your travel route?

Are These Mind-Blowing Products Real? via BuzzFeed

… and I still think Spoonachos would be a genius idea. I’ll take the Vacuum Dustpan, though.

14 Things That Are Perfectly Acceptable Breakfast Foods, According To Us via HuffPost Food

Because really, how much different from biscuits and gravy are disco fries? And I know certain people agree on the cold pizza ;).

Do You Eat Your Age? via BuzzFeed

Apparently I eat like a mature adult. Is that positive or negative? It doesn’t sound … funny.

Good good [food]

23 On-The-Go Breakfasts That Are Actually Good For You via BuzzFeed

If you feel like changing up your first meal of the day here’s plenty to choose from.

Creamy Millet Porridge via edible perspective

Not your average porridge – another great option for breakfast.

Honey-Roasted Peanut Butter Banana Cream Pie (No Bake!) via love & olive oil

Honey, peanut butter and banana? A triplet made in heaven.

My Favourite Vegan Chili with Homemade Sour Cream via Oh She Glows

It’s no secret there can never be enough chili recipes and this looks like an awesome one to add to my collection.

Happiness inducing today: Friends who are listening to my rambles at any given time. Thank you!

Keep in touch with me!
Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Where do you stand in terms of sharing your blog with ‘real life’ contacts?

12 thoughts on “Good good links #25

  1. Emily says:

    I always get so excited when I open these posts and I haven’t read very many of the articles- I don’t know how I missed them!
    The comparison game on instagram (and all social media) is something that really gets to me. That article hit the nail on the head!

  2. Ms.J says:

    What would I do without these kind of posts!? For one, I would miss out on all these fabulous reads and things to drool over..That peanut butter banana cream pie! Wowza!
    “Calorie Counting, Fat Fears & Trusting Yourself ” – Amy nailed it brilliantly 😀
    And I haven’t told anyone about my blog..not even family; I don’t want to feel restricted in telling things as it is. But that’s just me.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s the same way for me as I mentioned in my comment on Jan’s post: I’d censor myself if I knew family members or friends were reading. For now, I enjoy having my blog as an outlet for my thoughts.

  3. lovenataliemarie says:

    I’ve noticed this week was filled with heavy topics, but I enjoyed reading everyone’s view point about certain topics. It was a nice way to see different views and views that are similar to mine. 🙂

    Great links this week!

Leave a Reply

