Dumplings_III

Three shades of green [Chickpea Dumpling Bake]

Deliciously plump and doughy chickpea dumplings baked in a slightly spicy tomato sauce with lots of fresh vegetables.

Dumpling_dish

It’s actually one of those recipes I just want to tell you to go try yourself right away instead of talking about if for long. Because yes, it is that good. I wouldn’t mind keeping it short on the pre-recipe talk and let the dish speak for itself for once. However, there is a little story behind why it took me so long to post this and a rather lengthy development stage. All good things come in threes?! At least that’s the number of variations I tested this recipe in until it finally finally made the blog. The number of times I’ve eaten this by now is even larger because aside from the last version I ate each at least two times. Dedication? Obsession?

Dumpl

The actual reason why it took me this long is that the pictures I took the first two times I prepared it didn’t do the dish justice and we’re not going there [today😉 ]. And the reason for the three variations? Using three different ‘greens’. Obviousy just because I knew I’d post this for Davida’s St. Patrick’s Day Link-up and wanted to scope out as many shades of green as possible. Okay, that’s a lie but I can vouch for the deliciousness and success of this recipe working with three greens [spinach, kale and cabbage] – or even four  While I prefer the version with spinach I couldn’t for the sake of it find baby spinach – a true rarity over here – when I’d moved back to the city.

Dumplings_II

Like with many of my other recipes I’ve never had a similar dish growing up. The dumplings I grew up with were my paternal grandma’s Hoorische [a special kind of potato dumplings made half/ half from raw and cooked potaotes] or my mum’s Semmelknödel. The latter of which you’ve heard me talk about numerous times before. Just because they are so good. Maybe I need to put my own spin on one of the recipes and share it with you one day, too. For now, though, chickpea dumplings are quite delicious, too. Made from chickpea flour that I’d picked up with no real plans in mind these were a lucky coincidence. Luck of the Irish in Germany?!

Pumpkin & Spinach Stew with Chickpea Dumplings

 Dumplings_III

 

  • For the dumplings
  • ¼ cup [30 g] chickpea flour
  • ¼ tsp smoked paprika powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Salt + pepper
  • About 3 tbsps of water to reach a cookie dough consistency
  • Stew:
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 200 ml passata [3/4 cup + 1 tbsp] or chopped tomatoes [from a can]
  • 50 g chickpeas [1/4 cup]
  • 1 ½ cups fresh baby spinach or 1 cup of chopped cabbage
  • 1 cup cauliflower, pulsed in the food processor to reach couscous consistency
  • 1 cup of kabocha squash, chopped [butternut would work, too] or a generous ½ cup carrots, sliced into half-moons (one medium to large carrot)
  • ½ tbsp nutritional yeast
  • ¾ tsp cumin
  • Salt + pepper
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ¼ tsp smoked paprika
  1. Prepare the dumplings by combining all dry ingredients. Add in the water, mixing everything with a fork to reach a cookie dough-like consistency.
  2. For the stew: Sauté onion and garlic for about three minutes or until fragrant.
  3. Add in the kabocha and sauté until it is tender. Mix in the cabbage and a few tablespoons of water to let it ‘wilt’ a little.
  4. Stir in the spices.
  5. Pour in the passata, chickpeas and bring to a boil, then stir in the cauliflower ‘couscous’. Cook for another three to five minutes to let the cauliflower soften a little and the flavours mingle.
  6. Add nutritional yeast and adjust seasonings to taste. Transfer the stew to a greased small baking dish.
  7. Roll the chickpea flour dough into balls and place them atop the stew.
  8. Bake for about 20 minutes at 350 °F.

For even more shades of green and – if that’s not your colour – not-as-green cooking inspiration visit Laura’s [the balls are for you😉 ], Kierston’s or Ricki’s blogs and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Happy Friday!

Happiness inducing today: The fact that it’s Friday – what’s not to like about that?!

 

Did you eat dumplings growing up? Which kind?

What’s your favourite way to use chickpea flour?

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

14 thoughts on “Three shades of green [Chickpea Dumpling Bake]

  1. Kierston says:

    This dish looks great! I definitely ate dumplings while growing up…at dim sum. So good. Steamed shrimp dumplings🙂 thanks for linking up your recipe to #RECIPEFRIDAY!

  2. janet @ the taste space says:

    This looks delicious. I used to love spaeztle but haven’t had it recently. I can’t wait to try chickpea flour as dumplings, though. We love it most in pancake form, but have tried it in quite a few ways: quiche, socca, scramble, pakoras, etc. Actually the pakoras are very good. 😀

Leave a Reply

