Smile at the grouchy gym guy

I’d originally planned a different post for today but the weekend didn’t go according to plan – don’t we all know how that happens? [Almost ]Everything in life happens for a reason, though, ahd this apparently was meant for me to consult my drafts folder again. A good hint by destiny, indeed, because I’m not sure this post I wrote a while ago [you’ll get a better idea of that while if you continue reading] would have seen the light of the world or at least this blog any other way. After some slightly heavier posts last week I figured it’d be just the right post for a marvelous Monday with our favourite healthy diva Katie.

MiMM_new

Friday night after a not-so-swell day of work all I wanted was to get in a quick workout to boost my mood. Colour me not so happy when my ‘favourite’ trainer was in charge at the gym. I’m not usually one to snark about people in public but with this guy I’d never been surprised they usually let him work closing shifts when hardly anybody was working out anymore. He’s so far from your cheery, jolly trainer but rather one of those salacious guys you’d rather avoid altogether. From his appearance alone he’s not one you’d want to be around as the only woman in the gym. Hence why I usually try to get past him as soon as possible. A quick hello, grabbing the key for the locker room from his hand praying he won’t make any remarks trying to be witty. I’ll just take my key, thankyouverymuch. Not.

At the gym_January 2014

When I hopped off the elliptical and meant to make my way up to the changing room once more just quickly getting my key back he came about with one of his annoying comments. Typical. While I’d been able to relax during my workout this simple stupid little remark reminded me yet again why I disliked him. So while changing clothes I intented to simply drop off the key and leave the gym without even saying goodbye because I hoped he’d be in the weights section in anyway.

Yet sometimes I act against my original intentions on purpose because deep down I know it’ll do some magic. It’s funny but I’ve found that in doing this I’m not only surprising myself but others who likely expected a different [negative] reaction, too. And positive surprises are always welcome. Against my hopes grouchy gym guy was hanging out in the entrance area when I left so at least a short exchange of goodbyes couldn’t be avoided.And that’s where I surprised myself: Instead of happily rushing off after he’d – in charming grouchy fashion nonetheless – wished me a nice evening and happy New Year [four days early at that time, actually] I turned around asking if he’d had a nice Christmas. Apparently totally taking him by surprise because he seemed almost insecure answering. When he gave back the question and asked me if I’d gotten any great presents I flashed him a huge smile at the thought of my gifts and responded a happy yes!  Somehow, this one moment changed our ‘relationship’ [it seems odd to talk about having any kind of relationship with a random trainer at the gym you hardly see a few times a week]. A mere few weeks later  [or now: a few days ago on my last trip to this gym in a while] we got along so well we were actually talking for 15 minutes [or more?] like good friends. While – as mentioned – I’d previously have preferred not spending any more than 15 seconds with this guy.

Why, yes, I just wrote an entire post about smiling. Because in my opinion, smiling can never be overrated. A simple smile might not change the whole world. But it can bring a little joy into somebody else’s life – and your own.

Happiness inducing today: A walk with my dad.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Are there any grouchy guys in your life that you’d rather avoid altogether? I dare you to just give them a little smile or chat them up – there’s nothing to loose.

Have you ever surprised yourself by acting against your intentions? Tell me your stories!

 

18 thoughts on “Smile at the grouchy gym guy

  1. Emily says:

    Um, I love this. Lovelovelove.
    Smiles are one of the most powerful things in the Universe, aren’t they? And yet, we never smile enough. I made a promise to myself years ago that I would smile as much as possible, no matter what. Some days are easier than others but it’s always worth the effort.

    xoxo

  2. Ms.J says:

    You’ve got a smile plastered on my serious face so I’d say this post is a winner 🙂
    It sounds so simple to turn around such a negative situation be acting positively, against your intentions..but I know that it takes a good amount of strength! I can’t recall a time where I’ve acted against my instinct -pleasantly- but not too long ago I kind of blew my top when I only meant to speak calmly! Lol embarrassing. But it made for a halirious little tale 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If I had had any intention with this post that making somebody smile would have been just that so thank you for letting me know. Acting against our intentions gets easier with practice. Maybe just surprise yourself by smiling at your reflection in the mirror the next time you have one of those days 🙂 .

  3. livliveslife says:

    That is such a neat story! You’re absolutely right, though – the power of a smile is amazing, whether giving it or receiving it. I think especially at this time of the year when the weather turns and people start getting moodier anyway.

    Great post!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      When it comes to this particular guy he’s never been anything but grouchy summer like winter before. But in general I guess, yes, some people are just winter-moody – and who’d blame them much?

  4. Irina says:

    It’s really amazing what some raw, true human interaction can do to people in mere seconds right? One smile can turn a neutral (or negative!) relationship into a friendship. I’m completely fascinated by such human interactions! A smile and a laugh has helped me so much in my career, it really is a secret weapon that more people need to learn 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s really fascinating. If it wasn’t to me before this happening would have had me a believer right there. And it’s interesting you’re bringing career and job world into the game – I’d never given much thought on that before though it really makes sense.

Leave a Reply

