Spill It Sunday [The Protein Edition]

Whereas last week’s Spill It Sunday featuring fats was right up my alley I’ll have to say protein might not rank quite as high. But I just had to ‘meinen Senf dazugeben’* which I’m sure Arman will approve of – or better yet: add my two cents for all non-German readers – in anyway. Following up my discovery of how much blogging has changed my ability to write longer texts this post has actually gotting wordier than I’d previously assumed. Not adding any more words I’ll keep the intro short and jump right in.

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1

*literally translates as ‘add my mustard’  – a condiment I actually neither like nor have at hand so I’m glad we can agree on the two cents 😉

1. What is your favourite protein source?

All the beans. It’s funny because I never noticed it until I started blogging and consequently taking pictures of my food. Apparently I automatically shifted my diet to include more legumes since going vegetarian and then mostly vegan. Right now I’m vegan with benefits meaning I include dairy in my diet when I feel like it but I hardly ever truly long for it. If we’re talking chickpeas, on the other hand, craving is the very best term to describe it. Luckily, my stomach agrees for the most part not letting me experience any major musical effects 😉 [TWSS]. Obviously I’m no expert here but I think this might have to do with my digestion getting used to the amounts of legumes after changing my diet to mostly plant-based.

2. What is your favourite meat (If you eat it)

Any kind of meat that’s still able to run around 😉 . Especially chicken, Arman.

3. Which protein receives unfair flack? Which protein is most overrated?

Not exactly one that receives flack but with the recent popularity of Whole30 I feel legumes have gotten a little less loving than before. And if you’ve read my answer to #1 than you can see why that makes me shed a tear or two. Then again: more chickpeas and peanut butter for me, right!?

chickpeas

Most overrated – from a vegetarian standpoint – would be meat. But I’m not intolerant like that and think it’s everybody’s choice to eat meat or not. So my actual answer for most overrated is protein powder. Yes, I do use it in my recipes every now and then for a little nutritional boost but I don’t rely on it. Seeing some people chug multiple protein shakes a day instead of proper meals seems a little excessive for me. In my opinion, normal protein needs can easily be met by just eating real food. Keep in mind, however, that I’m neither an expert nor a professional athlete the latter of which might have higher protein needs that they find easier to meet by supplementing – not replacing – their meals with protein powders 

4. Link up a favourite protein rich recipe (it can be your own or another bloggers!)

Going with my answer to the first question I could easily link to dozens of great chickpea or other legume recipes. Making use of protein’s good reputation I like sneaking it into elsewise not-so-nutritious recipes so I’ll go with sweet treats in disguise :): my crispy protein peanut bars.

bars_crisp

5. What is YOUR perception of this macronutrient?

I like protein, yes, but I feel it’s overrated and I was glad to see Robyn as a nutritionist agrees because yes, I like to have the expert ‘okay’. We need a balance of all macronutrients so when I see others counting their protein intake trying to reach 100+ grams a day and swapping protein shakes for ‘real’ meals – that’s taking it too far in my opinion.  Egg white scrambles for breakfast, cottage cheese as a snack, protein powder pudding as a ‘treat’ – not for me, thanks. If we were talking about Quest bars, however, that’s one protein snack I feel I could get on board with 😉 …

6. What benefits does PROTEIN play in YOUR personal eating habits?

The idea that protein was the best and most important nutrient as well most saturating hasn’t proven to be true for me yet. Just because it doesn’t do much for me, though, is not to say I didn’t believe others when they put their focus on protein. We’re all different and it’s great to learn from each other’s experiences. I know that to keep me truly satisfied my meals have to contain fat and carbs with protein playing a minor role. However, there are times when I can tell a little more protein might do me well and I’ll likely never tire of yogurt bowls [Greek or soy yogurt mixed with coconut flour – try it!].

Greek yogurt bowl

If you’re daring or just feeling like a little strange but good action: add mashed chickpeas to the above mix. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried this sweet and savoury combination.

Now I’m curious to hear your stance on protein!

Happiness inducing today: Starting a new book and flying through almost half of it in one go.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Which role does protein play in your diet?

What is your favourite source of it?

Legumes: yes or no?

16 thoughts on “Spill It Sunday [The Protein Edition]

  1. Amy @ The Little Honey Bee says:

    This was really interesting to read as I am doing the Whole 30 right now. I think it all depends on our bodies (as I am going to talk about in my post). I am looking forward to reintroducing beans and legumes after the Whole 30 to see how I react to it. Right now my favorite protein source is definitely eggs.

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I def do not eat legumes as they essentially go APE-SH** on my stomach. But I do love the occasional roasted chick-pea! OH BABY! And I gotta get my spoonfuls of black eyed PEAS on New Years Day!! LUCKY LUCKY! 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    Protein has never played a major role in my dietary habits either. Not that it isn’t important- it is- but I don’t think it is nearly as crucial as people make it out to be. We get protein from so many sources and we definitely don’t “need” meat to have enough.
    Oh, and I rarely (if ever!) use protein powder. I have some sitting in my cabinet that has been there for months. I just don’t see the need for it and, frankly, none of them taste very good. I’m happy to hear that I’m not the only one who doesn’t swear by it…

    Happy [almost] Monday!
    xoxo

  4. lovenataliemarie says:

    I’m a big bean fan (evidently from my food posts..) because they’re so good. I used to be a vegetarian, but then things happened and I am no longer one.

    I love greek yogurt bowls. 😀

  5. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind says:

    So, so overrated. If one is eating a healthy, balanced diet it will provide enough protein naturally. Only for people who either eat a poor diet with low nutrient-density or restrict their calorie intake heavily protein can be an issue. I really don’t get how heavy the healthy living world relies on protein powders, when just a small percentage is actually bulking.

    And chickpeas rock! I just snacked on some (read: emptied half the jar) hummus and broccoli ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yesss! Totally know it. We say “Jedes Böhnchen gibt ein Tönchen” over here 😀 . [let’s ignore the awfulness of these new smileys because we discussed that on end already]

Leave a Reply

