Thinking out loud #13

Thursday came early for me this week. Not what I’d have expected after last week but I can’t say I was complaining. Or maybe I could because we have a huge presentation at work next week and time isn’t working in our favour. But is it ever, really? Thursdays, however, are working in my favour as usual with some good random Thinking out loud. Head over to Amanda’s to get ever-so-slightly jealous at the recap of her recent Hawaii adventures.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Some days I really make myself laugh and wonder what blogging did to me. Looking at the word count of yesterday’s post even I was amazed [perplexed?] by how quickly the words had added up within the blink of an eye. And this is coming from a girl who handed in essays that were a quarter in length compared to what most others wrote. But really, not only was the time to short back then but I wouldn’t have known how to fill 25+ pages … It was more like this:

2. Let’s talk about Spotify.Β  I’d only been using the free version to listen to music as I don’t own a radio anymore [annoying story about getting two fancy-looking ones none of which ended up working]. But I’m sure those of you who did that before, too, got a little annoyed by the constant commercial breaks, too. Imagine my delight when I noticed I could use my mum’s premium account. Using it for free? Win.

3. Not so much of a win: When I recently tried to download Spotify on my phone. Because apparently my memory card didn’t have enough room anymore. Considering I’ve hardly downloaded any apps at all I was more then surprised. Until it deemed to me to look into my photo albums 😯 … Did you know how much storage room they could take up???

4. I’m sure you’re anxiously awaiting my choice on the Peanut Butter & Co. front. GiGi will be very disappointed with it but hear me out πŸ˜‰ : I actually considered getting Mighty Maple – because it’s mightybut it was sold out by the time I stopped by the store to pick up a jar. Dark Chocolate Dreams had to stand in even though it’s merely a dream. A tasty one at that.

Dark chocolate dreams peanut butter

5. However, while I do like it I can’t say it won me over all the way. Nothing will top my long-time favourite ‘butter’ that soon.

6. What better way to empty the memory card than some random pictures in a post of randomness? Starting with …

Kabocha_Kaufland

Β … a surprise find of lots of kabocha. Differently from what you might guess I walked away with … one. They didn’t look trust-worthy so I decided to test the waters – and was disappointed. At this price I won’t be buying more. Maybe I’m spoiled by the awesome taste of my mum’s homegrown kabocha or it’s simply not the season.

7. How can you tell you work in the same office building with some really kind people? Because they give you tea for free. Not just any tea, though, but one I’d had only once before at a cute cafΓ© that closed down shortly afterwards. The tea’s manufactured by a small German company and not regularly sold in stores but only available online. We share the office space with the design agency working for that company so that’s how they got the tea. And as I’d mentioned liking this very flavour they thought of me when they got their hands on one last box. It’s the little things that make me smile.

8. If you were worried I’d forget about the quizzes [not that you did, though]. Here we go for further life-changing revelations. Or – in my case: a quiz that leaves you puzzled [pun possibly intended]? My result was way off.

9. After promising it way back already I’m hoping to finally post the recipe for my Chickpea Dumpling Bake tomorrow. Sorry?!

10. Happy Thursday!

Happiness inducing today: Good Friends.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Share whichever random thoughts come to your mind!

20 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #13

  1. Jess says:

    The only peanut butter I’ve tried from peanut butter co is the regular version. However, during this past days I’ve seen at a health food that they brought a variety of peanut butter flavors… That one pictured above I’m willing to try! Chocolate and peanut butter yummm

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Can you believe that I can’t even remember the lat time I had kabocha? I didn’t have any while I was on vacation, and then before that I decided to switch things up and try butternut instead. Not a fan. I bought a kabocha while I was at the supermarket today, so fingers crossed that it’s a good one! And don’t even get me started on how badly my photos are slowing down my phone… I keep meaning to go through my album and get rid of the ones I don’t need, but… it’s too hard to let them go!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Maybe looking through past [WIAW] posts helps you determine the date? I sometimes do that when I wonder about the last time I ate or did something. Blogging as my external memory …
      I don’t like butternut plain but worked into dishes with other ingredients it’s fine with me. No squash will ever combare to kabocha, though. Fingers crossed for yours!
      Deleting pictures is so hard. Whenever I think I could make do without a certain one the next thought is “oh, but maybe for a future post??!”.

  3. lovenataliemarie says:

    It’s crazy how much you learn to write once you start blogging. I’ve never had a problem with writing essays, I can usually just type/write whatever comes to mind (which is a lot). Haha. πŸ˜€
    I’ve only tried the free Spotify, which is nice to get some playlists. I stick with songza and pandora right now. πŸ™‚
    Photos take up so much space without even realizing it. I need to go through mine again..

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’ve always been a succinct writer so cranking out pages upon pages of essays wasn’t my strongest side in class. Luckily, I apparently wrote enough to pass my final exams well. Lucky duck moment.

  4. Nichole says:

    I find it so much easier to write in my blog! I almost have to stop myself sometimes! Words and thoughts just flow so much easier then any other time!

    I’ve recent started using Songza.. It’s a great music app that has a “concierge” for your listening wants of the day/time!

    Love the picture of the kitty from Shrek!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      For whichever reason I just had to include the puss in boots.
      We apparently can access neither Pandora nor Songza – at least not without some technical hacks – over here so I’m stuck with Spotify. Now if only there was enough free space on my memory card πŸ˜‰ …

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      White Chocolate Wonderful isn’t available over here [yet?] but a friend from the US mailed me a jar years ago and I remember liking it a lot back then. And why not eat your way through all PB & Co. flavours? Life’s only so long πŸ™‚ .

  5. Ms.J says:

    I’m a Double Chocolate cookie, Yahoo! Hahaa.Ohh you chose Chocolate dreams :D..so you reckon it’s overrated?
    Random. hmmm… I just got back from the dentist, on a top secret mission ;).
    And can you pick up that I’m in a tad high-energy, crazy mood. Sugar does that.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sugar-induced happy mood? Nothing to say against that though I wonder how that’s possible after just coming back from your visit at the dentist’s πŸ˜‰ ?
      I might not say overrated but just let me know that you’re not missing out on the peanut butter in a ‘life is incomplete without it’ way.

      • Ms.J says:

        Bahahaa I realize how wrong that sounds now! Let’s just say that to get the ‘worked on’ feeling out of my mouth I needed to get something sweet in there…and be glad that my dentist doesn’t read your blog πŸ˜‰ . Or does he!?

      • Miss Polkadot says:

        I always need at least a flavourful snack when returning from the dentist’s to get rid of the taste of whichever nasty pastes they applied to my teeth. And no, she doesn’t read my blog πŸ˜€ .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Now that’s a way more interesting choice than decorating your room with boy band posters.
      Breaking news we got today just doubled my excitement about the presentation – thanks for the good wishes!

  6. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Awww, that was SO SWEET of your coworkers!! And I have to say I’m totally jealous of your access to commercial free Spotify…ugh, those damn ads drive me bonkers! Bummer about the kabocha dud! Get this…the one I picked up from the international market when Melissa was visiting totally DIED on my counter in less than a week! Wtf? I picked it up and the whole thing was soggy and dripping all over the place…I may or may not have cried a little…ok, I did…I cried a lot! 😦

    And again, wtf?! I got a coconut macaroon?! Not even CLOSE to my favorite cookie!

Leave a Reply

