Spill it Sunday [The Carb Edition]

The second post of the day and the long-awaited [or so he said] installment of Arman’s macronutrient-focused Spill it Sundays is here. Okay, I’ll probably have to agree with him here. Because carbs are likely the most ‘controversial’ of the three macros. And because – while I generally don’t like any claims of being a fats/ protein/ carb person – I feel the latter benefit me the most.

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1

1. What is your all time favourite carbohydrate based food/dish?

Given the frequency I have it with I’d have to oat bran. Always prepared stove-top, always with added nut butter. But if we’re talking about dishes that hold a special place in my heart yet don’t make an everyday appearance: Semmelknödel. You’ve heard me talk about these delicious little balls more than once before – and for a good reason.

What they can’t offer in looks they make up in their satisfying doughy taste … and now I’m getting seriously hungry so we’d better go on with the survey.

2. What is your favourite fruit?

All the fruit! Limiting myself to one favourite would be unfair. It’s easier to say which fruit I don’t like [as much]: papaya [maybe I’ve just had bad luck every time I picked one up or how can they taste like nothing?], figs and pomegranates.

Fruit – despite its high sugar content – has never been a problem for me.

3. What is your favourite grain?

If the first question didn’t answer if sufficiently: Oats. They’re incredibly versatile taking on both sweet and savoury variations like no other grain. Plus, they cook super fast which is a bonus if you’re like me and not versed enough at meal planning to think and cook your grains in advance.

Topped with popped amaranth and almond butter sauce these are reason enough to get up.

It’s hard to go a day without them for me and looking at the many blogs out there dedicated to oatmeal alone I know I’m in good company.

4. What is your favourite starchy vegetable?

For once a ‘favourite’ question that’s easy to answer: kabocha. At best from my mum’s garden and just steamed. Plain perfection with a side of almond butter.

Breakfast_kabocha

5. Which carb receives unfair flack? Which carb is most overrated?

If this wasn’t just about them already I’d say carbs overall [still] get a bad reputation. The number of magazine articles, blogs and the likes promoting low-carb diets is immense. But to limit the length of my reply here: White everything receives unfair flack. Sure, white grains aren’t as nutritious as whole grains. But making them the devil and badmouthing anybody eating them isn’t fair. I personally prefer the taste of whole grains, too, but my parents don’t [unless we’re talking bread] so if I’m with them it’s likely we’re having white rice or pasta – and that’s okay. Regarding my visits at Vapiano I didn’t mention it yet but their white pasta – back then a challenge – was actually more delicious than the whole grain one [which was unpleasantly gritty unlike the brands I’d buy if cooking pasta at home].

Vapiano Arrabiata

And sorry I’m not sorry for committing a blogger sin here but: sweet potatoes are the most overrated carb in my opinion. I tried them time and time again – only to discover I really don’t enjoy them. Not even when almond butter is involved and that says a lot. No more paying high prices and turning on the oven for these, sorry. Just give white potatoes a little more appreciation. These are the ones I grew up eating and they will forever have a special place in my heart. And I know Arman shares the fondness – he just passed the food part of the German immigration test 😉 .

6. Link up a favourite carb embracing recipe (it can be your own or another bloggers!).

Ideally, I should have a recipe for Semmelknödel up on the blog by now – note to self: post one! – but given that I haven’t we’ll go with some of my favourite legume dishes. Because they have carbs, too, right?

Chickpeas in Blueberry Chocolate Mole

Chickpeas in mole

I can’t go without featuring a recipe involving my favourite starchy vegetable so: Red Lentil Kabocha Chili.

Kabocha Lentil

7. What is YOUR perception of this macronutrient?

A picture says more than a thousand words [and unless I stop writing soon I may or may not reach that mark with this post].

I like them. I really like them. In my family we grew up eating carbs/ grains for every meal: breakfast were bowls of whole grain granola or müesli, lunches always had a side of pasta/ rice/ couscous/ potatoes/ you name it and dinner was bread. Hence why going low-carb will never work for me. The days when I’d try to limit my carb intake and counted the amount of grains in my meals and snacks were sad and exhausting to say the least. As hinted to in my introduction I’d most likely be a ‘carb person’ if I used those labels. A diet made up of mostly carbs, a good amount of fats and some protein feels just right for me.

8. What benefits do CARBS play in YOUR personal eating habits?

Similar to fats they give me satisfaction, energy and make me an all around happy camper. So let’s not hate on carbs anymore, okay? Good. Go and have a …

Happy Sunday!

Happiness inducing today: Sunshine outside again after days of rain.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What’s your favourite carb-based dish or food?

Have you ever tried a low-carb diet and what were your experiences?

7 thoughts on “Spill it Sunday [The Carb Edition]

  1. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind says:

    Oh, you really should give the papaya a second chance! When I tried it for the first time I picked one which was not ripe enough and tasted horrible. But then I’ve read somewhere that they need to be so soft that the skin gives away easily when you press a finger into it. I got one and it was one of the most delicious fruits I ever had. I would eat it more often if it weren’t that expensive.

  2. Ms.J says:

    And here I am waiting patiently for my beloved papaya to come in season hah! But I do know of a quite a few people who aren’t fond of them..more for me 😉 . I get you on the pomegranates..seedy little buggers.
    Aahhh oats <3, they deserve all the love. I've been wondering about oat bran for so long now..how would you describe it? Puddingy? Chewy?
    You bang on there; white carbs – specifically pasta – are given the nasty eye.

  3. Emily says:

    Oh boy…you know how much I love my carbs. I mean, I just had a sandwich with a banana and crackers for lunch. Carbs on carbs on carbs and I’m not one bit sorry. (:

    PS: Can you believe that I still have never tried kabocha? Oops…
    xoxo

  4. lovenataliemarie says:

    I can’t choose just one favorite fruit. There are so many delicious ones! It was a struggle to try and choose one, but in my heart, they all are my number one. 😉
    I love oats. Yes I do. I love oats. How about you? 😀
    (I can’t do a day without oats either.. my day just feels incomplete.)

  5. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Well I for one will be patiently waiting for your balls to make an appearance on the blog…especially after you’ve talked them up so much! 😉 I’m with you on the papayas, but I have to draw the line on the fig and the sweet potato hate! *sad face*

    Ugh, I completely forgot about that blueberry mole! And ah yes, another reminder to make your chili…it’s haunting my dreams! Haha!

Leave a Reply

