Inspired randomness [Thinking out loud]

We all know where our recipe inspiration comes from: the plethora of [food] blogs, Pinterest boards and – potentially still for at least some of us – cookbooks. But – at the risk of letting this introduction become too deep – do you ever wonder or know where your randomness inspiration comes from? It’s something that makes me smile because I usually think I didn’t know only to look back and find that some of it was inspired by a recent happening or something I read. Okay, if you read all of that: thanks. And the superior randomness inspiration obviously comes from Amanda right there! Thanks for motivating us to think out loud.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Keeping up with seeing the good – or in this case: funny – in the bad I found a trick to making my current leg pain better. It’s ridiculous but: standing one-legged. It gets my hip to balance itself out and least for the next metres of walking. Picture me looking like this. Yes, I’ve done that in the office and I share one with my boss and colleague. And yes, we can just picture myself looking equally as graceful, okay?

 

2. Following the title of this post the thought of yoga inspired me to think of this movie. Which then again made me reminiscene how much of an Olsen Twins fan I used to be. Any others? Due to the fact we didn’t have cable for most of my childhood I didn’t get to watch Full House at home but only at a friend’s house.

3. Don’t you get curious to find out what happened to your former childhood idols? Thanks to the internet it’s not hard to get the full report on post-Full House happenings these days.

4. Does this need any explanation?

Mug cake mix

Well, that would be a mug cake mix. Say what?! Any blogger will shake their head at the existence of mug cake mix in a bag, right? I didn’t take a closer look at what exactly it contained but the ingredient list was long. More than just a little ridiculous when you know it hardly takes more than for a delicious mug cake. Plus all the variations people are missing out on if they falsely believe storebought mixes were necessary and don’t start experimenting themselves.

5. If you find yourself in need for some reading inspiration:

Waris Dirie_book

I just finished this book in two days. Needless to say it’s a quick but not insignificant read. In case you haven’t heard of the author before: Waris Dirie’s a Somalian model turned author and female rights activist. More exactly she – being a victim herself –  is fighting against female genital mutilation (FGM). Still, the book’s not a heavy read but very personal. In case you’re interested in finding out more about Waris’ story I’d recommend starting with  ‘Desert Flower’, her initial autobiography. By now Dirie has written five books, four of which I’ve read. She might not be the most captivating writer but the story she has to tell is one that matters.

6. Last but not least I’m wishing you a happy Thursday with this sight of Spring.

2014-03-25 15.41.13

Happiness inducing today: Did I mention sunshine yet??!

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Do you ever wonder where some of your random thoughts stem from? Not counting these inspired by supermarket finds because they are self-explanatory.

Tell me a random thought that comes to your mind right now and what inspired it 🙂 !

 

 

10 thoughts on “Inspired randomness [Thinking out loud]

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Confession: I busy out random yoga poses when I’m doing things in the kitchen, like chopping veggies or standing at the stove. Sometimes I’ll even do squats or lunges. Whatever works to get some extra movement in, ya know? Keeps me feeling energized, especially if I’ve been working on the computer for a while.

    And now you’ve got me wondering if there’s a Full House episode on tonight… But I wouldn’t be able to watch it because I have to catch up on Game of Thrones!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Confession: I wasn’t even sure if I should/ could call it yoga because I’m by no means a skilled yogi. But ‘standing one-legged’ just isn’t as adorable as saying you were busting the tree position to get your leg balance back.
      What is it with Game of Thrones?? I have yet to watch it so I hope you may or may not still have decided on Full House.

  2. lovenataliemarie says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your leg pain. At least you found a solution to it, right? 😉
    I used to read all the Olsen twin books and watch all of their movies. You could say I was a fan.
    Full House was my show!
    That book looks like an interesting read. I have been really into inspirational reads lately.
    Oh how I love Spring. 😀

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sadly, it’s not a real solution but it let’s me walk semi-normal for a few steps so that’s a start, I guess.
      You’re well ahead of me if you read all books and watched every of their movies.Then again I can blame the fact that I didn’t get started until I was about 13 (?). Do you think I need to catch up 😉 ?

  3. Nichole says:

    I always get so many random thoughts! I’ve just embraced and accepted them!

    A random thought right at this minutes is who decide what things should be grouped where in a cabinet? You’re kitchen for example… Most are set up similar, but why? Where does it come from?

    Sometimes it’s fun to try to answer the random thoughts we have!

  4. Ms.J says:

    Uhm I’m thinking about my oatmeal potentially burning!..because I left it cooking unsupervised.
    Finding a funny perspective in pain..hmm I’m going to make a note of that one 😉
    Oh gosh! The Olsen Twins! I was a big fan when I was younger; only my Dad had a dislike for them (a rather strong dislike) and I may have sneaked some movies with them in. Of course I got caught on one occasion..

  5. swissfitchick says:

    I am obviously another generation, cause Full House was on when I was in my teens – and I was clearly too cool to watch it 🙂 seriously, we didn’t have cable yet back then. I AM old 🙂
    Mugcake mix?? Now it sounds convenient, but as you say, they are so ridiculous easy to make from scratch – besides the plus that I can pimp it with whatever ingredient I feel like.
    Happy Thursday girl!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Just the other day I found myself on a crowded train in serious need of some stretching but had no idea how to make it work. Would you mind sharing your secret travel-suitable yoga moves? (:

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    That beautiful flowering tree made me so happy! Love all the blooms that are finally showing! Believe it or not, I also stand in tree pose all the time! It’s like my leg just naturally goes there when I’m standing for long periods of time! Haha!

Leave a Reply

