Seasonally [in]appropriate cravings

Something is very very wrong about this Wednesday and we’re not talking about the weather. Unless you’re one of those people complaining about too much sunshine but then again we probably wouldn’t be friends. Kidding. Maybe. But I digress. What’s wrong is that – unlike last week – we’re not heading right into another long weekend :(. Very right, though, is the fact that Jenn is hosting our weekly virtual foodie party no matter what.

WIAWbutton_1

Something else that might not seem totally right? The answer to the question of whether or not I’ve kept up with my Pinterest challenge: yes, I did. But the Easter break in between that I spent at my parents’ may or may not have ever-so-slightly taken the wind out of my challenge sails. As in: food wasn’t as much of a big deal during the weekend, I hardly cooked or baked – but ate – and my camera took a good nap. Nevertheless, I tried one recipe that was so good I had it for lunch multiple times already and consider it a new favourite:

Coffee & Quinoa_chili

Spring, summer, fall or winter: In my opinion chili is a year-round food [and if you feel differently I’m fine with that but won’t let you convince me elsewise ;)]. Actually, I tried this recipe before even sharing the link in my post on Sunday.  And yes, as you can see I included the polenta. In case you remember me and polenta aren’t best friends. Or weren’t?! I’d actually bought a new bag a few days before stumbling upon Erica’s recipe because I had a random craving for cornmeal. Now that I’ve had it multiple times lately I feel it might become a staple for me again. Either way, this chili recipe is one of the best I’ve ever had. If you’ve never tried chocolate in chili before you absolutely have to. It adds a great depth to the dish enhancing the deep flavour and it complements the spices perfectly.

Continuing with my [probably] seasonally inappropriate chili cravings I came up with a Polenta Mushroom Chili Casserole based on Erica’s recipe myself. A thick layer of polenta slices, mushrooms adding a great ‘meaty’ texture, two kinds of beans because one’s not enough and a good sprinkle nutritional yeast [or cheese] on top. Recipe coming soon.

Chili_Polenta Bake

Can I count making the same recipe twice as continuing my challenge? Because they were just that good I simply had to make Ashley’s incredible brownies once more for Easter. One of the few times my mum actually had no obligations against me baking a vegan dessert. Or how else would I explain the disappearance of a batch in less than two days? Despite two non-vegan cakes and the usual overabundance of food at my parents’.

edible perspective_brownies

Seasonally appropriate where my snacks, though. Because I failed to take any pictures of the ice cream happenings on the weekend I’ll end this post on a sweet note with a blogger-approved favourite recent snack: Banana softserve. Why mess with bowls when you can eat it straight from the blender?

banana_softserve_II

Grab a snack to prevent getting too hungry when heading over to Jenn’s What I ate Wednesday or the Vegan Wednesday boards.  If it’s between me and you: banana softserve might not be the best option here. Because the little sweet something above was polished off in about five minutes [at max]. Still delicious.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

 

Happiness inducing today: The scent of lilacs on my walk.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What was the best dish or snack you ate throughout the Easter festivities?

Is chili seasonally inappropriate or a year-round dish? As I said: there’s no convincing me elsewise but I’m still curious to hear you answers (:.

Does anybody actually bother transferring banana softserve to a bowl?

 

22 thoughts on “Seasonally [in]appropriate cravings

  1. spasture says:

    Chili is the world’s perfect food. I’m glad to see that you enjoy it year round. If you’d like, check out my blog for fun and exciting chili ideas as I make a new chili every day this year. By the way, the chili and polenta look terrific.

  2. Ms.J says:

    Your banana soft serve is the best I’ve seen yet – so thick and creamy!
    The closest I’ve come to eating “Chilli” is a is a vegan chilli-style dish we have at our braais. That Polenta Mushroom Chilli Casserole sounds glorious!

  3. Kat says:

    oh gosh me and chili are seriously BFFs. I love that stuff, especially if there is some sort of biscuit or corn bread involved. Oh and cheese too 🙂

  4. gabiwalter says:

    I agree that chili is an all-season dish. Chocolate in chili? When I read that I thought I must try to see just how delicious you say it is. Do you think we can start a trend where blenders are the new bowls?! Sometimes I just get soo excited for my fruit smoothies that the blender suffices for a big cup 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We absolutely can. As long as we agree bowls are still awesome but sometimes just too much extra work to wash when eating straight from the blender is an option (: .
      And yesss, you need to try the chili! It’s so so good.

  5. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind says:

    Hahaha, I really thought your chili and polenta was some kind of vegan goulash with potato-“kloß” in the middle. Now that you’ve mentioned it though, I think it is an awesome combinations and I cannot wait to get back home to my polenta – haven’t eaten some for months!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good call on the goulash! I’ve been meaning to try a vegan version for ages and my grandma’s potato dumplings have been on my mind lately, too. But the chili is seriously amazing, too. So if you’re going to have polenta in anyway I suggest serving it alongside this. You weren’t able to find polenta in France? Yet another reason to look forward to your return to Germany, I guess?! (:

  6. Emily says:

    It’s official, the universe DOES have us linked somehow…
    I finally bought polenta a few days ago and have been staring at it ever since. I’ve realized that I have absolutely no idea how to prepare polenta– I’ve only ever had it at restaurants! Your upcoming recipe will be the perfect place for me to start. (:

    xoxo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We shouldn’t ignore the universe’s messages! Think: starts with ‘L’ and ends with ‘ondon’ (: Also, I haven’t forgotten about the amazing restaurant dish, either. And now that I got the hang of polenta again I’d just need you to mail me the picture and discription again. Please? ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks, Cara! It had been ages since I’d last eaten polenta, too, and then a random craving stroke. Odd enough when I wasn’t even a huge fan before and now I need to convince myself to have something else for lunch some days.

  7. Pingback: Let's get living

Leave a Reply

