Time-crunched crispiness [Healthier Crispy Peanut Protein Cereal Bars]

Chewy and crispy cereal bars reminiscent of Rice Krispie treats but in a healthier and less indulgent way. A low-fat, higher-protein take on a classic.

crispy_snack

Double-checking my calendar was necessary today to realize that yes, it’s actually March already. How in the world …? I wasn’t kidding when I said February was keeping up with January’s fleetingness. Something I am currently keeping up with the second week already is a changed schedule of posting a recipe on Monday instead of reserving it for my usual Friday food talk. The title suggests it already: I’ve been a little crunched for time lately – yes, I’m unorganized … – but it also fits for the recipe I have for you today.

crispy_II

Weekends have become my recipe creating time frame. Lately not just on the savoury side of baking in the form of casseroles but some sweet baked goods, too. Or actually un-baked in this case. An especially good idea when needing to use up impulse purchases. Semi-impulsive. In my defense: when I spotted brown rice syrup on offer at the health food store I knew I’d find a way to use it in a healthier baked good or other treat. And even before buying this new kind of cereal I’d envisioned to combine the two for a Rice Krispie treat-alike sweet.

crispy

I’ll admit right away that I can’t get nostalgic at all or reminiscene my childhood regarding Rice Krispie treats. They were non-existent back then and even fast forward to today I can’t remember I’ve ever had a real Rice Krispie treat. Which, however, is not to say I couldn’t keep talking about the sweet deliciousness I experienced during my years as a wee little one. Kalter Hund, Schoko-Crossies, Grießbrei and other treats certainly are worth remembering. but these slightly less indulgent crispy cereal bars don’t have to shy away, either.

crispy_stacked

Sticky, peanutty and sweet but not too much so with a generous dash of salt turning these into a delicious sweet-and-salty creation. The cereal I briefly mentioned above is a recently introduced high-protein blend of soy flakes, plain and cocoa soy nuggets, chocolate chunks and dried fruit. When I noticed it was both [accidentially, I assume] vegan and low in sugar I just ‘had’ to try it. Even if you can’t find a similar cereal, though, these bars will keep their appeal – just try the sub I noted in the recipe. The brown rice syrup acts as a binding agent and peanut flour adds another protein punch to these little bites of not-so-indulgent indulgence foregoing the protein powder.

crispy_hand

Healthier Crispy Peanut Protein Cereal Bars

  • 1 cup crispy [high-protein]* granola [for any German readers: I used this cereal by Layenberger] [70 g]
  • 1/2 cup of puffed brown rice
  • 1/4 + 1/16th cup [70 g] brown rice syrup
  • 3 tbsps peanut flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • salt to taste
  1. Combine the different cereals in a bowl.
  2. Stir together brown rice syrup, peanut flour, vanilla and salt in a mixing bowl.
  3. Add in the cereal and mix well to combine.
  4. Transfer the mixture to a 8 x 8 inch baking pan and press it down firmly.
  5. Refridgerate for several hours or overnight before cutting into squares.

*If you can’t find any high-protein granola you can sub any mix of puffed cereals like amaranth, buckwheat and quinoa. The granola I used is very dense/heavy in weight so you’ll likely need to increase the amount if using puffed grains only or mix with your favourite crunchy granola.

To keep up the higher protein content adding a scoop of protein powder might work.

MiMM_new

A marvelous snack or slightly less indulgent treat for whenever you want a sweet little something but don’t want to go all out. Happy snacky Monday to all of you and thanks to our sweet host Katie!

Hoping they’re fans of Rice Krispie Treats, too, I’ll be linking up with Laura, Kierston and Healthy Vegan Fridays here. Even if you’re crunched for time it’s well worth visiting their link-ups.

Happiness inducing today: Catching up with a friend I hadn’t seen in months.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What were some of your favourite childhood treats?

Are you good at time management or find yourself crunched for time more often than not? Talk about a serious need for improvement on my part here.

http://www.layenberger.com/Low-Carb/LowCarb-one-Protein-Muesli/LowCarb-one-Protein-Muesli_sorten.php

27 thoughts on “Time-crunched crispiness [Healthier Crispy Peanut Protein Cereal Bars]

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh right, now that you’re commenting I remember seeing you post pictures of a crunchy protein cereal in your WIAWs. Maybe that’d be a good sub for the cereal I used?! Because I couldn’t think of any high-protein cereal brand in the US as I obviously don’t know the market over there.

  1. Ms.J says:

    What? Is it March already?..I’m still living in February 😉 . Seriously though, March is the hecticest month!
    I thought I was the only soul who hadn’t eaten a Rice Crispy treat..I’d much rather have your recipe, yum.
    I was all about the Oreos and Snickers..whenever I have either these days, I think “oh it would be taste so much better if it wasn’t so sugary”!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Procrastinating is one of my worst habits and I can’t seem to change it. Or wait, maybe I shouldn’t say that out loud because then chances are I might really not be able to, haha.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      For us it was all about making chocolate cornflake clusters. Basically the first thing we were allowed and able to do in the kitchen on our own. Nostalgia, yes. Sweet sweet nostalgia.

  2. Emily says:

    Rice-Krispie Treats were actually something I never could eat as a kid because marshmallows didn’t settle well with my tummy. This version looks like the perfect (tastier) alternative! And they’re so easy…yeee!
    I’ll send you a picture if I try them this week. (:

  3. Deborah Smikle-Davis says:

    Yum! What a delightful vegan treat you have created. I am so glad I hopped by from Healthy Vegan Fridays. This certainly beats commercial cereal bars!.So much healthier! You are also invited to share your plant-based, vegan and raw recipes, smoothies, juices, cookbooks and more at the “Plant-Based Potluck Party” Link Up @http://urbannaturale.com/join-the-food-fun-at-the-plant-based-potluck-party-link-up/
    All the best, Deborah

Leave a Reply

