Frozen! [Healthy PB & J Frozen Yogurt]

Peanut butter & jelly time! A creamy and refreshing healthy frozen treat with an added protein boost.

Whoever first had the idea to combine peanut butter and jelly is a genius. And should better have claimed copyright on this perfect duo because you can hardly go wrong whenever pairing them. PB & J cookies? Crumble? Cake? Blondies? Dip? I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. So it was a no-brainer which flavours to go for when faced by a recent cottage cheese shortage. Let me explain…

faux_froyo

This recipe resulted from an actually rather unfortunate circumstance. Do you have those foods you eat regularly but never more than just a spoonful or two at a time? Meaning you assume they’re always around – and then suddenly find yourself running low on them all of a sudden. Case in point for me: above-mentioned cottage cheese. Despite eating just a spoonful or two a day I still found myself with one last small container sitting in my fridge the other day. A Saturday no less meaning I wouldn’t be able to stock up until Monday. And it was obviously just then I found myself craving cottage cheese big time. Insert pulling my hair to think of a way to make use of it the -best- way possible. Ice cream! Or better yet: frozen yogurt. Okay, technically frozen blended cottage cheese but who’d be that nit-picky when it comes to sweet treats?

PB & J_protein_ice cream_pudding

A surprisingly warm day called for a refreshing treat and banana softserve didn’t sound quite as alluring as usual. For once I felt a little extra protein might be what had been missing from meals earlier that day leaving me unsatisfied and snacky. With just six ingredients this refined sugar-free snack is a quick to prepare and perfect treat to cool you down on a hot day. If you don’t feel like waiting it is delicious eaten right after blending as a pudding but even better after a few hours in the freezer. Why not prepare a double batch to try both ways?!

faux_froyo_2

Coincidentially running low on peanut butter, too [who ever runs low on peanut butter?!] peanut flour came to the rescue adding even more protein. Now that’s my kind of protein shake treat.

Healthy [Faux] PB & J Frozen Yogurt

1/2 cup cottage cheese [don’t use fatfree]
2-3 tbsps of [non-dairy] milk
1 – 1 1/2 tbsps peanut flour
6 drops liquid stevia [or sweetener of choice to taste]
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp [or more] of strawberry jam [for German readers: I used this brand]

  1. Combine all ingredients except for the jam in a blender. Pulse until the mixture reaches a smooth consistency.
  2. Pour into a freezer-safe dish.
  3. Swirl in strawberry jam using a spoon or fork.
  4. Either eat as is or place in the freezer for at least three hours. Stirring the mix to break up any big ice crystals after 1.5 hours is optional.

 

Is it ice cream? Is it frozen yogurt? Whatever you might call this frozen concoction one thing it is for a fact: marvelous. Like the fact that it’s Monday and I’m getting a chance to stock up on cottage cheese and make more frozen deliciousness. I’m sure Katie would agree of frozen yogurt priorities

Stop by Laura’s and Kierston’s for more – frozen and not – recipe inspiration!

Happy Monday!

Happiness inducing today: Spotting a random blossom on the floor on my way to the washing room. Spring has really arrived.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

What is your favourite recipe featuring the classic PB & J combination? Sandwiches, wraps or any other kind of bread don’t count!

Are you trying to make the most of last remainders of certain fabourite or hard-to-get items, too?

29 thoughts on “Frozen! [Healthy PB & J Frozen Yogurt]

  1. Emily says:

    This sounds so delicious! I go through phases with cottage cheese– I love it, eat too much, get sick of it, and avoid it for a few months before I’m craving it again. Weird. But this post definitely has me craving it. (:

  2. Christine# says:

    Mhmm this sounds so good! PB and jelly is one of my favorite combinations and I eat them both out of the jar together haha (shh, don’t tell anyone about my bad habit ;))!

  3. Leslie says:

    I am going to have to try that. I am not a big cottage cheese fan. I think it is the consistency, but I have always heard that is a wonderful to eat. I love peanut butter and jelly on the other hand. I think this would be great frozen. I am defiantly going to have to try it. Is peanut butter flour the same as the PB2 powder. I just bought some, and I wasn’t sure. I am still learning a lot…lol

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hi Leslie,
      Blending the cottage cheese changes the consistency completely to a fluffy and smooth cream.
      While I haven’t tried PB2 myself before I’ve heard you can sub it for peanut flour and it works just fine. As it is sweetened [I think??] you might want to omit the additional sweetener in the recipe. Let me know if you try it.

  4. Brittany says:

    I am taking a break from PB and even almond butter right now because I HAVE NO SELF CONTROL! I love it in any form, including straight from the jar on a spoon.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Straight from the jar is the best way to eat any nut butter. But what is that self control you’re talking about?? I like to pretend four tablespoons a day is still considered moderation when it comes to almond butter ;).

Leave a Reply

