Eating [on an] off schedule

Time for another round of playing the food show-off known as What I ate Wednesday via our lovely host Jenn. I’ll admit I wasn’t sure if I’d tag along this time because I usually take pictures of my meals on the weekends only. Weekdays? Taking pictures in the morning would require extra time [that I don’t have – just imagine a headless chicken running around and yes, that’d be me]. However, yesterday was the perfect relaxed opportunity to take pictures and eat. Because for the record: I don’t enjoy eating at the office. Then again: does anybody?? Long story short: here’s [part of] what I ate yesterday with a side of some recovery chat.

WIAWbutton_1

 

One of the main points I still have to work on majorly in my recovery is straying from set meal times. Eating on different preset [by work or the likes] schedules. In short: not making time matter over hunger cues. A day off work and therefore sleeping in yesterday gave me the chance to test out the waters again on an off day. Sleeping for [too] long throws me and my appetite completely off my usual habits. Some pre-breakfast snackage happened.

Almond butter 006

Breakfast… happened a little later after waking up than usual because I could and because I wasn’t forced to eat in time before getting to work. Now here’s a little secret I never shared. The one reason why I hardly share pictures of my breakfasts or dinner is not just the lack of time and light. It’s also that – differently from other bloggers – I hardly ever transfer all of my oats to a bowl. Not that I hadn’t tried before but I’m honestly not a fan of how quickly the oats drop their warming temperature. Cold oat bran? Not for me. That’s why I serve it up in the pot and continue to eat it in smaller bowlfuls that I top with almond butter*.Β  Another bonus: I get to mix cocoa into just half of my oat bran so I have part banana oats/ part chocolatey oats. It’s the way I roll[ed] the oats πŸ˜‰ .

oat bran_breakfast* In case you’re wondering: it’s not a die-hard habit. If I need to adapt and have breakfast at work I can just pack things up and go.

Snack #1 was a funny encounter that allowed me to tackle a fear food once again: avocado. I’d bought a package of shirataki pasta – yes, roll your eyes at me – out of curiosity when I saw they were on offer at a store. Knowing these wouldn’t satisfy me but making use of their low-calorie tag I stir-fried them with some garlic and odds and ends [read: leftover zucchini and tomatoes] and covered them in avocado sauce.

Shirataki

Not something that’d ever keep me satisfied as a real meal but that’s what lunch was meant for: savoury baked oats. Initially, I was feeling like having polenta but noticed I didn’t have any left so I simply cooked rolled oats and wheat bran in water, seasoned it. Stirred in a spoonful of nutritional yeast and added a mix of sauteed vegetables on top. Blame the grey skies at that point for the less-than-stellar picture but it didn’t lessen the meal’s quality. Or let’s say it was interesting and still needs some tinkering to get a full sign of approval.

baked oatmeal_polenta

In terms of recovery this was a good day because I tried new dishes, tried to strain from my usual meal times and not focus on the fact of how hungry I was compared to other days. It’s all a work in progress but I feel I’m getting there. Slowly but surely.

Happy Wednesday! Now go and get inspired over at Jenn’s or the [past and future] Vegan Wednesday board(s)!

 

Happiness inducing today: A conversation with a friend overseas. Time difference be damned but still.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Shirataki pasta: Have you ever tried it? What’s your take on the non-noodles?

Do you have any odd eating habits? My oat bran one might rank among those but I don’t see myself giving it up anytime soon.

 

28 thoughts on “Eating [on an] off schedule

  1. Ms.J says:

    Ohmyword!..I need to do the chocolate/vanilla oats. Perfect for when I can’t make up my mind!
    I have a few odd habits myself, which frankly I don’t consider ‘odd’, but others do :-p. One of them that comes to mind: breakfast must be eaten in pajamas..and my bedtime snack. And I wonder why all my pj’s carry the scent of peanut butter πŸ˜‰

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Breakfast eaten in PJs? Sounds good but given my headless-chicken-state in the morning I’d probably forget to dress properly before heading out to work πŸ˜‰ . But yes, bedtime snacks must be eaten in PJs.

  2. Ashley @ KickAshMom says:

    You are strong, You are awesome! Keep it up. You are such a beautiful person. I can tell from just reading your blog. Life is all about spreading love, and experiencing everything the world has to offer. You have so much in store for you in the future.

  3. Beth @ The Small Victories says:

    Wait the oats in the pot thing is too adorable. And such a great idea, although I’d probably feel really awkward eating out of the pot if I was at home… and my parents would probably think I had officially lost my mind haha. At school, oatmeal is served in a GIANT pot… maybe I should try that. #249238 on the list of ways to get yourself kicked out of the servery haha.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s one of the benefits of living on my own, I guess. Though my parents know this little habit and yes, they find it… unusual πŸ˜‰ . And I vote for you trying to have a go at that giant pot of oatmeal [foodie dream come true?!] – once you’ve graduated, haha.

  4. Christine@ Apple of My Eye says:

    Mhmm I love the half chocolate and half banana oat combo you’ve got going there! The best of both worlds :). I’ve tried shiritaki noodles before, but wasn’t the hugest fan of them. Something about the texture just through me off!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The best of both worlds – yes! Sometimes my head’s elsewhere while I prepare my oats and I end up stirring it into the whole pot – it’s missing something then.
      What I’ve found to work well with the shirataki was generously dusting them with nutritional yeast but cheese like parmesan would work well, too, I guess. That helped take off the overall ‘slicky’ feel.

  5. gabiwalter says:

    I completely understand the difficulty in taking pictures of all your meals during the week. The headless chicken thing?!..Yeah, TOTALLY RELATE! Us busy bodies just have so much to do! πŸ˜‰ The meals look delicious, but what is shirataki pasta? You just decided to pick it up and try it?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Shirataki noodles are made from a root called konjac and contain hardly any calories hence why they were a good starting point for me to give avocado another try. Definitely not a sub for real pasta but fun to experiment with. So yes, I just picked them up and gave them a go πŸ™‚ .

  6. Health, Love, and Chocolate says:

    I eat a lot of meals in my car out of Tupperware, but since I am on break this week it has been so nice to be able to eat more meals at home. Now to actually photograph them…

    When I make oats and photograph them, about 90 percent of the time I dump them back in the pan to reheat and eat them your way! Although I do like cold overnight oats also, I suppose it just depends on the weather.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      See, that’s why I used to do with my oats and actually a lot of the meals I photograph, too. Good to know I’m not alone on that one. I used to wonder how everybody else managed to take a great picture of their food and then eat it while still warm.
      Like you I enjoy eating at home on my days off but even then don’t always feel like taking pictures. Doing our “blogger duties” as good as we can – and feel like.

  7. Emily says:

    I kind of love that you eat your oatbran straight from the pot. That’s brilliant. (:

    Of course, I’m so proud of you for changing things up and listening to your hunger cues rather than the clock. That’s such a huge step. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who could never, ever be satisfied with shiritaki noodles as a meal!

    xo

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    My mom likes to eat her oats straight from the pot as well, and I have to admit that I’ve never been able to understand how she does it. That being said, I think I’m partial to bowled oats because I don’t enjoy eating them hot, so having them cool down to room temperature is kind of a must in my books. And recovery is most definitely a process, but all that matters is that you’re challenging yourself on a regular basis and taking steps forward πŸ™‚

  9. lovenataliemarie says:

    I usually make my oats in the microwave. i should really learn how to make them on the stove. Hey, pots come in pretty handy! πŸ™‚
    I have been obsessing over avocados. They’re just so good!
    I need to find a good savory oats recipe one day.

  10. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Haha! I love that you eat your oats out of the pot! I did that with the scrambled eggs I made for breakfast on Monday, but my motivation was sheer laziness/too tired to care!

    I’m kinda indifferent to the non-noodles. I think the “fun” aspect of them is the only reason I occasionally eat them, but they’re great in stir fries!

Leave a Reply

