Breakfast experiments [Vanilla Pear Protein Bread Pudding]

Deliciously hearty whole-grain bread and sweet pears in a creamy vanilla cinnamon sauce with a protein punch. All topped with fresh raspberries for a breakfast delight on a Sunday morning – or any day.

Bread pudding_close

Sundays are for sleeping in. For curling up in bed with a good book. For having a leisurely breakfast. All of these happened for me yesterday and the latter resulted in a new recipe.ย  Not only in an effort to make good use of the extra time and to keep things interesting but also to figure out which diet works best for me, I got creative in the kitchen. If you’ve been reading health and fitness magazines, blogs or websites for any time you’ll have come across many different claims. Some say you should load up on carbs at breakfast, others recommend protein for a satisfying meal to keep you going for hours. Not one to judge before I’ve walked in those shoes myself – or should I say: before I’ve eaten a few spoonfuls of this, a few of that ๐Ÿ˜‰ ?! – I decided to go the high[er] protein route yesterday.

Pudding_II

It’s been a while since I had sweet bread pudding but for some reason it felt like a Sunday-worthy dish to try. Bread pudding is one of those recipes that seem really involved, maybe even intimidating when they actually just require washing a few more dishes.

Pudding

In the end, I’ve found it’s highly individual and – at least for me – even depends on the very day. With all that in mind, I’ve been changing up my meals more than I used to before lately. It’s always a game of trial and error – but a delicious fame at that for the most part. This time it was vanilla-licious. And pear-licious because I’ve been on a serious pear kick these past weeks.

bread pudding_spoonful

Vanilla Pear Protein Bread Pudding

  • 1 slice of stale* whole grain bread [preferably with lots of seeds for the extra heartiness], cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 of a small pear, chopped
  • 1/2 scoop vegan vanilla protein powder [I used SunWarrior Blend]
  • 1/4 cup silken tofu
  • a scant 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup [optional, depending on how sweet you like it]
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • fresh raspberries
  1. 1. Add the silken tofu, protein powder, almond milk, cinnamon and maple syrup in a bowl. Blend until smooth.
  2. 2. Combine the bread and pear cubes in a small casserole dish.
  3. 3. Pour the silken tofu mixture on top and smooth it out making sure to coat all bread pieces.
  4. 4.ย  Bake in the preheated oven at 320 ยฐF for about 15 minutes.
  5. 5. Top with fresh raspberries, almond butter or any other toppings your heart desires.

* I left my bread out on the counter overnight to let it get stale. If yours is fresh just toast it and proceed with the recipe.

On a random note it was actually via Katie’s blog that I heard of SunWarrior for one of the first times. So thank you, Katie, not just for hosting our marvelous Monday celebration but inspiring some protein creations [to come], too!

While I’m personally as of yet undecided whether or not high-protein is the way to go for me at breakfast I know Laura and Kierston like themselves some protein-packed meals. I’m also linking up with Healthy Vegan Fridays and Wellness Weekends.

MiMM_new

Happiness inducing today: Spotting the blog of a [real life] friend in Bloglovin’s top picks for the week.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovinโ€™: Letโ€™s get living

Your turn: Sundays are for …

Do you have a go-to breakfast that keeps you going for hours or switch it up regularly?

Breakfast in general: sweet or savoury?

20 thoughts on “Breakfast experiments [Vanilla Pear Protein Bread Pudding]

  1. Lyric Andersen says:

    My go to is definitely oatmeal! I just love how customizable it is! Sundays are for pancakes. No question. Well actually I am starting to question that because this pudding looks pretty darn good.. and the addition of tofu? Genius!

    Im all about the sweet breakfasts! Well unless I go out to eat. I like savoury then ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Ms.J says:

    Sweet breakfasts for me or I would be needing dessert after breakfast! I love rotating through oatmeal in different ways.
    Mmm this looks like thee perfect Sunday breakfast. Don’t laugh, but the only bread pudding I am well acquainted with is the genuine dessert kind (no fruit)..bread,condensed milk,eggs etc. Mum makes a mean one though ๐Ÿ™‚ and there may or may not be a dish of the stuff in the fridge as I speak ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I hope you bee-lined to the kitchen after commenting ๐Ÿ˜‰ – desserts made by mums are too good to pass up. Not laughing because while I’ve never had traditional bread pudding – or maybe once if we’re counting the chocolate chip one from Veganomicon – before the recipes I’ve seen were a lot more dessert-like, too.

  3. Emily says:

    Bread pudding is one of my favorite desserts in the entire world. A high-protein version that I’m allowed to eat for breakfast sounds absolutely AMAZING. I’ve [oddly] never been a huge fan of pears but maybe I should give them another chance…or try this with apples?
    Mmm…I can’t wait!
    xoxo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Apples would work great here, too. Actually, I’d meant to go for them at first but my current fondness of pears made me rethink. And yes, maybe you should give them another try, too ๐Ÿ™‚ .

  4. Kierston says:

    Right now, I’m loving my savoury low carb protein pancakes. They just hit the spot!

    This looks lovely! I love pears, yet I never think to get them.

    Thanks for linking up to #RECIPEFRIDAY!

  5. Deborah Smikle-Davis says:

    Hi Miss Polkadot,
    I grew up with a mother who used to make the most amazing bread pudding as well a Apple Betty so your recipe for Vanilla Pear Protein Bread Pudding just warmed my heart and brought back some wonderful memories. Nowadays I adapt mom’s recipes so that they are whole grain and vegan. It’s so wonderful to discover your blog and your delectable vegan bread pudding recipe can’t wait to make this.I am so glad I found your blog via Healthy, Vegan Fridays. All the best, Deborah from UrbanNaturale

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Deborah, thanks for your comment. It’s so sweet to hear it brought back memories of childhood and your mum’s Apple Betty. I hope you like this recipe, too, if you try it.

Leave a Reply

