Thinking out loud #15

It’s time for short introductions and a post full of randomness again! Say hi and thanks to Amanda for hosting our countdown-to-the-weekend party that is Thinking out loud.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Starting with what’s the most prominent and at the same time most puzzling topic on my mind: cats. Whether this was sparked by Emily and Lionel, Jan’s constant cute kitten pictures or some entirely different reason: I’ve found myself reminiscening my childhood with cats. And yes, I somehow wish I had a furry little roomate around again.

2. Don’t be surprised if one of my next What I ate Wednesday is entirely picture-less as per Jan’s suggestion on Twitter. But essentially WordPress conspire against me yesterday. When I tried to embed the pictures in my WIAW post a new tab would pop up trying to make me purchase a new Avira software. Thanks but I’m fine with my current one. I somehow managed to work a way around it but I’m not happy with the outcome. For whichever reason I can’t change the size of my pictures and add a border anymore? Technology and me weren’t made for each other, that’s for sure.

3. Channel your inner Britney Spears: Ooops, I did it again. Picking up one of my favourite topics to marvel about from last week’s post: cosmetics. I can’t help my curiosity when it comes to new [non-expensive as I might have to point out] products at times. And as apples are some of my favourites how could I not?! Add a “limited edition” tag to the equation and the money is as good as spent. Now why in the world I bought cleansing tissues when I actually clean my face with facial lotion and cotton pads is a different question.

March 26nd 017

4. For all fans of cold food [read: not me] I happend upon this gem of an article just a few minutes ago. In case anybody feels inclinded to try all of these. The peanut butter cups are an obvious one – how else to eat them but cold?! – but some of the others… No, just no.

5. Fishwell…

March 21st to 25th 035

Given the fishy smell of the ‘pasta’ pre-rinsing the brand name of the shirataki pasta I’ve shown in yesterday’s post wasn’t the most unsuspicious in terms of vegetarian-suitability. Plus, I’ve actually never liked fish anytime in my life so there goes this.

6.  Not to go all negative nancy here but there are two things I don’t look forward to about the weekend. First: the [shoe box-sized] freezer department of my fridge is frosted all throughout because its door wasn’t closed all the way. Meaning I’ll have the pleasure of unplugging my fridge, letting it defrost and thorougly clean it. Oh the joy 😉 …

7. Plus, there’s the wonder that is daylight savings stealing a precious hour of sleep from our Sunday mornings. Is it really time already again?

8. However, just like last week I’m choosing to see the good in the bad which isn’t too hard:
1. Daylight savings mean it’s light outside for longer – never mind that it’s some kind of a human-made cheat – every day afterwards. If that’s not reason to rejoice I don’t know what would be.
2. A clean and functionable freezer – even if just shoe box-sized – means the opportunity to -finally- have frozen bananas, banana softserve and else again. Yay!

9. We can’t end without a little more random fun: what your favourite pizza topping says about you. I’m apparently super chill and easy to be around. Okay, who wants to be friends 🙂 ?

10. Happy Thursday!

Happiness inducing today: Chatting with a friendly stranger at the gym.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Do you have any advice on my WordPress picture troubles? All of a sudden it’s not possible to add a frames or resize them anymore.

Aside from that: Share some random thoughts with me!

 

10 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #15

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I used to be a dog person all the way and say that I couldn’t stand cats, but the older I get, the more I find my mentality shifting around. I still love dogs, but I think if I was to get a pet, it would probably be a cat. Too bad I’m allergic to them and it probably won’t ever end up happening 😦

    And apparently, [I’m] so f***ing awesome! People really can’t get enough of [me]. Cheese 4 life 😀

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s interesting. I’d always assumed if you were allergic to cats the same would automatically go for dogs, too. Good luck for you it isn’t or Kaiah wouldn’t be allowed around you – and now that would have been sad.
      Cheese or not I’d say people can’t get enough of Spoons in anyway – that’s cheesiness right there, haha.

  2. Beth @ The Small Victories says:

    I’d be interested in reading a wordless WIAW! I could never do it because I’m a TERRIBLE food critic/writer and I wouldn’t be able to describe food if my life depended on it!

    Wait, I thought daylight savings time was a couple of weeks ago? Am I missing something major or is it different across the pond?

    • Beth @ The Small Victories says:

      Also, I have zero advice for the WordPress issue–I’ve been struggling with it ever since I made the transition from old blog to this one. I just commented on another blog–WordPress is so easy to use…until it’s not. Then major headaches happen. Crossing my fingers that you find a fix soon!

  3. swissfitchick says:

    I love cats too! If I only were home more, I would immediately organize a kitten. But it would be a lonely poor thing….
    Oh thanks for the reminder of daylight savings….happened too many times that I forgot !

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Same here. I couldn’t bear the thought of leaving the poor kitten alone that often. Not to mention I’d admittedly be worried about what it’d do while on its own in my apartment…

  4. Ms.J says:

    I always wanted a little kitty! But with our dog having a ‘taste’ for cats there was no way to it.
    Technology stumps me all.the.time. I don’t know about any picture troubles..yet. That could be because I don’t do much editing on images; it takes alot of extra time.
    Random is: I’m just finishing up a snack which had cold rice in it (and I assumed I hated rice all along, having not eaten it for 5 or so years) and I surprisingly enjoyed it.

  5. lovenataliemarie says:

    I think the “Limited Edition” grabs us instantly, because we automatically think it won’t be there anymore. I’ve done that before. o.o
    Ehh, that fishy pasta doesn’t sound so appealing..
    Always good to see the positive. 😀

  6. ranchcookie says:

    I can totally relate with your computer problems! I am so computer stupid and apparent I am a part of this technology savy generation! Shouldn’t I be better at this haha

Leave a Reply

