Kick in the butt to move out of the rut

Sometimes a kick in the butt – as uncomfortable as it is initially – is the wake-up call we need to start getting active again. The reminder of appreciating what we have while we still do when faced with a possible change in life coming up. Yes, I realize I’m being vague here but until things have finalized I don’t want to spill the beans. What I can spill the beans about, though, is that the above-mentioned kick in the butt was part of the reason my weekend was pretty marvelous. Not just because of the flowers and sunshine that have started gracing the area around here with their reappearance. Can we agree that spring is pretty marvelous? [and yes, I know that you know I’m asking this rhetorically every week]

MiMM_new

If you read yesterday’s good good links you might have seen Gracie’s post – and I included it not without a significant reason.  Because yes, I’d found myself in that [seemingly at first glance from the outside] all-too-comfortable rut again after moving back into my apartment. Most of my friends from university have moved to other cities which meant I didn’t get to reunite with a group of familiar faces. Luckily work has been keeping me busy throughout the week so I didn’t find myself missing anything in the evenings. Much more so come the weekends, though. Going on walks, reading or watching movies at home is only so much when on your own. And no, I neither am nor was I ever happy with this situation however much I tried to convince myself I was enjoying it. Because I’m naturally introverted. Yet even introverts need togetherness and I’ve found I do more than I and others around me assume. But at the same time I have a hard time changing things and move on. Simply because I don’t know how and where to start.

yellow_flowers_tree

This weekend offered a pleasant change and gave me a taste of socializing and enjoying life. All the while shifting the focus from food to just livingsomething I’d admittedly been neglecting. It’s amazing how little it takes to turn things around for a fresh start: A short text to a girl I met several months ago shortly before moving and we met at a vegan outdoor market. So yes, food was included. Lots of it, in fact. The kind that’s proof vegan can be far from healthy food, too ;). And I can say I guiltlessly enjoyed chocolates, dips, bites of greasy vegan gyros and my first taste of baklava. All the while chatting, laughing and not thinking about calories. So much that I didn’t even think about taking pictures. Bad blogger? Maybe. Bad time? Certainly not.  Coming home to my apartment I realized how much more I need those semi-spontaneous times out. Sweet, sweet times like those marshmallows I snagged. Vegan health comfort food at its very best ;).

Marshmallows

Like Gracie pointed out an important step is to admit this to others. Important, yes – and hard. I felt like admitting to the fact that I was stuck and didn’t know how to get moving again was embarrassing. The feeling of being a negative Nancy when I had so much to be thankful for: why? For me it were numerous of the reasons Gracie lists in her post. Whatever it was, though, the above-mentioned kick in the butt was much needed. I can’t say for sure it won’t take a few more for me to actually make a huge change but I’m starting with small ones now.

That means making the most of my current actually quite marvelous situation and trying not to worry too much about the changes the future’s going to bring. Here’s to getting those trees planted.

Happy Monday!

Happiness inducing today: Talking to a blend via Skype.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

How do you get out of ruts?

What’s your favourite way of meeting new people [for the non-party types]?

 

9 thoughts on “Kick in the butt to move out of the rut

  1. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body says:

    I can relate to this post so much. A lot of my undergraduate friends are gone and i have gotten comfortable just doing things myself recently. But i know I need to socialize more and go out of my comfort zone. A kick in the butter every now and again is never a bad thing!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m glad to know it’s not just me because I really started feeling like the odd one out. This weird transition phase where everybody’s moving all over the country is tricky to navigate. Especially for those of us who are naturally more introverted. We’ll make it work, though!

  2. Christine@ Apple of My Eye says:

    I think those days where we find ourselves too busy enjoying life to worry about anything make life worth living. It’s simply wonderful to hear that your spontaneous day out was such a good one and you were able to have fun and not stress over calories or what you were eating. Who has time to take pictures when you have a day like that haha :)!

    Love your last couple of lines on this post and that quote. Let’s plant some trees and get those roots growing!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s so true. The very best and most intensely lived times are those that aren’t captured in palpable pictures but just memories in our head.
      Let’s plant a forest! Okay, maybe not quite that fast but tree after tree is a good start. (:

  3. Ms.J says:

    I can’t lie; I enjoy those instances where I’m home alone and can rejoice in my own company :p . I hadn’t thought about a person on the other spectrum – as in your case – having to reach out to socialize. And now that I’m pondering on it..I’ll honestly say that I too would settle into a major rut. In fact its highly admirable and challenging to have taken the steps to break out from your loneliness despite being ‘comfortable’.

  4. swissfitchick says:

    You might be introverted, but you are a wonderful ‘tea-buddy’ to talk to!! I still love to remember how we babbled without a break and time flew by wihthout us being able to share all the subjects we wanted. I know you can socialize more than you might think – and you can be so proud for stepping out of your comfort zone – in whatever way that is! It IS the way to make improvement….I can not even count how many times I had to kick my butt, I still have to do so, day in and day out. It’s worth it! Keep up the great work girl!!

  5. lovenataliemarie says:

    Good for you for getting out of the rut! I know what you mean. Generally, I like to stay in, but there are those times where I need to go out and socialize. I have been doing more of that lately. 🙂

Leave a Reply

