Pinned down deliciousness

Can I get a loud and happy yay for Wednesday? No?! Okay, how about a loud and happy yay for What I ate Wednesday? If it being the middle of the week [or “Bergfest” as we like to say around here] isn’t reason enough for you to rejoice then taking a look at the epic array of good food over at Jenn‘s is? It definitely is the best place for sharing recent kitchen shenanigans.

WIAWbutton_1

… and maybe finding some pin-worthy deliciousness?! Seen. Pinned. Forgotten. Lost in the vastness of picture overload on my – and your [?!] – Pinterest boards. Isn’t it the same all of the time? We see a dish, get intrigued, pin and really mean to make it – and then it never happens. Story of my [cooking] life. That’s why I decided to get back to not just filling my Pinterest boards to the brim but actually trying some others’ culinary creations again. My new goal: not pinning that many recipes anymore* [as if]. If I see an intriguing recipe and happen to have the ingredients: make it. Soon. Let’s see how well I did so far!

gluten-free vegan_brownies_edible perspective

First off was a recipe I’d given a shoutout in one of my last Good good links. And I’m happy to say that my initial comment upon seeing these was spot on. They are incredible. Now I won’t pretend miracles had happened overnight and I’d eaten a whole one in a sitting without so much of a second thought. Fairly enough, though, I probably had the equivalent of a whole one in smaller slivers over the course of their life span. Which – just as expected for incredible* brownies – was … not long. Both my neighbours and my mum gave them a thumbs up as well and how could they not? Just look at this perfection. I might have done a little happy dance upon removing these from the oven seeing their cracked top, amazing goey centre and – okay, I’ll stop it here and hope you pinned them. And will make them soon!

*yes, so good they deserved two pictures in one post. Or maybe I just talked about them so much I needed to add another one.

edible perspective_brownies

Case in point of a seen-and-made-right-away recipe: Arman’s cookie dough. All ingredients on hand I tried it the very day I saw it pretty much after finishing my comment [okay, maybe a few hours later but you get the idea]. My changes were using a mix of peanut and coconut flour like I usually do in the cookie dough crumbles I use as an ice cream topping.  The only objection I have towards this recipe is a fault in the instructions. Rolling it into balls?? Does anybody ever roll raw cookie dough into shape before eating? No.  Cookie dough is meant to be eaten straight from the mixing bowl. Or from the package if store-bought is your way of choice.
breakfast cookie dough

But for portion control and not to gross out my roommate when offering her some I rolled with it. Whichever way, though, these are delicious. Salty and sweet with three-nut-action thanks to me using a mix of peanut and coconut flour as well as almond butter. Dried mulberries as my mix-in of choice added a nice caramelly sweet crunch. Prior to this I wasn’t into the blogger trend of balls/ bites [any dirty thoughts are yours not mine!] because I’m not too much of a fan of the dried fruit and nut mix. These, however, are right up my alley and seeing as I’m going to have the last ones as a snack today I feel a new batch will be made soon.
cookie dough balls_Arman

Despite what it looks like I’ve actually been eating some savoury fare these past days, too. Only none from my Pinterest boards but an old favourite as part of the random snack fest that was one my recent lunches. The only picture I snapped was of this need-to-clean-out-the-fridge zucchini pasta in a creamy eggplant tomato sauce. With chickpeas, obviously. And seconds and thirds. Just like you do.

zucchini noodles

The secret to this dish is stirring coconut butter into the sauce. If you’ve never used coconut butter in sauces before: try it! I hardly ever have coconut milk on hand but a nice spoonful of the white gold that is coconut butter works a charm. I did this before in my Red Lentil Kabocha Chili  and the difference it makes is amazing. From ordinary to rich and creamy in seconds. The whole bowl was made even better by a generous dusting of nutritional yeast.

zoodles_zucchini pasta

And that’s it for this week’s WIAW. Now go and tackle your Pinterest boards :)! Make sure to stop by the Vegan Wednesday board for even more pin-worthy inspiration.

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: A spontaneous blogger meet-up.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Are you giving this week’s Wednesday a yay or nay? It’s a short work week only after all so what’s not to like?!

What’s the last recipe by another blogger you tried and how did it turn out?

23 thoughts on “Pinned down deliciousness

  1. Ms.J says:

    Funny enough; a short work week makes little difference to me (with my inconsistent hours). Choosing to skip the office yesterday so I could hit the mall with Mum is going to cost me a holiday 😉 .
    Drooling over 101 million recipes is so easy..taking the step to make it however..! Awesome that you are getting on it – with the best kind of recipes! You get white mulberries!? Oh gosh! I’m searching high and low over here because I’m dying to make those Crunch(?) Bars.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Mum-and-daughter time is the best way to spend a day though I’m sorry it meant sacrificing a holiday for you. But remind yourself of the fun you [hopefully] had yesterday!
      I wish we could easily get mulberries – by far not. These are actually some of the last few ones from a bag I got months ago and I only found a new source yesterday. Fingers crossed the store won’t decide to discontinue carrying them.

  2. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Hold up! Wait a minute! Did you reveal the “secret recipe” to your cookie dough crumbles and I missed it?! Because I even went back and looked again and I most certainly do not see it! Don’t make me hurt you, woman! 😉 Also, do you have a spiralizer? Did I know this already? I’m coveting your zucchini noodles like BIG time! I swear I’ve been seeing them everywhere lately…I think it’s a sign I need to go shopping!

    Those brownies look DIIIIIIIIIIIII-vine! And omg, the cookie dough…I’m so behind that I still haven’t read that post of Arman’s yet! And you totally put that plug in for your lentil chili just for me, didn’t you?! *hangs head in shame*

    Last blogger recipe I tried was Laura’s raw red pepper soup and her berry chia pudding (made them in the same day a couple of weeks ago). They were both fantastic and the pudding definitely helped get me inspired…and to let go of some previous negative thoughts when it comes to chia pudding. You’ll see in my post for today when it goes up! 😀

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Coconut flour anything definitely needs more milk but I luckily wasn’t running low on it that moment – for once, haha. And German peanut flour is way grittier so it needed the extra absorbing flour to make it the balls stick together. Thanks for getting me on a roll with the balls now! (:

  3. gabiwalter says:

    Finally taking the time to make the recipes you pin is such a great idea. I’m on the bandwagon of pinning and admiring, making a list of things I want to make, but have yet to do it. Maybe once the semester is over I’ll get around to it 🙂 They all look like they turned out great…and especially those brownies- YUM! (yes, they definitely deserve two pictures ;)) Enjoy your Wednesday xo

  4. ranchcookie says:

    I have never thought to add coconut butter to my sauces I totally want to try this out next time I make my spaghetti squash pasta, thanks for the tip!

  5. Katie G (@cakevscales) says:

    I’m giving this Wednsday a huge yay! Because the week will be over tomorrow and so many lovely things happened today (including high chocolate consumption).
    I must say those cookie dough bites look fab!
    I really do need to tackle my pinterest board, the last recipe I attempted was a coconut flour pancake recipe yesterday…it..ummm went really rather wrong..So back to the pinboard for me 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      High chocolate consumption is always a win in my books ;).
      Coconut flour’s so tricky to work with I wouldn’t blame yourself for the fail. Second time’s a charm. Or third :).

  6. Emily says:

    I’m the biggest culprit of pinning and forgetting. I can probably count on one hand the number of recipes I’ve pinned and then actually MADE. Must change that– thank you for the inspiration.

    Those brownies are perfection. They look ooey-gooey with the ideal crispy layer over the top. Ahh…I may have to make a trip to Germany just for one of those.

    PS: Have I told you lately what a phenomenal writer you are? Seriously. Your posts always leave me in awe (and usually laughing out loud)– especially since English is your second language!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

