The full scope of randomness [Thinking out loud]

If there was any way to measure the randomness of a random post I’d say this one would score pretty high. My thoughts have been all over the place so you’ll get to enjoy an mix of ponderings about everything from music to baby animals and haircuts. Thanks, Amanda, for encouraging any kind of thinking out loud – however odd it might be.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. I’m not sure about the music at your gym but the predominant tunes at mine are – not trying to feed any clichés but just a personal impression – male-suited. Or maybe I’m just the odd one out who doesn’t enjoy listening to techno beats at full Colour me surprised when this song started playing.

Not like I felt any shame admitting it’s on my iPod in anyway. However, I can’t help but wonder if Hugh Grant’s lyrics inspired any new PRs in the guys’ lifting area 😉 .

2. Soon after showing my usual work day snacks I’ve found I was missing something. Something I always reach for when snacking at home… Almond butter. Now how to take almond butter to work with me without lugging around a whole jar in my bag? Because that’s a) way too heavy and b) my bag already is the most crowded you’ve ever seen [and that’s why there’s no picture of it]. And I have a feeling normal people don’t deal with these snack ordeals. Dare I say #bloggerproblem?!

3. Buying a mini jar of jam, eating its laughable content and now it’s off to the dishwasher to meet its true purpose of storing almond butter afterwards.

jar

4. Random but really cute and true story my boss told in our team meeting earlier this week: A baby orang utan in a German zoo lost its mother who didn’t wake up again after a medically required anaesthesia. Poor little guy. But here’s the happy end: He was transferred to another zoo with a female orang utan that had had a stillborn baby months ago hoping she’d adopt him. Obviously always a risky endeavour when humankind decides to interfere with nature. But – yes, you guessed it – they accepted each other right away. Can I get a collective awww? The whole team did – or maybe everybody aside from the one guy among us. Talk about clichés again.

 

5. A few days ago I finally got a new haircut. Or actually not a new one.  Because despite playing with the idea of daring a change for once – and we’re not talking a different colour but just a few more inches off or something along those lines – I just can’t. I’ve had long hair for ages so always end up chickening out before the appointment.

Source

One day, one day that change is going to happen… Only not as drastic as Rapunzel’s ;).

6. Keeping in short and sweet once more for today so: Happy Thursday!

 

Happiness inducing today: My mum taking the journey to my city just to spend a few hours calming me down before an important day today.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Do you like to play around with your haircut? What was the most special one you ever tried?

Tell me the most random thought coming to your mind right now!

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “The full scope of randomness [Thinking out loud]

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve gone into the hairdresser with the grand idea to drastically change my locks and get something like a pixie cut. I always chicken out, though. I’ve had long hair my whole life too, so the idea of not having it to twirl around my fingers when I’m feeling nervous its just unpleasant. And I save my tiny jars too… You never know when they’ll come in handy 😀

    • swissfitchick says:

      Oh girl, I think you would look even more stunning with e pixie cut!! I totally see that on you!! Let me know if you need more encouragement 🙂
      (and yes, I did dye my hair black and brown and back to blonde – and I also cut it a few times. I know the stuff :-))

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! I feel almost… naked when my hair doesn’t have a certain length.
      I actually searched high and low until it hit me to buy one of those tiny [overpriced 😉 ] jars of jam and reuse it. It came in really handy today already.

  2. lovenataliemarie says:

    I think that song did get some guys to get some PR’s. I mean, it only makes sense, right? 😉
    Good thing that far came in handy!
    I did actually saw “Aww” out loud when I read about the baby orangutan!
    I chopped off my locks on Monday. I was going to chicken out, but I did it. I’m happy with it though. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Chopping off your locks is a brave step – at least to me as you might imagine ;). Even better when the bravery was rewarded.
      Haha, I wish I’d really investigated about any PRs made while the song was on. Maybe it wasn’t quite as much of a meaningless kiss after all…

  3. Ms.J says:

    Awwwhhh, that story made me all sorts of fuzzy inside ❤ .
    I can't imagine myself sans long hair!! Buuut, I love keeping a little side fringe. I had a phase where I kept my length with lots of layers..layers give life and bounce without having to chop it off!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      A slightly layered cut is my usual choice, too. I’ve had shorter hair in the past and can’t really see myself go back to that.
      And yes, the orang utan family’s happy end is just so sweet.

  4. swissfitchick says:

    The story with tha orang utan is so so cute. Love it!
    And I have the same problem with taking nutbutter to work. That’s why I loved the AB packs I got in the US so much. They’re still messy but a lot more convenient thatn carrying around a whole jar 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Who said anything about a pixie cut 8o?! That’d be a few inches too much, my dear. I have bad memories of a certain shorter cut I had as a child…
      The AB packs – additional waste aside – are such a good solution but I feel German manufacturers won’t jump on that train any time soon.

  5. Juli says:

    Oh yes those problems of girls with long hair! I really believe that next time I am going to the hair dresser I’ll get a proper cut. Like a proper haistyle. I am toying around with the idea of something layered. Still long but probably with long bangs. I even created a pinterest board 😉 Let’s see how long my bravery lasts. I can totally see just ordering the usual: Just the split ends please!
    I fight the nut butter problem with my own work jar in my drawer 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The trouble at work is that I don’t have a single drawyer there which would mean lugging a big jar to work every day. Not too enticing so the small jar works a charm :).
      We sound like pretty similar customers at the hair dresser’s. Though I’ve stepped up my game by saying “the split ends – and how much more would you recommend??”. That way I’m stepping outside the comfort zone at least a little.

  6. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com says:

    I put a couple of spoons of almond butter in a mini Tupperware container but I like your cute mini glass one way more!

    That orangutan story was so sweet – thanks so much for sharing it – Happy Thursday back atcha 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Mini tupperware was my previous solution, too, but I never found a container that was really small enough.
      Now that you’re commenting on it I remember you sharing a lot of happy stories regulary, too. Such a sweet idea.

  7. ranchcookie says:

    I always chop mine off with no plan to haha but I challenged myself this time to let it grow 🙂 hopefully it gets long before I decide to again !

  8. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh girl, just remember…it’s only hair! It grows back! 😉 You’ve seen my before and after’s…I usually donate my hair once it gets super long which usually takes about two years for me (that seems like forever, doesn’t it?). It’s close to the length required now but I’m honestly thinking I might keep it long for another year! Yeah, just ask me how I feel about that decision in a few months when it’s like a million degrees outside! Haha!

Leave a Reply

