Currently … March 2014

A post about current happening and favourites at the very end of a month? Why, yes, let’s just go with calling it a recap of the past – once again rushed by – 31 days. There have been some not so good happenings but looking back March was an overall marvelous month. Let’s celebrate another Monday with our sweet host Katie!

MiMM_new

Current book: One? More like three at once. Yes, after secrectly hoarding about 1/4 of my library’s inventory I was able to narrow it down to three. Just to showcase one I’m going with ‘The Paris Wife’ because it’s the first I started. And actually the only of the three that’s not from the library. Go figure.

The Paris Wife

Current music: Nothing new. But I’ve started listening to podcasts when walking again which I’d somehow forgotten about. Right now still mostly my [German] favourite but I could use some inspiration so if you know of any good ones: let me know.

Current guilty pleasure: Reading some blogs while at work … Productivity boosters, you know.

Current nail colour:ย  The same like last month. Yes, I changed it in between but I was feeling Jam ‘n’ Jelly again so that’s what it is.

Jam 'n' jelly

Current food:ย All the Cs! No, I did neither plan this nor do I intend to do an alphabet challenge related to food*. But I can’t say my inner grammar fiend/OCD personality doesn’t like the coincidence of it being the third month of a year and my fondness for all foods starting with the third letter of the alphabet ๐Ÿ˜‰ . Really, though, there are so many good foods starting with C.

*Even though I’m somehow intrigued by the idea now…

Chocolate. It’s an ever-occuring one but the obsession’s been growing out of whack lately. I’m not sure what it is because I can’t blame the weather.ย  Anyway, sorry I’m not sorry but I could never give this up for Lent and I know many people do.

Lindt chocolate

Chickpeas. And I’m particular and only buy this brand because they are the best. Yes, trust me. If you’re German or even happen to be over here that’s your go-to brand. Thank me later ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

chickpeas

Also: [Variations on] Cauliflower. One of these being the Chickpea Flour Dumpling Bake and another delicious recipe featuring it will be coming your way soon. Until then be sure to check the link in yesterday’s post.

Dumpl

And another ‘C’ I’ll be getting into more detail about in a future post invling current experimentation with my diet.

Current wish: Right now? Wishing that WordPress would return to its previous layout again. The picture editing. The [be honest: dumb-looking] smileys. Everthing. Is anybody up for petitioning?

Current need: Sleep. It’s a constant issue for me and I really have to work on betterment here once and for all.

Current triumph: Becoming more relaxed around food again after struggling a bit lately.

Current bane of my existence: Trouble with my hip that makes me feel like a not-so-well oiled robot when walking [or trying to do it] at times. But I’m sure it’ll all be well again [hopefully] soon.

Current outfit:ย  Right from the lake side: You might have seen this dress before but the fact I can now wear it outside with just a cardigan is yet another sign spring’s approaching.

outfit

Current blessing: Friends who make an effort to stay in touch even if they’ve moved far away. I met one I hadn’t seen in months today and we had a wonderful time catching up. He’s one of my closest friends and we

Current excitement:ย  News that I found out just today and have a hard time keeping to myself. Only it might take a few more weeks or months until everything’s figured out.

Current link: Goodreads.ย  I have yet to set up an account but am in dire need of some reading inspiration. Not like above-mentioned hoarding tendencies needed any more fuel…

 

 

Happiness inducing today: A repeat offender but yes: sunshine!

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovinโ€™: Letโ€™s get living

 

Share some of your currents with me!

17 thoughts on “Currently … March 2014

  1. Katherine says:

    I live in Texas, so I’m technically commenting on this post in the past (it’s still March 30 here!). I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been reading your blog for about an hour now! I love your music taste (Belle and Sebastian yesss!), your link posts (Oh my goodness I have SO many things bookmarked for later from those link posts!), and your thoughts in general! I have the feeling that I’ll be visiting your little corner of the web a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment, Katherine! I’m glad to hear you enjoy my random musings & thoughts and would be happy to see you back again. After just discovering your blog recently I can say I’ll be stopping by regularly, too. And yes, Belle and Sebastian: yes, the best soundtrack for a sunny spring day.

  2. Ms.J says:

    All the c’s? Can imagine how satisfactory it must have been when that came to mind!
    I -usually- like to focus on one book at a time but for the first time in a long while I’m reading 2; Jane Eyre and “I Heart New York” <- an incredibly light read that requires zero thought..perfect for 'brain fudge' times ๐Ÿ˜‰ .
    Ahh hip pain/problems can be so utterly cumbersome..I hope you feel awesome soon ๐Ÿ™‚ . Have you ever seen a chiropractor? I often have to go and get my hip shoved into place (repeated horse-riding falls left me with a slightly moody hip).
    You have hinted at quite a few 'situations' which I can't wait to hear about..way to keep us hanging!

  3. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind says:

    How fun, I just stumbled over the Paris Wife at Shakespeare and Company in Paris and couldn’t stop reading. I love the writing style and I think Hemmingway was a stud ๐Ÿ™‚ Sadly I wanted to buy so many books, that this one needs to wait 4 more weeks, until I am back in Germany before I can finish it.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s an absorbing read. And let me tell you I’m not even allowing myself to stop by any book stores right now. Knowing I’d want to buy way more books than I’m able to read.
      And wow, just four more weeks until you return? Time’s really flying by.

  4. Jorie says:

    Love The Paris Wife! It’s so so good. It made me want to read Hemingway more deeply. I have “A Moveable Feast” next on my reading list. I also love your three c’s for food and I sometimes read blogs at work when I need a mental break … shhh, don’t tell! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t worry – your secret’s well kept with me ๐Ÿ˜‰ .
      I haven’t finished The Paris Wife yet because another book jumped in between. But I’ve wondered about possibly dabbling into Hemingway’s writing a little afterwards, too. It’s a little intimidating to me still, I’ll admit.

  5. lovenataliemarie says:

    I’ve seen The Paris Wife at the bookstore. How is it? ๐Ÿ™‚
    The nail color is pretty!
    Chocolate? Yes please!
    I haven’t been enjoying the face changes lately. I was a bit confused at first.
    I hope your hip starts to feel better. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Emily says:

    “News that I found out just today and have a hard time keeping to myself. Only it might take a few more weeks or months until everythingโ€™s figured out.”

    Um, what?! Ahhh…you must share tomorrow. (:

  7. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    *sings* I know the other C-eeeeeeeeeeee!! Hahaha!

    Random thoughts: I should paint my nails pink. How’s that book? I’m never checking out library books again after having to pay $8 (5.84 Euro?) in late fees when I was a week overdue returning my last ones…that I never even read! #fail You should make a Goodreads account! You love to read…and then I could stalk all your favorites! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hm, I wonder how you knew… Then again I wouldn’t be surprised if mind-reading was another one of your super powers ๐Ÿ˜‰ .
      Goood, fine, you convinced me [as if that was even needed]. Mutual book-stalking will soon begin. And the book’s worth checking out. Or, wait, getting in some other way in your case ๐Ÿ˜€ .

Leave a Reply

