A traditionally untraditional Easter

Hello there and happy Tuesday! Did you all have a great and sunny long Easter weekend?

Even though I’d planned to post yesterday I ended up staying at my parents a little longer and enjoying those last hours. How about we start this post by saying I was right assuming my mum wouldn’t buy a single [chocolate] Easter egg. But one of my grandma’s – the one who got me addicted to Lindt chocolate – made sure our Easter wasn’t all untraditional by mailing us Easter bunnies, no, chicken. By Lindt, obviously ;).

Easter_Lindt-Hühner

… that my mum didn’t even think about ‘slaugthering’ but immediately used for decorative purposes. I’m taking guesses on how long they’ll sit there…

Beautiful was my mum’s Easter bouquet on the table featuring one of my favourite flowers since childhood: bleeding heart. Unique name, gorgeous flower.

Easter_flowers on the table

Recovery-wise Easter didn’t include any mention-worthy triumphs. But I felt more relaxed in consuming more sugar than usual [new favourite: lemon sorbet straight from the tub in between meals]. No picture because once more the camera wasn’t at hand to capture every moment. However, this is a picture from a scoop of [some seriously good mango] ice cream I treated myself to last week, too, so we’ll roll with it. Okay? Awesome. I’m glad we agree here. (:

Ice cream_mango_Giovanni L

Aside from the ice cream I treated myself to [even] more chocolate than usual, cheese, random bits and bites of whatever sounded and looked good. All of this while not going to the gym. Running still isn’t in the cards for me – or not unless I want to worsen my hip pain – and so I spent most of the first two days relaxing. Sometimes exercise just doesn’t happen and that’s okay. Sunday, however, was amazing and more active. Think the best kind of exercise because it doesn’t feel like a formal workout at the gym: a long bike ride with my parents, aunts, an uncle and one of my cousins.

 

Easter weekend_bike tour

These bike tours are an Easter tradition in my family and actually the last one that remained all throughout the years. No Easter egg hunt, no Easter bakets/ gifts or special dinner – but the bike ride is a constant. This year’s included crossing a river with a small ferry. We’d hardly taken our seats when it was time to get off board again.

ferry_Easter 2014

One of the things you learn* from years of venturing on cycling tours with my dad: never trust his guesstimates when it comes to the length of them. Because thirty kilometres easily end up turning into 45. With multiple breaks, obviously. This remainder of a castle gave the backdrop during our longest rest.

*or you don’t… Note to self: pack more snacks!

Easter weekend_bike tour_castle

We were lucky to have the sun accomodate us all day. Somebody may or may not have gotten a slight sun-induced headache, though. As much as I enjoy being out in the sun too much of it makes me feel doozy. Can any other fair-skinned people relate? I’m pretty sure these guys – further proof of my mum considering Lindt a manufactury of decorative objects 😉 – will agree there’s such a thing as too much sun. At least once they melt they’ll do…

Easter_Lindt_Goldhasen

Despite some up and downs this was an amazing and truly spring-like Easter weekend with my family. Though we don’t follow any of the usual Easter traditions it was our own traditionally untraditional celebration. And no matter how often I probably wished we stuck to the classic idea like other families do in the end I know that deep within I wouldn’t actually want it any other way. It’s typically us.

Spending time with family is a [sadly rather rare] treat in itself so I’m joining Becky’s Treat Yourself Tuesday for the first time today.

Treat-Yourself-Tuesday-Badge

Relaxed [in the beautiful countryside]. Spoiled [with good food]. Loved [all of it].

 

Happiness inducing today: An extra long hug my mum when we said goodbye.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Does anybody feel like making any guesses on how long the hens from the first picture will stay in that place? If they’re still around the next time I visit my parents I’ll suggest making some nice chicken soup, errr … chocolate fondue. (:

What was your favourite part of the Easter weekend?

Did you do an Easter egg hunt or get an Easter basket?

 

 

16 thoughts on “A traditionally untraditional Easter

  1. Nichole says:

    That bike ride does sound lovely!! I really enjoy summer and riding my bike!! Having a summer birthday growing up I always asked to start my day with a bike ride!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      A morning bike ride sounds like a great way to start into a new year of your life. Do you still get to do it every other year these days? Our bike tours are usually meant to start after breakfast but that more often than not ends up meaning noon (:.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good to know we agree there. And – to be more specific – the cheese was brie – one I hadn’t had in a long time. Thanks to my mum for keeping her cheese drawyer well stocked for any spontaneous cravings (:.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t feel bad! Holidays aren’t easy to navigate for any of us who struggle with food and I’d be lying if I said they were a complete breeze for me. I just found myself stressing less about calories or ‘too much’ sugar which was nice.

  2. swissfitchick says:

    Your Easter sounds beautiful!!
    We don’t celebrate Easter here at all. My brother is in the mountains, and Mom and me take a trip somewhere every year. We do have some Lindt bunnies or sometimes even a basket, but it’s all secondary – we just enjoy some days off.
    I think you should break into one of the hens if they are still there next time – and make vegan chocolate muffins and share the recipe with us!!

  3. Emily says:

    Such a lovely Easter. And, you’re right, the photos from your bike-ride are absolutely beautiful.
    I’m glad that you were able to relax and simply enjoy the time with your family– that’s the biggest triumph of all, in my opinion. (:

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

