Me, myself and I in 39 [plus one] questions

Mondays are for … survey fun! And I just had to go with that title for the fact that survey really are self-centered – no way  in denying it, is there? Whether or not I’m the last person to jump on this train I’ve been eyeing the 39 questions Amanda posted way back for a while. We can ignore the fact I don’t like uneven numbers because I sneakily added a 40th one. Either way surveys – uneven numbers or not – are a great way to start the week after a relaxing weekend. Happy Monday and make it marvelous by visiting Katie’s blog. Congratulations to our sweet host who just started her yoga teacher training.

Marvelous

Were you named after anyone?

Actually yes. However, different from many others who were probably named after a family member or important person I don’t know the woman whose name I’m sharing. The sister of a not at all close friend of my parents was an inspiration for this unusual name.

2. When was the last time you cried?
It’s been a while but I wouldn’t mind saying when if I remembered. I’ve mentioned before that I think it’s an important means of letting our feelings come to the surface and has a ‘cleansing’ effect. And mum: thanks for the hugs and kind words.

3. Do you like your handwriting?
It’s not an artsy kind of handwriting but after the many letters I’ve sent to blends recently I’ve come around to being okay with it. The only ‘complaint’ I’ve heard is that it’s a fairly small writing but try as I might I can’t seem to write bigger letters. So yes, my handwriting’s me and I like it.

Letter

4. What is your favourite lunch meat?
Any that doesn’t make an appearance in my lunch 🙂 .

5. Do you have kids?
Can we get back to that question in … due time? One day, one day.

6. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?
Friends, yes. Maybe I’m interpreting this too deeply here but I think it’s a good question to ask ourselves on the regular. If we’re being honest but also not too hard with ourselves it should help us find an inner balance. Right now there were several days when I had to step aside and honestly admit I wouldn’t have wanted to be my mum or sister in that moment. I’m not sure about you but I know I’m a lot different around friends than family and have given my loved ones a hard time more than once before. But in the end I think we all have our good and bad characteristics and as long as we’re able to see when we’ve hurt others and can admit to it things even out. Talk about a lengthy reply but this question really got me thinking.

 Sheep_September

7. Do you use sarcasm a lot?
Apparently more often than some people would expect from me because I’ve gotten some hilarious responses [read: or lack thereof in the form of speechlessness] to it sometimes before.

8. Do you still have your tonsils?
Yes, I’m still a proud owner. But before you’re asking: no, I haven’t named them – for fear of losing them after all, obviously 😉 .

9. Would you bungee jump?
Are.you.kidding? Risking my life and paying money for it?! Thanks but no, thanks.

10 What is your favourite cereal?
Hello from Cereal Desert Germany. If we had the same choices you lucky ducks have overseas I’m sure anything peanut buttery would be high up there. But right now I’ll go with plain Saltoos. Think fruit-juice-sweetened crunchy rings made from whole-grain spelt. Fancy. Feel free to mail me those Peanut Butter Puffins I keep hearing about and my answer will likely change in a minute.

Cereal

 11. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?
Boots for the win! Zipping is all I need to do. Talking running shoes: no. Maybe it’s lazy but it’s just a timesaver.

12. Do you think you are strong?
We’ve talked about my favourite strength workout before so if that counts then: yes. But don’t ask me if I’ve ever set foot into the weights area at the gym.

13. What is your favourite ice cream?
Not a fair question for an ice cream fiend at all. Previously an ice cream parlor’s rating in my book would depend on the quality of their cherry ice cream. Trust me, I can tell a good from a bad cherry though I’ve since moved on to make it depend on mango. In the picture below I went against my usual picks and had vegan Tiramisu ice cream – a delicious way of breaking routines.

Ice cream

14. What is the first thing you notice about other people?
If they’re looking overall sympathetic.

15. Red or pink?
Life wouldn’t be complete without either of them. And no, that’s not cheating – just naming the facts. A look into my wardrobe would tell you.

16. What is your least favourite thing about yourself?
My lack of time management skills. I might be a perfectionist but there’s still part of me that’s way too chaotic. Is that’s what we call balance?

17. Any tattoos?
Just thinking about them makes me cringe. 1. Because getting them requires a way-too-long for my liking contat with needles [anything longer than ten seconds is, no, scratch that: one second] and 2. Because … did you realize you’ll have them forever?! I occasionally can’t even seem to pick clothes that I’ll still like a year from now so don’t make me choose a tattoo motive.

18. Do you have any hobbies?
For some reason it always felt awkward answering the hobby question in friendship booklets and not just because I’m so indecisive and there’s way too little room. So just to confirm: yes, I do have hobbies.

19. What colour shoes are you wearing?
All the colours of the rainbow. Okay, maybe not all. Favourites are dark red or black.

Shoes

20. What was the last thing you ate?
Almond butter. Typical.

21. What are you listening to right now?
Another sunny day. We could really use more of these again after the past weekend.

22. If you were a crayon, what colour would you be?
Don’t ask me why but my instant answer was yellow. Really, though, I feel it should be red as that’s my favourite. Does anybody care to let me know what my first intuitive pick says about me?

23. Favourite smells?
Roses, freshly baked goods, vanilla ice cream [the IKEA candles!], … too many to write all of them down here.

24. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?
My mum. Next up is my grandma because I’m long overdue calling her.

25. Mountain hideaway or beach house?
Mountain hideaway. Maybe it has to do with growing up in the countryside and being a fair skin type but I just can’t get as excited at the premise of lying around in the sunshine all day than hiking around in beautiful scenery.

Autumn walk

26. Favourite sport to watch?
None. Don’t get me wrong: I’m sure all of these athletes are doing a great job but my mind drifts off minutes after I start watching. Okay, maybe making an exception for soccer during the European or World Championships.

27. Hair colour?
A light brown my mum used to call “dark blonde” but … it’s not.

28. Eye colours?
Matching my hair colour: light brown.

29. Do you wear contacts?
I wish I was able to but my callus didn’t feel like cooperating the time I tried.

30. Scary movies or happy endings?
Will you believe I’ve never actually watched a whole scary move until the end? And don’t we all need a little bit of cheesy or at times heart-breaking romance in our lives?!

Movie night2

31. Last movie you watched?
The Butler which I definitely recommend watching if you haven’t seen it yet.

32. What colour shirt are you wearing?
Actually, I’m sitting her in my PJs right now and my shirt’s a light rosy colour.

33. Summer or winter?
All the seasons! I might complain about the cold right now but I couldn’t imagine living in the heat all year round, either. Every season has wonderful parts I wouldn’t want to miss.

34. Hugs or kisses?
Hugs. There’s something so deeply comforting and secure about a big warm hug. A good hug says more than a thousand words.

35. Computer or television?
Computer. In fact, I don’t own a TV and feel fine without. Not so much without my computer … [note that I don’t own a Mac book, though. Not an apple addict here.]

36. What book are you reading right now?
Tiger Mom by Amy Chua. After finishing The Heavy I noticed I wasn’t up for fiction right now and this one had been on my to-read list for a while already. If anybody’s interested I can do a review once I’m finished.

37. What’s on your mouse pad?
Is this the outdated part of the survey? Okay, so:  there’s none.

38. What colour is your house?
Our house in the countryside is an old farm house with red tiles. Just looking at pictures makes me feel all cozy inside.

39. What colour is your car?
I don’t actually own a car myself but my mum and share one when I’m at their place – it’s a black Opel.

… and because I mentioned I don’t like uneven numbers:

40. What’s one motto you live by?

An oldie but goodie that I remind myself of every day. A day without a smile is a lost day. And would you want to loose any days of your life?

Happiness inducing today: A blissfully lazy day and many good [text] conversations with friends. Can tomorrow be Sunday again?

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

It’s your turn: Answer some of the questions, too!  But definitely the 40th 🙂 .

9 thoughts on “Me, myself and I in 39 [plus one] questions

  1. Ms.J says:

    “Life does not have to be perfect to be wonderful” I constantly remind myself of that. I always associate you with ‘smiling’ :)..no surprise there right?
    You too in a Cereal Desert? At least I’m not alone..I always shed a tear when I see Kashi or Puffins on blogs!
    Oh and your title!..such an awesome creative ring to it 🙂

  2. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Best way EVER to end an awkwardly numbered survey! Love that motto! Actually, I just loved all your answers…and getting to know you more! I couldn’t agree more with what you said about the hugs and as far as your “intuitive” color, I think it says something to how you add to and seek out the happiness in the world! 😀

Leave a Reply

